The Academy of Veterinary Surgical Technicians (AVST) awards the VTS (Surgery), and NAVTA lists it among the fully recognized academies.
The requirement to plan around first is the experience floor: 10,000 hours of work experience after becoming a credentialed veterinary technician or nurse, with at least 6,000 of those hours in a clinical role focused on veterinary surgery.
Around that floor sit a case log kept to a fixed calendar year, 4 case reports, and 40 hours of continuing education, all submitted before a candidate can sit the exam.
Credential
VTS (Surgery)
NAVTA recognition
Full
Tracks
One
Confirm every requirement with the academy
The Academy of Veterinary Surgical Technicians (AVST) awards VTS (Surgery).
NAVTA recognition: full. NAVTA’s list places it under “The following Academies have met the NAVTA CVTS requirements for full recognition.”
NAVTA’s description: “AVST encourages experienced surgical technicians to enhance their education and training by pursuing a surgical specialty. AVST provides a standardized route through which technicians may qualify for a national examination to become a VTS (Surgery).”
Credential required
Applicants must be legally credentialed to practice as a veterinary technician in a US state/territory or a province of another country.
“Be legally credentialed to practice as a veterinary technician in a state or territory of the United States or province of another country.”
Academy of Veterinary Surgical Technicians Bylaws (Adopted 12/28/2008, amended through 6/6/2026)Experience
Applicants need a minimum of 10,000 work experience hours (about 5 years full-time) after becoming a credentialed veterinary technician or nurse.
“The Applicant must complete a minimum of 10,000 work experience hours (equivalent to 5 years of full-time employment) after becoming a Credentialed Veterinary Technician or Veterinary Nurse.”
Academy of Veterinary Surgical Technicians Bylaws (Adopted 12/28/2008, amended through 6/6/2026)Experience
Within the 5 years before applying, at least 3 years (minimum 6,000 hours) of that experience must be in a clinical surgery role, and at least 4,500 of those hours must be strictly surgical duties.
“five (5) years prior to the beginning of the application period (January 1), the applicant’s work experience must include at least 3 years (minimum of 6,000 hours) in a clinical role focused on the field of veterinary surgery. C. At least 4,500 hours of the submitted work experience completed while in the clinical role focused on the field of veterinary surgery must be strictly related to veterinary surgical duties as defined below.”
Academy of Veterinary Surgical Technicians Bylaws (Adopted 12/28/2008, amended through 6/6/2026)Case log
A case log must be kept for the year immediately before the application deadline, with a minimum of 50 cases recorded.
“A case log must be maintained between January 1 and December 31 of the year immediately prior to the application submission deadline. A minimum of fifty cases must be recorded with relevant details documented for each case.”
Academy of Veterinary Surgical Technicians Bylaws (Adopted 12/28/2008, amended through 6/6/2026)Case reports
Four in-depth case reports selected from the case log are required, showing mastery of advanced surgical nursing skills.
“Four in-depth case reports selected from the case log demonstrating expertise in the nursing management of a variety of veterinary surgical patients and procedures and highlighting an array of advanced surgery related skills.”
Academy of Veterinary Surgical Technicians Bylaws (Adopted 12/28/2008, amended through 6/6/2026)Continuing education
A minimum of 40 hours of continuing education tied to the AVST Advanced Surgical Skills form must be completed within the 5 years before submission.
“A minimum of 40 hours of continuing education (CE) related to the Academy of Veterinary Surgical Technician Advanced Surgical Skills form must be completed within the immediate five (5) years prior to submission.”
Academy of Veterinary Surgical Technicians Bylaws (Adopted 12/28/2008, amended through 6/6/2026)Letters of recommendation
Two letters of recommendation are required from writers who meet the qualifications in the current application instructions.
“Two letters of recommendation are required. Letter writers must be qualified as listed in the current application instructions.”
Academy of Veterinary Surgical Technicians Bylaws (Adopted 12/28/2008, amended through 6/6/2026)Exam
Candidates get a maximum of 3 attempts across 3 consecutive years to pass the exam without resubmitting the application.
“An applicant is allotted a maximum of three (3) times in three (3) consecutive years to successfully pass the examination without resubmission of the application.”
Academy of Veterinary Surgical Technicians Bylaws (Adopted 12/28/2008, amended through 6/6/2026)Recertification
VTS (Surgery) certification is maintained by either meeting the continuing education requirements set forth by the Recertification Committee or retaking the VTS (Surgery) certifying examination.
“Maintenance of certification may be obtained through one of two (2) ways. 1. Meeting the continuing education requirements set forth by the Recertification Committee. 2. Retaking of the VTS (Surgery) certifying examination.”
Academy of Veterinary Surgical Technicians Bylaws (Adopted 12/28/2008, amended through 6/6/2026)Each requirement is summarised from AVST’s own published pages, as retrieved on the dates listed under Sources. Open “the academy’s wording” for the exact text and its source.
