Indiana licenses veterinarians through the Indiana Board of Veterinary Medicine.
Every applicant files a checklist-based application with an official NAVLE score report from the AAVSB, and first-time Indiana licensees also pass a short, Indiana-specific multiple-choice Juris Prudence Examination.
Graduates of unaccredited veterinary colleges qualify through an ECFVG or PAVE certificate.
An already-licensed veterinarian from an equivalent state can reciprocate without the Juris Prudence test, though the Board may still require an Indiana law exam.
Renewal is biennial, with 40 hours of continuing education due October 15 of odd-numbered years.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Required — the application checklist calls for an official NAVLE score report sent directly to the Board from the AAVSB's Veterinary Information Verifying Agency; the checklist does not restate a passing score of its own.
Yes — a "Juris Prudence Examination," a short Indiana-specific multiple-choice test sent after you apply; required only for first-time Indiana licensees and not on the reciprocity checklist.
None found in the sources read — the application checklist lists no examination beyond the NAVLE score report and the Juris Prudence Examination.
Both accepted — an applicant who did not graduate from an accredited college of veterinary medicine must hold an ECFVG certificate (issued by the AVMA) or a PAVE certificate (issued by the AAVSB) before they can be licensed.
Available by reciprocity to a veterinarian holding an active equivalent license in another state, in good standing with no pending complaint or investigation; the Board may still require an Indiana law exam, and the application fee is $150.
40 hours of continuing education per biennium, due October 15 of odd-numbered years; CE is not required for the first renewal after initial licensure.
Not stated in the sources read.
Indiana Board of Veterinary Medicine
No interstate veterinary licensure compact is currently operational in any state, including Indiana — none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes or administrative codes references joining, enacting or currently considering one, as of September 2026.
Indiana's application checklist does not restate a passing score of its own: it requires an official NAVLE score report routed directly to the Board from the AAVSB's Veterinary Information Verifying Agency, the score-transfer service boards use, rather than a result the candidate submits themselves.
A new graduate should request that transfer early, because the application checklist is not complete without it.
Nationally the NAVLE passing standard is a scaled score set by the exam's own testing entity, but Indiana's own materials defer to the AAVSB score report rather than naming a number.
“Applicants must submit an official score report of their North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE).”
Once the application has been filed, the Board sends the applicant a short, Indiana-specific multiple-choice test, and the checklist asks that the completed answer sheet be returned promptly per the enclosed instructions.
This Juris Prudence Examination is required only of first-time Indiana licensees, so the state-law test arrives after you apply rather than gating the application.
A new graduate should build that turnaround into their start date; a veterinarian who later reciprocates on an active out-of-state license will not find the test on the reciprocity checklist at all.
“Once the application has been made, the VetBoard will send you a short, Indiana-specific multiple-choice test. Be sure to complete and promptly submit the answer sheet according to instructions provided.”
The checklist requires official transcripts showing that all graduation requirements were met and the degree conferred, and an applicant who did not graduate from an accredited college of veterinary medicine must prove they hold an ECFVG certificate issued by the AVMA or a PAVE certificate issued by the AAVSB — the Board states plainly that an applicant is not eligible for licensure until one of those certificates is submitted.
A foreign-trained veterinarian should therefore treat ECFVG or PAVE as a prerequisite to the Indiana application, not a parallel step, since the certificate has to exist before licensure can move forward.
The checklist names both certificates and their issuing organizations side by side, with no preference stated between them.
“Applicants who have not graduated from an accredited college of veterinary medicine must submit satisfactory proof that they hold an Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) certificate issued by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) or a Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE) certificate issued by the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB).”
Indiana's route for an already-licensed veterinarian turns on the license you hold: the Board shall issue a license to an applicant who holds an active equivalent license in another state — one whose requirements are substantially equivalent to or exceed the Board's — who is in good standing and undisciplined, and who has no complaint or investigation pending over unprofessional conduct.
The reciprocity checklist does not include the Juris Prudence Test that first-time licensees take, but the Board expressly reserves the ability to require an examination on Indiana law where a law regulating the occupation calls for one.
The application fee is $150 for veterinarians, the same as the by-examination application.
