🩺 State licensure

Veterinarian Licensure Requirements in Arkansas

Founder, VeterinaryHires
Last verified September 2026

Arkansas licenses veterinarians through the Board of Animal Health, which sits inside the Arkansas Department of Agriculture's Animal Health Division — there is no stand-alone veterinary board.

An applicant files a $100 application carrying a NAVLE score form, then passes Arkansas's own Written State Board Examination, given once a year and typically in June, unless approved for licensure by endorsement under Ark.

Code Ann. § 17-101-303.

Licenses renew annually on March 31 against 20 hours of continuing education, and a temporary permit — checked on the same application for an additional $50 fee — covers practice before the state exam.

Verify before you rely on this

This page explains license mechanics only — what a state veterinary board asks for, not whether you personally qualify or how a specific rule applies to your situation. It is general information, not legal advice. Requirements change by statute and by board rule; verify current requirements directly with the state veterinary board before you rely on anything here. Veterinarians in Arkansas are regulated by the Arkansas Board of Animal Health.

At a glance

NAVLE

Appears required — the Board's application packet includes a NAVLE score form, but the pages read don't restate the requirement in rule text or state a passing score.

State jurisprudence exam

Yes — Arkansas's own Written State Board Examination, conducted by the Board and given on an annual basis (typically in June); waived only for applicants approved for licensure by endorsement.

Other exam

None found beyond the state written exam.

Foreign-graduate pathways (ECFVG / PAVE)

Not stated in the sources read.

Licensure by endorsement

Yes — at the Board's discretion under Ark. Code Ann. § 17-101-303, with requests approved at the Board meeting following receipt of the application; the exact conditions are not stated on the pages read.

CE & renewal

20 hours of CE in the 12 months preceding renewal for active status; licenses renew annually and all expire March 31; CE is waived in the renewal period in which the veterinarian graduated.

Temporary / relief permit

Yes — a Temporary Permit checkbox on the application (an additional $50 fee) to practice in Arkansas before taking the written state board examination.

Regulated by

Arkansas Board of Animal Health

Interstate compact

No interstate veterinary licensure compact is currently operational in any state, including Arkansas — none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes or administrative codes references joining, enacting or currently considering one, as of September 2026.

Arkansas's own Written State Board Examination

📜 §17-101-303 (endorsement waiver); Arkansas Veterinary Licensing Portal — Applicants page

Every applicant sits a written exam conducted by the Board itself — Arkansas runs it once a year, typically in June, and the application plus all required information must reach the Board's office at least 30 days before the sitting, so a candidate who misses the cycle waits for the next one.

Approval for licensure by endorsement is the only waiver.

The application packet also carries a NAVLE score form; the pages read show the national exam entering an Arkansas application only through that form, and don't restate a passing score.

A new graduate's timeline should key off the annual exam date and its 30-day filing deadline, with the temporary permit — a checkbox on the same application — covering practice in the meantime.

All applicants, unless approved by the Arkansas Board of Animal Health for licensure by endorsement, are required to complete a written exam conducted by the Board. The exam is given on an annual basis, typically in June. The application and all required information must be received in the Board's office at least thirty (30) days prior to the exam.

Licensure by endorsement

📜 §17-101-303; Arkansas Veterinary Licensing Portal — Applicants page

The Board may, at its discretion, issue a license by endorsement to a qualified applicant under Ark.

Code Ann. § 17-101-303, and requests are decided at the Board meeting following receipt of the application — a predictable, meeting-driven timeline rather than an open-ended review.

The pages read don't state the conditions the Board actually applies, including any years-of-practice threshold, so a veterinarian relocating to Arkansas should confirm those details with the Board before counting on the waiver.

Because endorsement approval is also the only way to skip the Written State Board Examination, the endorsement request effectively decides whether an applicant already licensed in another jurisdiction sits Arkansas's exam.

The Board, at its discretion, may issue a license by endorsement to a qualified applicant under Ark. Code Ann. § 17-101-303. Requests for licensure by endorsement are approved at the Board meeting following receipt of the application.

Renewal and continuing education

📜 Arkansas Veterinary Licensing Portal — Licensees page; annual renewal, all licenses expire Mar 31

Arkansas licenses renew annually, and all of them expire on March 31 — the license year runs April 1 to March 31.

Active-status renewal requires 20 hours of continuing education earned during the 12 months preceding the renewal period, while an inactive-status renewal ($25, against $100 for active status) requires no CE at all.

CE is waived for the renewal period in which a veterinarian graduated from veterinary college, and hours sponsored by the AVMA, the AAHA, an accredited veterinary college, or a RACE-registered provider are automatically approved.

Licensees keep their own CE records for three years and certify them on a Board form, the Board audits at its discretion, and renewals dated after March 31 incur a delinquent fee.

Continuing education hours are not required to renew on an inactive basis, and continuing education requirements are waived for veterinarians during the renewal period in which he or she graduated from a college of veterinary medicine.

A temporary permit before the state exam

📜 Arkansas Veterinary Licensing Portal — Applicants page; Temporary Permit checkbox, +$50

An applicant who needs to practice before sitting the Written State Board Examination checks yes to the Temporary Permit on the application and pays an additional $50 fee.

The permit's stated purpose is pre-exam practice, which makes it a bridge for exam-pending applicants — a new graduate waiting for the next sitting — rather than a short-term license for relief work by a veterinarian already licensed elsewhere; the pages read show no separate relief-style permit.

For a veterinarian already licensed in another jurisdiction, endorsement is the mechanism, not this permit.

An applicant can apply for a temporary permit if they need to practice in Arkansas prior to taking the written state board examination. If a temporary permit is needed, check “YES” on the application and submit the additional fifty-dollar ($50.00) fee.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes Arkansas’s own statute and board rule as read for this series, current as of September 2026. It does not list application forms, current fees beyond what’s cited above, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Arkansas Board of Animal Health’s own application instructions.

Accepted exams, endorsement conditions and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Arkansas Board of Animal Health before you register for an exam or submit an application.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Arkansas require a state-specific exam beyond the NAVLE?

Yes.

The application packet includes a NAVLE score form, and every applicant must also pass the Board's own Written State Board Examination — given once a year, typically in June, with the application and all required information due at least 30 days before the sitting.

The exam is waived only for applicants approved for licensure by endorsement.

The sources read don't restate a NAVLE passing score for Arkansas.

Confirm current exam dates with the Arkansas Board of Animal Health.

Can I get an Arkansas veterinary license by endorsement if I'm already licensed elsewhere?

Arkansas offers licensure by endorsement under Ark.

Code Ann. § 17-101-303 at the Board's discretion, with requests approved at the Board meeting following receipt of the application.

The pages read don't state the exact conditions — including any years-of-practice threshold — so confirm them with the Board before counting on a waiver.

Endorsement approval is also the only route around the Written State Board Examination, and it is a Board decision rather than an automatic agreement.

How many continuing education hours does Arkansas require to renew a veterinary license?

Active-status renewal requires 20 hours of continuing education earned during the 12 months preceding the renewal period (April 1–March 31).

All veterinary licenses expire March 31 each year, and CE is waived for the renewal period in which a veterinarian graduated from veterinary college.

Renewing on an inactive status requires no CE.

Topic rules and pre-approval details live in the Board's continuing-education rule — confirm specifics with the Arkansas Board of Animal Health.

Is there a temporary permit so I can practice before I'm licensed in Arkansas?

Yes — for exam-pending applicants.

Checking yes to the Temporary Permit on the application and paying an additional $50 fee lets an applicant practice in Arkansas before taking the written state board examination.

The pages read don't show a separate short-term permit for a veterinarian already licensed in another jurisdiction doing relief stints, so plan on full licensure or endorsement for that kind of work.

Confirm current permit terms with the Arkansas Board of Animal Health.

Has Arkansas joined an interstate veterinary licensing compact?

No. As of September 2026, no interstate veterinary licensure compact is operational anywhere in the U.S. — none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes, or administrative codes reference joining or enacting one, Arkansas included.

A veterinarian relocating to Arkansas pursues licensure by endorsement under Section 17-101-303, which still requires the Board's approval.

Check the Arkansas Board of Animal Health's Veterinary Licensing Portal for the current process.

Find Veterinarian Jobs in Arkansas
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Arkansas & Veterinarian Resources

Sourced from Arkansas’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Arkansas Board of Animal Health.