Accredited programs

Vet Tech Programs in Washington, DC

Founder, VeterinaryHires
List: AVMA CVTEA, retrieved 2026-09-23

AVMA lists no veterinary technology program based in Washington, DC — its CVTEA list, retrieved September 23, 2026, reads None for the District.

Certification has not gone away: the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine requires it, reached through an AVMA-accredited associate program or a supervised-hours alternative, and AVMA's distance-education list of 13 programs is open to District residents.

This page reads the None, the distance route, and what certification asks of a program.

Accredited programs

0

Offer an associate degree

0

Offer a bachelor's

0

Status to check

0

Source: AVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA), “Veterinary technology programs accredited by the AVMA CVTEA” and “Distance education programs in veterinary technology accredited by the AVMA CVTEA”, retrieved 2026-09-23. “Status to check” counts programs whose AVMA status line reads anything other than plain full accreditation.

Check the list and the board before you enroll

The program list on this page is AVMA's own list of CVTEA-accredited veterinary technology programs, as retrieved on the date shown. Accreditation status changes, programs open and close, and AVMA updates its list without notice, so check a program's current status on AVMA's list and ask the school directly about cost, schedule, clinical placements and its published VTNE pass rate before you enroll. This page is not a ranking or an endorsement of any program.

AVMA-accredited programs in Washington, DC

AVMA’s list carries a Washington, DC section with no program in it: as of 2026-09-23, no CVTEA-accredited veterinary technology program is based in Washington, DC. The distance-education list below is the accredited route that does not depend on where a program is based.

From AVMA’s CVTEA program list, retrieved 2026-09-23.

AVMA's Washington, DC section reads None

AVMA's by-state list carries a Washington, DC section, and that section reads None: as of September 23, 2026, the AVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities accredits no veterinary technology program based in the District.

The count cards above show the same picture — no accredited programs, no associate degrees, no bachelor's degrees, and no status line to check.

Read the None narrowly.

It records where CVTEA-accredited programs are based; it does not say that the District bars the credential, that District residents cannot train for the field, or that the city has no vet techs.

Because there is no program entry here to read, the list also says nothing about schedules or clinical placements — those become questions for whichever school a District resident chooses, and the routes below are where that choice starts.

The distance-education route: 13 programs, none based in the District

No distance-education program is based in Washington, DC either.

AVMA keeps a separate distance-education list, and it carries 13 accredited programs, each listed under the state where it is based; the list lower on this page reproduces it in full, with each program's status line exactly as AVMA prints it.

A graduate of any program on that list counts as a graduate of an accredited program, which matters here because the District's baseline certification route asks for graduation from an AVMA-accredited institution.

Before enrolling, ask each school whether it admits students living in the District, and how it arranges the supervised clinical hours every accredited program requires at a practice where the student lives.

Statuses change, so read each card's line and re-check AVMA's list before you commit.

What DC certification asks of a program

Washington, DC certifies veterinary technicians through the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine, and the certification is mandatory — the statute bars a person from engaging in activities related to maintaining the health or treatment of an animal unless certified.

The baseline education route is graduation from a two-year associate program in veterinary technology or animal health at an institution accredited by AVMA's CVTEA at the time the applicant graduated, so accreditation on graduation day is the detail to verify.

The rule also writes an alternative with no program: 230 clock hours of specified coursework plus 4,000 hours of supervised Directed Clinical Practice accrued over two to five years, begun only after the Board issues a temporary authorization.

Technicians already credentialed in another US jurisdiction qualify by endorsement, with the degree requirement waived.

On the accredited-program route, the VTNE — passed within seven years of applying — and a District jurisprudence requirement follow.

The rule does not state whether the VTNE or its recency window applies on the alternative route or by endorsement, so ask the Board; jurisprudence applies on every route.

Who issues it

DC Board of Veterinary Medicine (DC Health)

The credential

A certification as a veterinary technician issued by the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine — the statute uses the plain term with no letters attached, and the rule adds that a certified technician may also go by veterinary nurse.