Every license verification must come directly from the state of issuance, so a relocating veterinarian should trigger those requests early.
“The Indiana Board of Veterinary Medicine shall issue a license to an applicant if they hold an active equivalent license to practice in another State.”
Renewal runs on a biennial cycle with 40 hours of continuing education in veterinary medicine due October 15 of each odd-numbered year, and CE is not required for the first renewal after initial licensure — a new graduate's first cycle is a runway rather than a deadline.
Hours cannot be carried over between cycles, CE used to satisfy another state's renewal requirements may also count for Indiana, and delivery method doesn't matter — online and asynchronous hours qualify.
The Board points to the continuing-education rules at 888 IAC 1.1-10.
On the Board's current DVM fee schedule, renewal is $100 if renewed unexpired prior to October 15 of an odd-numbered year, $150 once expired less than three years, $250 beyond three years, and reinstatement from inactive is $100.
“First-time applicants do not have to report continuing education credits until the first renewal cycle, except for those applying for a CSR.”
The veterinary license alone does not authorize controlled-substance work in Indiana: prescribing, administering, storing, dispensing or otherwise handling controlled substances requires a separate Controlled Substance Registration (CSR), and an applicant must already hold an active Indiana practitioner license before obtaining one.
CSR applicants must complete and submit 2 hours of approved opioid education, which is the one continuing-education item that applies before the first renewal.
One CSR covers prescribing statewide, but a separate registration is required for each location where a practitioner administers, stores or dispenses controlled substances unless doing so under a facility's CSR — a detail a relief veterinarian covering multiple clinics should confirm before their first shift.
“All applicants for a controlled substance registration (CSR) must complete and submit 2 hours of approved opioid education.”
This page summarizes Indiana’s own statute and board rule as read for this series, current as of September 2026. It does not list application forms, current fees beyond what’s cited above, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Indiana Board of Veterinary Medicine’s own application instructions.
Accepted exams, endorsement conditions and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Indiana Board of Veterinary Medicine before you register for an exam or submit an application.
Yes — for first-time Indiana licensees.
After the application is filed, the Board sends a short, Indiana-specific multiple-choice Juris Prudence Examination, and the completed answer sheet is submitted per the enclosed instructions.
The NAVLE itself reaches the Board as an official score report routed from the AAVSB's Veterinary Information Verifying Agency rather than from the candidate.
Because the jurisprudence test arrives only after you apply, build processing time into your start date.
Confirm current sequencing with the Indiana Board of Veterinary Medicine before you apply.
Indiana's reciprocity pathway is available to a veterinarian who holds an active equivalent license in another state whose requirements are substantially equivalent to or exceed the Board's, who is in good standing, has not been disciplined, and has no pending complaint or investigation.
The Juris Prudence Test is not on the reciprocity checklist, but the Board may still require an examination on Indiana law where a regulating law calls for one.
The application fee is $150.
Verify your situation with the Indiana Board of Veterinary Medicine.
Forty hours of continuing education in veterinary medicine every two years, due by October 15 of each odd-numbered year.
CE is not required for the first renewal after initial licensure, hours cannot be carried over between cycles, and CE used to satisfy another state's renewal requirements may also count for Indiana.
Online and asynchronous formats are accepted regardless of interactivity.
Retain your documentation for three years after the renewal period ends.
Current details sit with the Indiana Board of Veterinary Medicine.
Not stated in the sources read.
The Board's site carries a "Provisional/Reciprocity" navigation item, but no temporary or relief permit terms were locatable in the board pages reviewed for this page (September 2026), and the research record flags the permit question as unresolved — so do not assume a relief-style license exists.
If you practice short stints at Indiana clinics while licensed elsewhere, ask the Indiana Board of Veterinary Medicine directly what authorization, if any, applies.
No. As of September 2026, no state — Indiana included — has joined an operational interstate veterinary licensure compact; none currently exists in any U.S. jurisdiction.
For a veterinarian moving an existing license to Indiana, the reciprocity pathway — an active equivalent license, good standing, and no pending complaint or investigation — is the mechanism to use.
Confirm current requirements with the Indiana Board of Veterinary Medicine.
Sourced from Indiana’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Indiana Board of Veterinary Medicine.