Idaho certifies veterinary technicians as Certified Veterinary Technicians (CVTs) through the State Board of Veterinary Medicine, which sits inside the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses.
The Board's rule requires anyone representing themselves as a licensed, registered, or certified veterinary technician to hold a valid, unexpired Idaho certificate, and it protects all three lettered variants generically.
The current rule does not itemize education or exam requirements; it does require fifteen hours of continuing education reported at each renewal.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Certified veterinary technician (CVT) β Idaho Code Β§ 54-2103(10) defines the credential as a person who has fulfilled the certification requirements prescribed by board rule and has been certified by the Board to practice veterinary technology in Idaho.
Mandatory to represent yourself as a technician: the Board's rule requires any person representing themselves as a licensed, registered, or certified veterinary technician to hold a valid, unexpired certificate to practice veterinary technology in Idaho.
Not stated in the sources read β the current rule text, reissued effective July 1, 2024, lists the application for certification but does not itemize education requirements, and the research notes those specifics appear to live on the Board's online application.
Not stated in the sources read β the current rule text carries no VTNE or state-exam language for veterinary technicians.
Fifteen hours of completed continuing education, reported to the Board at each renewal; the length of the renewal cycle itself is not stated in the sources read.
New certificate $125, active renewal $75, inactive renewal $25, late renewal or reinstatement $50, and inactive-to-active $50 (IDAPA 24.38.01.400).
The rule's certificate-required sentence reaches all three lettered variants at once β licensed, registered, or certified β so the LVT and RVT abbreviations from other states are covered alongside Idaho's own CVT, which the research row calls broader than the 2022 national survey baseline suggested.
Idaho State Board of Veterinary Medicine (Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses)
NAVTA's national title-protection categories are a secondary snapshot and were already stale for at least nine states when this series was researched β what appears above for Idaho is that jurisdiction's own statute and board rule as read in September 2026, not a category label.
Idaho's credential is the certified veterinary technician β the CVT on Idaho job postings.
The statutory definition is deliberately open-ended about how you get there: a CVT is someone who has fulfilled the certification requirements prescribed by board rule and been certified by the Board to practice veterinary technology in this state, so the substantive entry requirements live in the rule chapter rather than the statute.
The statute separately defines a generic veterinary technician term used elsewhere in the chapter, which is easy to mistake for the credential itself.
If an Idaho posting says CVT, it is asking for this Board-issued certificate.
β'Certified veterinary technician' means a person who has fulfilled the certification requirements prescribed by board rule and has been certified by the board to practice veterinary technology in this state.β
The rule sentence that does Idaho's mandatory work gates representation: any person representing themselves as a licensed, registered, or certified veterinary technician must hold a valid, unexpired certificate to practice veterinary technology in Idaho.
Read practically, the conduct it attaches to is a person's own self-designation β presenting yourself as a veterinary technician, whether that appears on a badge, a signature block or a job listing.
Which clinical tasks may be performed with or without the certificate is a scope-of-practice question governed by separate provisions, and is not covered here.
Certification itself is applied for in writing to the Board, through an application the rule says is available online.
βAny person representing themselves as a licensed, registered, or certified veterinary technician, shall hold a valid, unexpired certificate to practice veterinary technology in Idaho.β
This is the biggest gap on the page, and it comes from the state's own 2024 rule rewrite rather than a missing source.
The current rule chapter lists an application for certification but does not itemize what education or training an applicant must show; the research notes those specifics appear to live on the Board's online application, which was not among the pages read.
Idaho's statute does define a generic veterinary technician as a graduate of a program accredited or approved by the AVMA's committee on veterinary technician education and activities, or a person with equivalent training as set forth in board rules β but that is a term definition used elsewhere in the chapter, not the certification standard itself.
No published education summary, including this one, substitutes for the Board's current application materials.
β"Veterinary technician" means a person who has graduated from a veterinary technology program accredited or approved by the committee on veterinary technician education and activities of the American veterinary medical association or other accrediting agency approved by the board or a person who has received equivalent training as set forth in the rules of the board.β
The continuing-education rule is short and mechanical: a renewing licensee reports fifteen hours of completed continuing education to the Board.