NAVTA's description frames the audience: AVST encourages experienced surgical technicians to enhance their education and training by pursuing a surgical specialty, and provides a standardized route through which technicians may qualify for a national examination to become a VTS (Surgery).
The academy's application page states the goal in clinical terms — to assure the veterinary profession and the public that an AVST certified technician possesses the knowledge, skills and experience needed to practice surgical nursing at an advanced level of competency.
The requirements carry that framing through: the experience rule distinguishes hours strictly related to veterinary surgical duties from the broader clinical role around them, and the case entries are expected to reflect advanced knowledge of the management of surgical patients and procedures.
Eligibility starts with the credential itself: applicants must be legally credentialed to practice as a veterinary technician in a US state or territory, or a province of another country.
The experience floor then has three layers that nest inside each other.
The base is a minimum of 10,000 hours of work experience, which AVST equates to 5 years of full-time employment, completed after becoming a credentialed veterinary technician or veterinary nurse.
Inside the immediate 5 years prior to the beginning of the application period, which begins on January 1, at least 3 years, a minimum of 6,000 hours, must be in a clinical role focused on the field of veterinary surgery.
And at least 4,500 hours of the submitted work experience must be strictly related to veterinary surgical duties.
The recency window is what catches planners: hours from early in a career can fill the 10,000-hour total, but the 6,000-hour surgery floor is measured against the 5-year look-back that ends where the application period begins.
The case log anchors the calendar: it must be maintained between January 1 and December 31 of the year immediately prior to the application submission deadline, with a minimum of 50 cases recorded and relevant details documented for each case, and entries that reflect advanced knowledge of the management of surgical patients and procedures.
From that log come 4 in-depth case reports, selected to demonstrate expertise in the nursing management of a variety of veterinary surgical patients and procedures and to highlight an array of advanced surgery related skills.
Alongside them: a minimum of 40 hours of continuing education related to the AVST Advanced Surgical Skills form, completed within the immediate 5 years prior to submission, and 2 letters of recommendation whose writers must be qualified as listed in the current application instructions.
Because the log's window is fixed to the calendar year before the deadline, the log year is a commitment you schedule, not one you backfill.
The exam is the gate after the packet, and the attempt rule deserves a close read: an applicant is allotted a maximum of 3 times in 3 consecutive years to successfully pass the examination without resubmission of the application.
The 3 attempts belong to one application, so a candidate who moves past them is back to assembling a new one.
Once the examination is passed, VTS (Surgery) certification is granted for a period of 5 years.
Maintenance of certification may then be obtained through one of 2 ways: meeting the continuing education requirements set forth by the Recertification Committee, or retaking the VTS (Surgery) certifying examination.
The recertification routes are therefore part of the original decision, not a detail for later — the credential carries a built-in cycle from the day the examination is passed.
Two points are worth closing with the academy before you plan around them.
The maintenance route through continuing education defers its details to the Recertification Committee: the bylaws text obtained for this page does not state the maintenance CE hour count as a fixed number, so ask what the committee currently requires before building a 5-year plan around CE.
Second, the requirements above come from the academy's bylaws, adopted on December 28, 2008 and amended through June 6, 2026, while each application cycle is governed by the current application instructions the academy posts for it.
The maintenance hour count is committee-set and the document behind these figures has been amended several times, so confirm both against the instructions for your cycle.
Pay by VTS specialty
AVST requires a minimum of 10,000 work experience hours, equated to 5 years of full-time employment, completed after becoming a credentialed veterinary technician or veterinary nurse.
Within the immediate 5 years before the application period begins on January 1, at least 3 years, a minimum of 6,000 hours, must be in a clinical role focused on the field of veterinary surgery, and at least 4,500 hours of the submitted experience must be strictly related to veterinary surgical duties.
The case log must be maintained between January 1 and December 31 of the year immediately prior to the application submission deadline, with a minimum of 50 cases recorded and relevant details documented for each case.
The window is fixed to the calendar year before the deadline, so the logging year is scheduled around your application cycle rather than accumulated over time.
Your 4 case reports are then selected from that same log.
An applicant is allotted a maximum of 3 times in 3 consecutive years to pass the examination without resubmission of the application.
The 3 attempts run against the same application, without resubmitting it, and the bylaws' Exam Committee determines what documentation a re-examination requires.
A candidate who has not passed within those 3 attempts is back to resubmitting, so plan to enter the first sitting over-prepared rather than counting on the retakes.
VTS (Surgery) certification is granted for a period of 5 years.
Maintenance may then be obtained through one of 2 ways: meeting the continuing education requirements set forth by the Recertification Committee, or retaking the VTS (Surgery) certifying examination.
The bylaws text obtained for this page does not state the maintenance CE hour count as a fixed number — the Recertification Committee sets it — so confirm the current CE requirement with the academy before planning your maintenance cycle around it.
Sources
Academy list: NAVTA, retrieved 2026-09-23. Page last updated 2026-09-23.