🪪 State credentialing

Veterinary Technician Requirements in Washington, DC

Founder, VeterinaryHires
Last verified September 2026

Washington, DC requires veterinary technicians to hold a certification from the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine — the statute bars any person from engaging in activities related to maintaining the health or treatment of an animal unless certified.

Applicants qualify through a two-year AVMA-accredited associate program or an alternative route combining 230 clock hours of coursework with 4,000 supervised clinical hours, pass the VTNE within seven years of applying, and meet a District jurisprudence requirement.

The certificate renews on odd-numbered years with fourteen continuing-education hours.

Verify before you rely on this

This page explains credentialing mechanics only — what a state asks for to hold the credential, not whether you personally qualify, and not what tasks you may legally perform once you hold it. Scope of practice and supervision are governed separately. It is general information, not legal advice. Requirements change by statute and by board rule; verify current requirements directly with the state board before you rely on anything here. Veterinary Technicians in Washington, DC are regulated by the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine (DC Health).

At a glance

Credential

A certification as a veterinary technician issued by the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine — the statute uses the plain term with no letters attached, and the rule adds that a certified technician may also go by veterinary nurse.

Required to work, or only to use the title?

Mandatory. The statute says a person shall not engage in activities related to maintaining the health or treatment of an animal unless certified by the Board, and the rule repeats that no one may practice as a veterinary technician unless duly certified or authorized.

Education routes

A two-year associate program in veterinary technology or animal health at an institution AVMA-CVTEA-accredited at graduation — or an alternative route of 230 clock hours of specified coursework plus 4,000 hours of supervised Directed Clinical Practice.

Exams

The VTNE, with a passing score obtained no more than seven years before applying, plus a District veterinary jurisprudence requirement whose format and passing score the rule leaves to the Board to choose.

CE & renewal

Fourteen CE hours per two-year renewal period, including two LGBTQ hours and ten percent in DC public-health-priority subjects; the certificate expires December 31 of each odd-numbered year, and no CE is required for the initial certificate or the first renewal.

Fees

Initial certification $50, renewal $50, late renewal $20, inactive status $10, reinstatement $70, criminal background check $50, and duplication or verification $34 each.

Title protection

The rule's list of protected terms reaches veterinary technician, V.T., L.V.T., certified veterinary technician, CVT, animal technician, veterinary nurse, animal nurse, or any similar title used to imply you practice as one.

Regulated by

DC Board of Veterinary Medicine (DC Health)

On national category labels

NAVTA's national title-protection categories are a secondary snapshot and were already stale for at least nine states when this series was researched — what appears above for Washington, DC is that jurisdiction's own statute and board rule as read in September 2026, not a category label.

What the credential is actually called

📜 D.C. Code §§ 3-1208.61–.65; 17 DCMR § 11200.4

Washington, DC issues a certification, not a license, and the statute speaks of the plain term veterinary technician with no abbreviation attached — the letters VT, LVT and CVT on local job ads come from the protected-titles list in the rule, not from any statutory definition.

The credential's current legal home is young: the 1980s-era Board of Veterinary Examiners law was repealed effective March 26, 2014 by D.C. Law 20-96, veterinary regulation moved into the Health Occupations Revision Act, and the implementing rule chapter for technicians only took effect August 6, 2021.

The rule then adds a wording no job board assumes: a certified technician may refer to him- or herself, or be referred to, as a veterinary nurse.

Someone hired as a DC veterinary nurse is therefore the same credentialed person as a certified veterinary technician.

A veterinary technician certified under this chapter may refer to him- or herself or be referred to as a "veterinary nurse."

Do you need the certification to do the work?

📜 D.C. Code § 3-1208.63(a); 17 DCMR § 11200.3

Yes — and the language is unusually direct.

The statute bars a person from engaging in activities related to maintaining the health or treatment of an animal unless certified by the Board of Veterinary Medicine, and the rule states flatly that no one may practice as a veterinary technician unless duly certified or authorized under the chapter.

The statute also attaches a condition to the work itself: a certified technician may work only under a veterinarian's general supervision, which D.C. Code § 3-1208.65 defines as working under a licensed veterinarian's direction with the veterinarian accessible to the technician by telephone or on the premises — not necessarily on-site.

There are lawful lanes for people without the certificate: students, pending applicants and trainees can practice under a separate Board-issued temporary authorization, and non-certified clinical support staff have their own supervision rules.