Education routes

A two-year associate program in veterinary technology or animal health at an institution AVMA-CVTEA-accredited at graduation — or an alternative route of 230 clock hours of specified coursework plus 4,000 hours of supervised Directed Clinical Practice.

Exams

The VTNE, with a passing score obtained no more than seven years before applying, plus a District veterinary jurisprudence requirement whose format and passing score the rule leaves to the Board to choose.

Full Washington, DC vet tech credential requirements →

AVMA’s distance-education list

AVMA names 13 programs on a separate distance-education list. Each is listed under the state where it is based. Whether a program admits students living in Washington, DC, and how it arranges clinical placements there, is a question for the program.

Appalachian State UniversityBoone, NC · INITIAL ACCREDITATION
Ashworth CollegeNorcross, GA · VOLUNTARY TERMINAL
Colby Community CollegeColby, KS · FULL ACCREDITATION
Dallas College (formerly Cedar Valley College)Lancaster, TX · FULL ACCREDITATION
Great Falls College/Montana State UniversityGreat Falls, MT · INITIAL ACCREDITATION
Jefferson State Community CollegeBirmingham, AL · FULL ACCREDITATION
Murray State CollegeTishomingo, OK · FULL ACCREDITATION
Northern Virginia Community CollegeSterling, VA · FULL ACCREDITATION
Penn Foster CollegeChandler, AZ · FULL ACCREDITATION
Purdue UniversityWest Lafayette, IN · FULL ACCREDITATION
San Juan CollegeFarmington, NM · FULL ACCREDITATION
St. Petersburg CollegeLargo, FL · FULL ACCREDITATION
YTI Career InstituteYork, PA · PROBATIONARY ACCREDITATION (the by-state list reads FULL ACCREDITATION)

From AVMA’s distance-education program list, retrieved 2026-09-23.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many accredited vet tech programs are in Washington, DC?

None.

AVMA's CVTEA list, retrieved September 23, 2026, carries a Washington, DC section that reads None — no CVTEA-accredited veterinary technology program is based in the District.

Residents who want the accredited-program route use AVMA's distance-education list of 13 programs, each based in another state, or attend a campus outside the District.

Accreditation status changes, so check AVMA's own list for the current entry before you apply.

Can I become a certified vet tech in Washington, DC without completing a program?

Yes, on the rule's alternative route.

Instead of the AVMA-accredited associate program, DC accepts 230 clock hours of post-secondary coursework — biology, microbiology, chemistry, and anatomy and physiology, each with a C or better — plus 4,000 hours of Directed Clinical Practice under a licensed veterinarian, documented by that veterinarian's attestation.

Training cannot begin until the Board issues a temporary authorization.

Whether the VTNE is also required on this route is not stated in the rule, so ask the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine.

Can Washington, DC residents take a vet tech program online through AVMA's distance list?

Not one based in the District — AVMA's by-state list reads None for Washington, DC.

AVMA's separate distance-education list carries 13 accredited programs, none based in the District either, so an online route means enrolling in a distance program based in another state and arranging the supervised clinical hours at a practice where you live.

Ask each school whether it admits students living in the District before you enroll.

Do you have to be certified to work as a vet tech in Washington, DC?

Yes.

The statute says a person shall not engage in activities related to maintaining the health or treatment of an animal unless certified by the Board of Veterinary Medicine, and the rule repeats that no one may practice as a veterinary technician unless duly certified or authorized.

That is what makes the program question consequential: the accredited-program route and the supervised-hours alternative are the doors into certification.

Confirm current requirements with the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine.

Does Washington, DC waive the program requirement for techs already certified elsewhere?

Yes, by endorsement.

A technician already credentialed in another US jurisdiction qualifies with the degree requirement waived, as long as the existing credential is in good standing, and the District's jurisprudence requirement still applies.

Whether the VTNE — and its seven-year recency window — also applies to endorsement is not stated in the rule, so ask the Board before relying on this route.

Confirm the details with the DC Board of Veterinary Medicine.

Find Veterinary Technician Jobs
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Washington, DC Veterinary Technician Resources

Program list: AVMA CVTEA, retrieved 2026-09-23. Page last updated 2026-09-23.