Accredited programs

Vet Tech Programs in Idaho

Founder, VeterinaryHires
List: AVMA CVTEA, retrieved 2026-09-23

AVMA lists 1 CVTEA-accredited veterinary technology program in Idaho: College of Southern Idaho in Twin Falls, which awards an Associate of Applied Science.

Its status line is FULL ACCREDITATION, with AVMA's next evaluation set for 2028.

AVMA names no Idaho program on its distance-education list, so the online route for Idaho residents runs through the 13 distance programs AVMA lists under their home states.

Idaho's Board certifies veterinary technicians as CVTs, and what that credential asks of a program is summarized below.

Accredited programs

1

Offer an associate degree

1

Offer a bachelor's

0

Status to check

0

Source: AVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA), “Veterinary technology programs accredited by the AVMA CVTEA” and “Distance education programs in veterinary technology accredited by the AVMA CVTEA”, retrieved 2026-09-23. “Status to check” counts programs whose AVMA status line reads anything other than plain full accreditation.

Check the list and the board before you enroll

The program list on this page is AVMA's own list of CVTEA-accredited veterinary technology programs, as retrieved on the date shown. Accreditation status changes, programs open and close, and AVMA updates its list without notice, so check a program's current status on AVMA's list and ask the school directly about cost, schedule, clinical placements and its published VTNE pass rate before you enroll. This page is not a ranking or an endorsement of any program.

AVMA-accredited programs in Idaho

AVMA lists 1 accredited veterinary technology program in Idaho, alphabetically below, with each degree, date and status line exactly as AVMA prints it. A struck-through degree is one AVMA marks as discontinued.

College of Southern Idaho

Veterinary Technology Program · Twin Falls, ID

  • Associate of Applied Science

Initial accreditation: March, 1999 · Next evaluation (as AVMA lists it): 2028

FULL ACCREDITATION

From AVMA’s CVTEA program list, retrieved 2026-09-23.

One program: College of Southern Idaho in Twin Falls

Idaho's section of AVMA's list is a single entry: College of Southern Idaho in Twin Falls, listed under the program name Veterinary Technology Program.

Its only degree line is an Associate of Applied Science, so AVMA lists no bachelor's-granting veterinary technology program in Idaho, and it prints no former name and no campus-versus-distance split for the school.

The entry shows initial accreditation in March, 1999, a next evaluation in 2028 and a status line that reads simply FULL ACCREDITATION, so there is no status caveat to read past before applying.

That is the whole list — anything else, from schedules to clinical placements, is a question for the school.

No Idaho program on AVMA's distance-education list

College of Southern Idaho is the only program AVMA lists in Idaho, and it is not on AVMA's separate distance-education list.

AVMA names 13 distance programs in all, each listed under the state where it is based; they appear lower on this page.

For any of them, an Idaho resident needs the same answers from the school: whether it admits students living in Idaho, and how it arranges the supervised clinical hours every accredited program requires at a practice near the student.

Because Idaho's certification specifics sit in the Board's application materials rather than in rule text, also ask the Idaho State Board of Veterinary Medicine how an out-of-state distance program fits its certification application.

What Idaho's CVT certification asks of a program

Idaho certifies veterinary technicians as certified veterinary technicians (CVTs) through the Idaho State Board of Veterinary Medicine, and the Board's rule requires anyone representing themselves as a licensed, registered, or certified veterinary technician to hold a valid, unexpired Idaho certificate.

The current rule chapter, reissued effective July 1, 2024, lists the certification application but does not itemize the education or exam requirements behind it; Idaho's requirements page notes those specifics appear to live on the Board's application materials.

Idaho's statute does define a generic veterinary technician as a graduate of a program accredited or approved by AVMA's committee on veterinary technician education and activities, or a person with equivalent training as set forth in board rules — but that is a term definition, not the certification standard itself.

Ask the Board what your intended program counts for before you enroll, and expect 15 hours of continuing education to be reported at each renewal once certified.

Who issues it

Idaho State Board of Veterinary Medicine (Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses)

The credential

Certified veterinary technician (CVT) — Idaho Code § 54-2103(10) defines the credential as a person who has fulfilled the certification requirements prescribed by board rule and has been certified by the Board to practice veterinary technology in Idaho.