What the sources read do not state is the renewal cycle itself β whether an Idaho certificate renews annually or on a longer clock is not in the rule text read, so the fifteen hours attach to renewal exactly as the rule words it.
The fee schedule in the same chapter prices the credential at $125 new, $75 active renewal, $25 inactive renewal, $50 late renewal or reinstatement, and $50 to move from inactive to active status.
The 2024 rewrite that produced this short text described itself as removing barriers to renewal, so older guides describing different CE or renewal mechanics may be stale.
βA renewing a licensee shall report fifteen (15) hours of completed continuing education to the Board.β
Idaho's title sentence is broader than the letters on its own credential.
Because it reaches any person representing themselves as a licensed, registered, or certified veterinary technician, an out-of-state LVT or RVT moving to Idaho sits inside the same sentence as an Idaho CVT: none of the three variants may be used in the state without a valid, unexpired Idaho certificate to practice veterinary technology.
The sources read record that the 2022 national survey baseline grouped Idaho with states that regulate technicians without a protected title, and note the 2024 sentence is broader than that baseline suggests; the survey has not formally reclassified Idaho since.
Idaho's technician rules were reissued effective July 1, 2024 under the Red Tape Reduction Act, and the chapter was renumbered from IDAPA 46.01.01 to 24.38.01 in the process.
The Board's own purpose statement for the change lists language cleanup, removal of redundancies, removal of barriers to renewal, and simplification of the practice act.
The practical consequence for an applicant is that the current text is terse: it names the application step and the CE and fee rules, and it does not spell out the education and exam pathway that older summaries described.
Guidance citing the old 46.01.01 number, or itemizing requirements the current text no longer contains, should be checked against the Board before being relied on.
βThis rule change includes language cleanup, removal of redundancies, removal of barriers to renewal, and simplification of practice act in compliance with the Red Tape Reduction Act.β
This page summarizes Idahoβs own statute and board rule on CREDENTIALING, as read for this series and current as of September 2026. It does not cover scope of practice β which tasks a credentialed technician may legally perform, and under what level of supervision β which is governed by separate rules and is a different question from how you obtain the credential.
It also does not list application forms, background-check steps or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Idaho State Board of Veterinary Medicine (Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses)βs own application instructions. Education routes, accepted exams and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Idaho State Board of Veterinary Medicine (Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses) before you enroll in a program or submit an application.
The Board's rule gates the title: any person representing themselves as a licensed, registered, or certified veterinary technician must hold a valid, unexpired certificate to practice veterinary technology in Idaho.
The sources read for this page attach that requirement to using a technician designation; which tasks you may legally perform with or without the certificate is a separate scope-of-practice question governed by other provisions.
Confirm your situation with the Idaho State Board of Veterinary Medicine before you rely on this.
Idaho's issued credential is the certified veterinary technician, or CVT β a person who has fulfilled the certification requirements prescribed by board rule and been certified by the Board to practice veterinary technology in the state.
The rule's certificate-required sentence covers all three lettered variants at once, so an Idaho posting asking for an LVT or an RVT is asking for someone holding Idaho's certificate, not a different credential.
Confirm current wording with the Board if a specific posting is ambiguous.
Fifteen.
The rule requires a renewing licensee to report fifteen hours of completed continuing education to the Board.
The sources read do not state the length of the renewal cycle itself, so this page cannot tell you whether that fifteen-hour requirement comes due every year or on a longer clock β the Board's renewal materials will.
Confirm with the Idaho State Board of Veterinary Medicine.
The fee schedule in the Board's rule lists, for certified veterinary technicians: $125 for a new certificate, $75 for an active renewal, $25 for an inactive renewal, $50 for late renewal or reinstatement, and $50 to move from inactive back to active status.
Fees are set by board rule and can change with a rule amendment, so confirm the current amounts with the Board before you apply.
Not on the sources read for this page.
The current rule text, reissued in July 2024, does not itemize education or exam requirements for certification β those specifics appear to live on the Board's online application.
The statute's separate definition of a generic veterinary technician does mention equivalent training as set forth in board rules, but that is a term definition, not the certification standard, so do not plan around it.
Ask the Board what your experience qualifies you for before enrolling β or before assuming you need to enroll.
Sourced from Idahoβs own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice β confirm current rules with the Idaho State Board of Veterinary Medicine (Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses).