Employer guide · Starting, buying and running a practice

Which Veterinary Hospital Groups Are Owned by Private Equity?

A dated reference table of the major US veterinary hospital groups, the owners and backers behind them, and how to verify the rest.

Founder, VeterinaryHires
October 22, 2026

The major US veterinary hospital groups answer to a short list of owners.

Mars, Incorporated owns VCA and Banfield.

JAB Consumer Partners was the parent of National Veterinary Associates and Compassion-First Pet Hospitals as of the FTC's 2022 orders, and Thrive names TSG Consumer Partners as its equity sponsor.

For PetVet, AmeriVet, Mission Pet Health, Southern Veterinary Partners and United Veterinary Care, no owner or backer was verified from a company, SEC or FTC source — this tracker marks them "not disclosed" rather than repeating industry guesses.

Rules vary by state and change

This guide explains federal rules and the state rules it names, as of the date above.

Employment law and veterinary practice rules differ by state and are revised often, so confirm current requirements with your state veterinary board, labor agency or employment counsel before you act on them.

It is general information, not legal advice.

Strategic owners vs private equity: the two kinds of buyers

Two kinds of buyer keep showing up at the top of this market.

A strategic owner runs hospitals inside its own operating business — Mars, Incorporated is the clearest example in the table below, with Banfield, which says it joined the Mars family of businesses in 2007, and VCA, which Mars acquired in 2017.

A private equity backer is an investment firm sitting above the operating group rather than running hospitals itself.

The clearest public records name the structure directly: the FTC's 2022 orders identify JAB Consumer Partners as the parent of National Veterinary Associates and Compassion-First Pet Hospitals, and Thrive Pet Healthcare's March 2025 financing announcement names TSG Consumer Partners as its equity sponsor.

What a private equity owner means for a practice — pay, staffing, how decisions travel — is its own question, and our private equity in vet med explainer covers it.

This page answers the narrower one: who owns whom, as of when.

Table of major US groups and their backers

Every owner below comes from the group's own site, an FTC order, or — where neither names a backer — a research pass that found nothing verifiable.

Counts are the groups' self-reported figures as read on October 22, 2026, unless a date is shown.

GroupOwner / backerSize, as the group states it
Banfield Pet HospitalMars, Incorporated (since 2007)More than 1,000 hospitals across the U.S. and Puerto Rico
VCAMars, Incorporated (acquired 2017)Founded 1986; 30,000+ associates
National Veterinary Associates (NVA)JAB Consumer Partners (per the FTC's 2022 orders)1,325 locations on its U.S./Canada locator — all location types, not a hospital count — and its site describes 140+ specialty and emergency hospitals through Ethos
Compassion-First Pet HospitalsJAB Consumer Partners (per the FTC's 2022 orders)—
Ethos Veterinary HealthJAB (acquired Ethos's parent in 2022)—
SAGE Veterinary PartnersJAB Consumer Partners (per the FTC's June 2022 order on the acquisition)—
Thrive Pet HealthcareTSG Consumer Partners (equity sponsor, per Thrive's March 2025 announcement)Over 360 veterinary hospitals (March 2025)
PetVet Care CentersNot disclosed400+ locations across 40 states
VEG ER for PetsNot stated in the sources cited hereOver 130 hospitals across the U.S. and Canada
AmeriVetNot disclosed213 clinics in 37 states
Mission Pet HealthNot disclosed—
Southern Veterinary PartnersNot disclosed—
United Veterinary Care (UVC)Named as the divestiture buyer in the FTC's 2022 JAB/SAGE order—

Read the fine print before quoting any of these.

NVA's 1,325 is a locator count of all location types, not a hospital count.

VEG's own page is inconsistent — one line says over 130 hospitals, another says more than 140 — so this table uses 130+.

The Mars Veterinary Health counts are worldwide, not U.S.-only — nearly 70,000 associates across 3,000 veterinary clinics worldwide, per the site's own description — and other Mars pages have carried different counts, so treat every figure here as a dated self-description.

Where an owner cell says Not disclosed — Mission Pet Health, Southern Veterinary Partners, PetVet and AmeriVet — no owner or backer for that group was verified from a company, SEC or FTC source during this research.

United Veterinary Care's backer was not verified either: the FTC record names it as the divestiture buyer in the JAB/SAGE order and nothing more about its ownership.

We have left those cells marked rather than filling them with a name circulating in the industry without a source.

VEG is marked separately because the sources cited on this page simply do not state an owner for it.

Recent acquisitions and recapitalisations

Acquisitions are where group ownership becomes public record: each of the three orders below names a parent, a price and — where competition was the concern — the divestitures required to close.

Together they explain most of the structure in the table above:

  • 2017 — Mars/VCA. The FTC required Mars to divest 12 specialty and emergency clinics as a condition of its $9.1 billion acquisition of VCA Inc. The same order required financial incentives for key employees at divested clinics to stay, and barred Mars for a year from contracting with specialists affiliated with a divested clinic.
  • June 2022 — JAB/SAGE. The FTC required JAB Consumer Partners to divest clinics in California and Texas as a condition of its $1.1 billion acquisition of SAGE Veterinary Partners, and to get the FTC's prior approval before acquiring a specialty or emergency veterinary clinic within 25 miles of a JAB-owned clinic in those states. The divestiture buyer was United Veterinary Care, LLC — which the same order also requires to obtain the FTC's prior approval.
  • October 2022 — JAB/Ethos. The FTC finalized its order on JAB's $1.65 billion acquisition of the parent company of Ethos, requiring divestitures in Richmond, Virginia; Denver; San Francisco; and the Washington, D.C. area.

Not every ownership event is a sale to a new backer.

