Idaho's board rule requires sufficient knowledge of the animal — either an examination of the animal, or medically appropriate premises visits made within the last twelve months — before a VCPR exists, but the text never says whether that examination must happen in person.
The current rule, in force since July 1, 2024, uses none of the words telemedicine, telehealth, or electronic, so a widely repeated claim that Idaho allows virtual establishment with a prescribing bar does not hold up against it.
A separate statute ties that same board-defined VCPR to all controlled-substance and prescription-drug dispensing.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Sufficient knowledge of the animal to initiate at least a general or preliminary diagnosis, either by an examination of the animal or by medically appropriate visits to the premises where the animals are maintained within the last twelve months — the rule never says whether the examination itself must be conducted in person.
Not addressed either way — the words "telemedicine," "telehealth," and "electronic" do not appear in IDAPA 24.38.01 at all, so there is no codified electronic-establishment path, but nothing in the rule affirmatively bars one either.
Not separately addressed — no telemedicine-specific maintenance provision exists in the rule.
Not stated in the sources read.
Idaho Code § 54-2104(h) requires a VCPR, as defined by the board's rules, to exist when controlled substances or legend/prescription drugs are administered, distributed, dispensed or prescribed — no telemedicine-specific carve-out.
Not stated in the sources read.
Rule text tagged "(7-1-24)" throughout (effective July 1, 2024); Idaho Code § 54-2104(h) most recently amended 2021 (ch. 40, sec. 2).
The text is silent on modality — Board rule or administrative code.
IDAPA 24.38.01 § 010.02 (Rules of the State of Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine), authorized under Idaho Code Title 54, Chapter 21; reinforced by Idaho Code § 54-2104(h)
Idaho's rule sets two conditions rather than one.
First, the veterinarian has to have assumed responsibility for making medical judgments about the animal's health and treatment.
Second, and this is the part that does the work for a practice manager, there has to be sufficient knowledge of the animal to initiate at least a general or preliminary diagnosis — satisfied either by an examination of the animal, or by medically appropriate visits to the premises where the animals are kept within a minimum of the last twelve months.
The twelve-month window is written onto the premises-visit route specifically; the rule does not say how recent an examination has to be, and it never says whether that examination must be conducted in person.
A practice building an intake workflow should track which of the two routes each client file rests on, since only one of them carries an explicit recency clock.
“There is sufficient knowledge of the animal by the veterinarian to initiate at least a general or preliminary diagnosis of the medical condition of the animal, either by virtue of an examination of the animal, or by medically appropriate visits to the premises where the animals are maintained within a minimum of the last twelve (12) months.”
This is the point of the page.
The rule that governs the Idaho VCPR lists exactly two ways to get to sufficient knowledge — an examination or a premises visit — and it never specifies how either has to be performed.
The words "telemedicine," "telehealth," and "electronic" appear nowhere in IDAPA 24.38.01, so there is no codified path for establishing the relationship remotely, but the text also never states that the examination must be conducted in person.
Idaho Code § 54-2103 separately defines the practice of veterinary medicine to include practice "through telephonic, electronic or other means, regardless of the location of the veterinarian" — that language appears elsewhere in Title 54, but not in the board's own VCPR rule, and the sources read do not explain why it was left out.
A practice building a telemedicine offering for new-client intake in Idaho has no codified path to point to, and no board rule confirming one is barred either.
The rule does not carry a separate provision for how an already-established relationship may be maintained by telehealth once it exists.
Nothing in the text distinguishes establishing the relationship from maintaining it, so the same examination-or-premises-visit standard in § 010.02(b) is the only thing the rule states, with the twelve-month clock attached specifically to the premises-visit route.
Because the rule never addresses modality, a practice relying on telehealth for a returning patient has no board rule stating that maintenance by telehealth is either permitted or barred — confirm current practice with the board rather than assuming either answer.
Idaho ties dispensing directly to the board's VCPR rule rather than defining a separate prescribing standard: a veterinarian/client/patient relationship, as defined by the rules of the board, must exist when controlled substances or legend/prescription drugs are administered, distributed, dispensed or prescribed.