Which tasks fall on which side of that line is a scope-of-practice question governed by separate rules, and is not covered here.

A person shall not engage in activities related to maintaining the health or treatment of an animal unless certified by the Board of Veterinary Medicine as a veterinary technician.

Two ways in: the accredited associate program, or 4,000 supervised hours

📜 17 DCMR § 11202.1; §§ 11205.1–.4, 11207.1, 11213.1(c)–.8

The baseline route is graduation from a two-year associate program in veterinary technology or animal health at an institution accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association's Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities at the time the applicant graduated.

The rule's alternative route is detailed enough to plan around: 230 clock hours of post-secondary instruction with a C or better in biology I and II, microbiology, chemistry, and anatomy and physiology I and II, plus 4,000 hours of Directed Clinical Practice under a licensed veterinarian, accrued over two to five years and proven by the supervising veterinarian's attestation across twelve named skill areas such as patient examination, anesthesia and pharmacology.

A trainee on that route may not begin accruing hours until the Board issues a temporary authorization requested jointly with the supervising veterinarian, and may not be represented as certified while training.

Technicians already credentialed in another US jurisdiction qualify by endorsement instead — the degree requirement is waived, though the credential must be in good standing and the District's jurisprudence requirement still applies.

Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, an applicant for veterinary technician certification shall furnish proof satisfactory to the Board that the applicant has successfully graduated from a two (2) year associate program in the practice of veterinary technology or animal health at an institution accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA) at the time the applicant graduated

The VTNE on a seven-year clock, plus District jurisprudence

📜 17 DCMR § 11203.1–.3; § 11204.1–.2

DC requires a passing score on the Veterinary Technician National Examination obtained no more than seven years before the application is submitted — a recency window that matters for returning technicians, because an older passing score does not carry.

The passing standard itself is the one AAVSB establishes, and the score must reach the Board directly from AAVSB rather than through the applicant.

On top of the national exam sits a District requirement: the applicant must demonstrate, to the Board's satisfaction, competent knowledge and understanding of the laws and rules pertaining to veterinary practice in the District, and the Board may adopt a DC Veterinary Jurisprudence Examination, mandatory educational sessions, or another method of its choosing.

The rule does not state a format or passing score for that jurisprudence requirement, so an applicant should ask the Board what it currently accepts before scheduling anything.

To qualify for certification, an applicant shall furnish proof of having obtained, no more than seven (7) years prior to the submission of a certification application under this chapter, a passing score on the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE) or its successor examination, administered by the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) or its successor.

Fourteen CE hours, a two-year certificate, and two CE exemptions

📜 17 DCMR § 11211.2–.4; § 11212.2; § 11201.1–.2

Continuing education runs on the renewal cycle: fourteen hours of approved CE during the two-year period before the certificate expires, of which two must be LGBTQ continuing education and ten percent must cover public-health-priority subjects the Director designates for the District.

Two carve-outs are easy to miss — an initial certificate and the first renewal carry no CE requirement, and a lapsed certificate being reinstated owes seven hours per expired year under the same LGBTQ and public-health percentages.

Approved providers include AVMA-approved veterinary colleges and courses, AAVSB's RACE program, the DC Veterinary Medical Association, the DC Academy of Veterinary Medicine, and the Board itself; the rule states no cap on online or distance learning.

The certificate itself expires at midnight on December 31 of each odd-numbered year, so a DC renewal calendar keys to the calendar rather than to the holder's birthday unless the Director changes the system.

To qualify for the renewal of a certificate, an applicant shall have completed fourteen (14) hours of approved continuing education, including two (2) hours of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transexual, or Gay ("LGBTQ") continuing education, during the two (2) year period preceding the date the license expires.

A protected-terms list that includes veterinary nurse

📜 17 DCMR § 11200.5

The rule protects a list rather than a single title, and the list is long: unless duly certified, no person may use or imply the words veterinary technician, V.T., L.V.T., certified veterinary technician, CVT, animal technician, veterinary nurse, animal nurse, or any similar title or description of services, with the intent to represent that the person practices as a veterinary technician.

For a practice, that makes job titles and name badges a compliance question rather than a branding one, and the reach past the formal credential — to animal technician and animal nurse — is wider than the plain term.

The same chapter pairs the prohibition with a permission: a certified technician may adopt the veterinary nurse title, so in the District that wording is reserved rather than free-floating.