In March 2025, Thrive Pet Healthcare announced new financing supported by 100% of its existing lenders and its equity sponsor, TSG Consumer Partners — the same announcement in which it described itself as owner-operator of over 360 veterinary hospitals.

A refinancing changes no logo, but it is a reminder that the owner of record and the brand on the door are different questions.

How to tell who owns a hospital

Start from the assumption that the brand proves little.

Some groups in the table above are themselves consumer brands — Banfield, VCA, VEG — while others are holding-platform names a hospital's sign may not carry.

Treat the logo as a starting point, not the answer.

The check we would run, in order:

  • Read the group's own pages. The groups that name an owner do it themselves: Banfield's about page says it joined the Mars family of businesses in 2007, and Thrive's March 2025 financing announcement names TSG Consumer Partners.
  • Search the FTC's press room for the big deals. The 2017 Mars/VCA order and the two 2022 JAB orders name the parents — and, where a deal was conditioned, the divestiture buyers. United Veterinary Care entered the public record exactly that way.
  • Look at the entity on your paperwork. Offer letters and pay stubs name the legal employer — the structure that actually employs you — rather than the brand.
  • Ask. A candidate can ask who owns the practice and how decisions are made; an owner fielding a buyer's approach can ask the same questions back and put the answers in the deal documents.

And date whatever you find.

Company sites change their own counts without notice — VEG's page currently carries two different hospital totals — and an owner named in a 2022 FTC order may not be the owner by the time you read this.

The table above is a snapshot of October 22, 2026, which is exactly how a page like this should be read.

What it means if you work there

For the practice's legal frame, ownership changes less than you might expect.

Who may hold equity in a veterinary practice is state law: a VeterinaryHires statute-by-statute read of all 51 jurisdictions (50 states plus DC) found nine restrict who may hold equity in a veterinary practice, four permit lay ownership but bar lay control of clinical judgment, and fourteen permit it behind a facility permit with a named responsible veterinarian.

Any buyer — group or individual — has to work within those rules state by state; our guide to practice ownership, state by state covers the picture.

For your day-to-day employment, the useful questions are the ordinary ones: which entity is your legal employer, how pay is set and raised, and what the covenants in your agreement actually restrict.

Those belong to their own guides — start from the veterinarian salary guide or the vet tech salary guide for pay, and from the non-compete series for post-employment restrictions.

When hospitals change hands inside a group, deal terms can reach staff directly.

The FTC's Mars/VCA order required financial incentives for key employees at divested clinics to stay, and barred Mars for a year from contracting with specialists affiliated with a divested clinic — so if your hospital is ever on the divested side of a deal, read the order itself, not just the buyer's announcement.

If you run an independent practice and the groups on this page are your competition for hires, the productive question is how you compare on what candidates actually weigh.

Our corporate vs private practice guide lays out the trade-offs from both sides of that comparison.

Before you repeat — or act on — an ownership claim

  • Check the source type: the company's own site, an FTC order, or an SEC filing. Anything else is a lead, not a record.
  • Date the figure. Every count in the table above was read on October 22, 2026; Thrive's is from March 2025.
  • Mind the fine print: locator counts are not hospital counts, and worldwide figures are not U.S. counts.
  • If a group's owner cannot be verified, say "not disclosed" — do not pass along an industry name.
  • If you are weighing an approach from a group, start from the selling-a-practice guide rather than the buyer's marketing.

Questions employers ask

Is Banfield owned by Mars?

Yes.

Banfield says it joined the Mars, Incorporated family of businesses in 2007 and counts more than 1,000 hospitals across the U.S. and Puerto Rico.

Mars also owns VCA, which it acquired in 2017 — a deal the FTC conditioned on divesting 12 specialty and emergency clinics.

Who owns National Veterinary Associates (NVA)?

As of the FTC's 2022 orders, JAB Consumer Partners was the parent of both National Veterinary Associates and Compassion-First Pet Hospitals.

That is the most recent authoritative record this page's research found, and it is now several years old — ownership can change without a new FTC order — so check the group's own site for its current description.

Is Veterinary Emergency Group (VEG) owned by private equity?

We do not name one, because no owner for VEG was verifiable from the sources this page cites.

Its own about page — the source we do cite — puts the group at over 130 hospitals across the U.S. and Canada.

Treat any ownership claim about VEG that arrives without a primary source behind it as unconfirmed.

Which veterinary groups does Mars own?

On this page, the verified ones are Banfield (part of Mars since 2007) and VCA (acquired in 2017 for $9.1 billion).

Mars Veterinary Health describes itself as nearly 70,000 associates across 3,000 veterinary clinics worldwide — a worldwide figure, not U.S.-only — and other Mars pages have stated the counts differently.

Who owns Thrive Pet Healthcare?

Thrive's March 2025 financing announcement named TSG Consumer Partners as its equity sponsor and described Thrive as owner-operator of over 360 veterinary hospitals.

That announcement, not an FTC order, is the source — so date it accordingly and check Thrive's site before relying on it.

Why do FTC orders keep coming up in veterinary ownership?

Because the largest acquisition this page records, Mars/VCA in 2017, carried one, and both 2022 JAB acquisitions carried them.

The FTC required divestitures as conditions of Mars/VCA in 2017, JAB/SAGE in June 2022 and JAB/Ethos in October 2022, and the JAB/SAGE order added a prior-approval requirement for specialty and emergency acquisitions within 25 miles of a JAB clinic in California or Texas.

Those orders are also the clearest public record of who owns whom.

Sources

Hiring against the groups on this page?
If the groups on this page are competing with you for hires, post your opening on VeterinaryHires and put it in front of veterinary professionals looking for their next role — a job board built only for veterinary medicine.

More hiring resources