Because § 010.02 never says whether the underlying VCPR can rest on a remote exam, it is unresolved on the text whether a relationship established with the help of telemedicine would satisfy this statute.
No telemedicine-specific carve-out exists either way, so a practice manager should treat prescribing off anything other than a clearly qualifying examination or premises visit as unconfirmed and worth checking with the board.
“a veterinarian/client/patient relationship, as defined by the rules of the board, must exist when controlled substances or legend/prescription drugs are administered, distributed, dispensed or prescribed.”
An AVMA article from November 2023 described Idaho as a state that had changed its rules to allow virtual VCPR establishment, with a bar on prescribing off that electronic relationship.
The rule now in force does not support that characterization: the current text, tagged effective July 1, 2024, never uses the words telemedicine, telehealth, or electronic, so there is no codified electronic-establishment path for the claim to rest on — though that same silence means the text doesn't affirmatively rule one out either.
Either the AVMA description was already imprecise, or an earlier version of the rule (before July 2024) addressed modality and that language was dropped in the 2024 rulemaking — the pre-2024 text was not available to confirm which.
Treat the AVMA characterization as unconfirmed against the current rule, and check the live text with the Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine before relying on it.
There are two VCPRs, and the federal one does not move
This page describes Idaho’s own text — IDAPA 24.38.01 § 010.02 (Rules of the State of Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine), authorized under Idaho Code Title 54, Chapter 21; reinforced by Idaho Code § 54-2104(h) as read for this series, current as of September 2026, with the provision itself last changed Rule text tagged "(7-1-24)" throughout (effective July 1, 2024); Idaho Code § 54-2104(h) most recently amended 2021 (ch. 40, sec. 2). It does not cover licensure, scope of practice, or the terms of a specific prescription, and it is not a compliance sign-off for a telemedicine service.
VCPR and telemedicine rules are the fastest-moving area this site covers — nine states changed theirs between 2024 and 2026, and bills are live in others. Confirm the current text with the board before you build an intake policy, a prescribing workflow or a remote-care service on it, and read the federal note above alongside it rather than instead of it.
Unclear on the text.
IDAPA 24.38.01 § 010.02 requires sufficient knowledge of the animal, built on either an examination of the animal or medically appropriate premises visits made within the last twelve months, but it never says whether that examination has to be conducted in person.
The words telemedicine, telehealth, and electronic do not appear anywhere in the rule, so there is no codified path permitting a video exam — but there is also no explicit bar on one.
Confirm the current rule text and the board's own position with the Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine before relying on either answer.
The rule does not separately address maintenance by telehealth — it states the same examination-or-premises-visit standard without distinguishing establishing the relationship from maintaining it.
There is no stated allowance for conducting an established relationship by telemedicine, and nothing in the sources read addresses what telehealth may do once a VCPR exists.
Verify current practice with the Idaho board before offering telehealth services to an existing client.
Not stated in the sources read — IDAPA 24.38.01 does not enumerate any telehealth activities permitted absent a VCPR, and no such provision was located in Idaho Code Title 54, Chapter 21.
Idaho Code § 54-2104(h) does make clear that controlled substances and legend/prescription drugs may not be dispensed or prescribed without the board-defined VCPR in place.
Confirm with the Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine before assuming any no-VCPR exception applies.
No, and this is the trap.
The federal VCPR at 21 CFR 530.3(i) is a separate relationship governing extralabel drug use and Veterinary Feed Directives, it requires that the veterinarian has recently seen the animal or visited the premises, and the FDA has said it cannot be met solely through telemedicine.
It applies regardless of what Idaho permits.
Extralabel use is routine, so this is not an edge case.
Check both, and confirm with the Idaho board.
The current text of IDAPA 24.38.01 § 010.02 is tagged "(7-1-24)" throughout, meaning it took effect July 1, 2024, and the same text is carried by the 2025-07-01 codification, so it has not changed since.
Idaho Code § 54-2104(h) was most recently amended in 2021.
A widely repeated claim that Idaho allows virtual VCPR establishment describes an earlier version of the rule, if it was ever accurate — confirm the current text with the Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine before relying on any older summary.
Sourced from Idaho’s own statute or board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Idaho board before relying on them.