Education routes

Not stated in the sources read — the current rule text, reissued effective July 1, 2024, lists the application for certification but does not itemize education requirements, and the research notes those specifics appear to live on the Board's online application.

Exams

Not stated in the sources read — the current rule text carries no VTNE or state-exam language for veterinary technicians.

Full Idaho vet tech credential requirements →

AVMA’s distance-education list

AVMA names 13 programs on a separate distance-education list. Each is listed under the state where it is based. Whether a program admits students living in Idaho, and how it arranges clinical placements there, is a question for the program.

Appalachian State UniversityBoone, NC · INITIAL ACCREDITATION
Ashworth CollegeNorcross, GA · VOLUNTARY TERMINAL
Colby Community CollegeColby, KS · FULL ACCREDITATION
Dallas College (formerly Cedar Valley College)Lancaster, TX · FULL ACCREDITATION
Great Falls College/Montana State UniversityGreat Falls, MT · INITIAL ACCREDITATION
Jefferson State Community CollegeBirmingham, AL · FULL ACCREDITATION
Murray State CollegeTishomingo, OK · FULL ACCREDITATION
Northern Virginia Community CollegeSterling, VA · FULL ACCREDITATION
Penn Foster CollegeChandler, AZ · FULL ACCREDITATION
Purdue UniversityWest Lafayette, IN · FULL ACCREDITATION
San Juan CollegeFarmington, NM · FULL ACCREDITATION
St. Petersburg CollegeLargo, FL · FULL ACCREDITATION
YTI Career InstituteYork, PA · PROBATIONARY ACCREDITATION (the by-state list reads FULL ACCREDITATION)

From AVMA’s distance-education program list, retrieved 2026-09-23.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many accredited vet tech programs are in Idaho?

AVMA's CVTEA list, retrieved September 23, 2026, names 1 accredited veterinary technology program in Idaho: College of Southern Idaho in Twin Falls, which awards an Associate of Applied Science.

Its status line is FULL ACCREDITATION, with initial accreditation in March, 1999 and a next evaluation in 2028.

Accreditation status changes, so check AVMA's own list for the current entry before you apply.

Is there a bachelor's degree vet tech program in Idaho?

No. The single program on AVMA's Idaho list, College of Southern Idaho, awards an Associate of Applied Science, and that is the only degree line the list carries for the state.

A student who wants a bachelor's-level veterinary technology degree would need to look beyond this list, and should confirm with the Idaho State Board of Veterinary Medicine how any program they are considering fits Idaho's certification application.

Is College of Southern Idaho's vet tech program accredited?

Yes.

AVMA lists College of Southern Idaho in Twin Falls with a status line of FULL ACCREDITATION, initial accreditation in March, 1999 and a next evaluation in 2028.

AVMA's list itself carries no outcomes figures, so if a published first-time VTNE pass rate matters to your decision, ask the school directly for its current figure.

Can I become a vet tech in Idaho without an accredited program?

Not through any route in the sources behind Idaho's requirements page.

The Board's current rule chapter, reissued effective July 1, 2024, lists the certification application but does not itemize the education or exam pathway, and those specifics appear to live on the Board's application materials.

The statute's separate definition of a generic veterinary technician mentions graduation from a CVTEA-accredited program or equivalent training as set forth in board rules, but that is a term definition, not the certification standard.

Ask the Board what your experience qualifies you for.

Can Idaho residents study vet tech online through AVMA's distance-education list?

There is no Idaho-based program on AVMA's distance-education list, so an online route means enrolling in one of the 13 distance programs AVMA lists under their home states, shown lower on this page.

Before enrolling, ask the program whether it admits students living in Idaho and how it arranges the supervised clinical hours at a practice near you, and ask the Idaho State Board of Veterinary Medicine how the program fits its certification application.

Find Veterinary Technician Jobs in Idaho
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Idaho Veterinary Technician Resources

Program list: AVMA CVTEA, retrieved 2026-09-23. Page last updated 2026-09-23.