A practice naming uncredentialed staff should choose wording that sits entirely outside the list.

Unless duly certified under this chapter, no person shall use or imply the use of the words or terms "veterinary technician", "V.T.", "L.V.T.", "certified veterinary technician", "CVT", "animal technician," "veterinary nurse", "animal nurse", or any similar title or description of services with the intent to represent that the person practices as a veterinary technician.

A 2014 rewrite, a closed grandfather window, and an anti-freelance rule

📜 D.C. Law 20-96; D.C. Code § 3-1208.63(c); 17 DCMR § 11206.1

Three leftovers matter.

First, dating: the old Chapter 5 Board of Veterinary Examiners law — including its earlier certification of animal technicians — was repealed effective March 26, 2014 by D.C. Law 20-96, which is likely why NAVTA's 2022 credential-title table listed no DC title, and the current rule chapter only took effect in 2021.

Second, the rule wrote a one-time grandfather window: a person already performing a technician's tasks in the twelve months before the rule's effective date could be certified without the degree or the VTNE, with 4,000 supervised hours, by applying within twelve months of August 6, 2021 — that window closed on August 6, 2022 and is unavailable to new applicants.

Third, the statute carries an anti-freelance clause: a certified technician may not receive compensation for performing veterinary technician services, except salary or other compensation paid by an employing veterinarian, a veterinary facility, a shelter, a humane society, an animal-control facility or a wildlife-rehabilitation facility.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes Washington, DC’s own statute and board rule on CREDENTIALING, as read for this series and current as of September 2026. It does not cover scope of practice — which tasks a credentialed technician may legally perform, and under what level of supervision — which is governed by separate rules and is a different question from how you obtain the credential.

It also does not list application forms, background-check steps or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine (DC Health)’s own application instructions. Education routes, accepted exams and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine (DC Health) before you enroll in a program or submit an application.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you have to be certified to work as a veterinary technician in Washington, DC?

Yes.

D.C. Code § 3-1208.63(a) says a person shall not engage in activities related to maintaining the health or treatment of an animal unless certified by the Board of Veterinary Medicine as a veterinary technician, and the rule repeats that no one may practice as one unless duly certified or authorized.

Students, pending applicants and trainees can work only under a separate Board-issued temporary authorization under a licensed veterinarian's supervision.

Which tasks each person may perform is a separate scope question — confirm current requirements with the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine.

Is there an on-the-job route to becoming a certified vet tech in Washington, DC?

Yes.

Instead of the AVMA-accredited associate program, the rule accepts 230 clock hours of post-secondary coursework — biology, microbiology, chemistry, and anatomy and physiology, with a C or better — plus 4,000 hours of Directed Clinical Practice under a licensed veterinarian, accrued over two to five years and documented by the veterinarian's attestation.

Trainees must hold a Board-issued temporary authorization before accruing hours.

Whether the VTNE is also required on this route is not stated in the rule, so ask the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine.

What do the letters VT, LVT and CVT mean in Washington, DC?

The statute itself uses no abbreviation — it regulates the plain term veterinary technician.

The rule's protected-titles list then names V.T., L.V.T. and CVT, among others, as terms an uncertified person may not use to imply they practice as a veterinary technician.

A certified technician may also go by veterinary nurse, a title the District reserves by name.

If a job posting's letters seem ambiguous, check with the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine.

How many continuing education hours does a Washington, DC vet tech need?

Fourteen hours during each two-year renewal period, including two hours of LGBTQ continuing education and ten percent in public-health-priority subjects the Director designates.

There is no CE requirement for the initial certificate or the first renewal, and reinstating a lapsed certificate takes seven hours per expired year on the same percentages.

Approved providers include AAVSB's RACE program, the DC Veterinary Medical Association and the DC Academy of Veterinary Medicine.

Confirm the current subject list with the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine.

Is it illegal to call yourself a vet tech in Washington, DC without the certification?

Using the term is restricted when it is meant to represent you as a practitioner: the rule bars an uncertified person from using or implying the words veterinary technician, V.T., L.V.T., certified veterinary technician, CVT, animal technician, veterinary nurse, animal nurse, or any similar title, with that intent.

That makes job titles and name badges a compliance matter for practices, not just for job seekers.

Confirm current wording with the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine.

Find Veterinary Technician Jobs
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Washington, DC & Veterinary Technician Resources

Sourced from Washington, DC’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine (DC Health).