Wyoming has no state credential for veterinary technicians.
The CVT on job ads is a private designation of the Wyoming Veterinary Technician Association, earned through an AVMA-accredited program and the VTNE, and the statute expressly exempts veterinary aides and other employees of a licensed veterinarian from licensure for supervised auxiliary work.
The only state-issued technician-style certificate covers animal euthanasia technicians.
A licensure bill petitioned in May 2025 had not been enacted as of the sources read.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
No general state technician credential exists. Wyoming licenses veterinarians and issues one narrow, separate certificate — animal euthanasia technician, W.S. 33-30-223 to -225 — while the CVT on job ads is the private designation of the Wyoming Veterinary Technician Association (WyVTA).
None — there is no state credential to hold. W.S. 33-30-203(a)(ix) expressly exempts any veterinary aide, nurse, laboratory technician, intern, or other employee of a licensed veterinarian from licensure for auxiliary or supporting assistance under the veterinarian's responsible supervision.
For the private WyVTA CVT: an AVMA-accredited veterinary technician program, per the association's own letter to the legislature. No state education route exists, because the state issues no credential.
The VTNE, for the private WyVTA CVT only — the association's letter names the national board examination. The state sets no exam, because it issues no credential.
No state CE and no state renewal — there is no state credential. The WyVTA letter says each CVT must meet minimum biennial continuing-education requirements; the association's exact hour figure was never confirmed from a page read directly, so it is Not stated in the sources read.
No state application or renewal fee exists for veterinary technicians — the state issues no credential. The sources read do not state the private WyVTA certification fee.
The sources read record no Wyoming statute reserving technician titles or penalizing uncredentialed use of the letters. The only related state mandate is the separate animal euthanasia technician permit (W.S. 33-30-223(a)) — a different occupation from a veterinary technician.
Wyoming Veterinary Technician Association (WyVTA)
NAVTA's national title-protection categories are a secondary snapshot and were already stale for at least nine states when this series was researched — what appears above for Wyoming is that jurisdiction's own statute and board rule as read in September 2026, not a category label.
Wyoming's practice act issues exactly two credentials this page could be about, and neither is a general technician credential: the license to practice veterinary medicine, and the animal euthanasia technician certificate at W.S. 33-30-223 to -225 — a person employed or sponsored by a law enforcement agency whose duties include euthanizing unwanted, sick, injured or dangerous domestic animals.
That certificate is a narrower, separate occupation, and the research behind this page treats it as distinct from the veterinary technician question.
The CVT on Wyoming job ads is therefore not a state credential at all but the private designation of the Wyoming Veterinary Technician Association (WyVTA).
There is no state registry an employer can check a technician against, because the state keeps no technician list.
There is no credential to hold, so the question dissolves rather than resolving one way or the other.
The practice act's license requirement is aimed at practicing veterinary medicine: no person may practice who is not a licensed veterinarian or the holder of a valid temporary permit issued by the board.
The staff who work around that license appear in the act exactly once, as the exemption quoted below — veterinary aides, nurses, laboratory technicians, interns and other employees of a licensed veterinarian may administer medication and render auxiliary or supporting assistance under the veterinarian's responsible supervision without any licensure.
For an uncredentialed assistant, that exemption is the legal footing to work in a Wyoming practice today; for a credentialed technician relocating, nothing in the sources read requires holding any credential to keep working.
Which tasks a supervising veterinarian may delegate is a scope-of-practice question governed by separate provisions, and is not covered here.
“Any veterinary aide, nurse, laboratory technician, intern, or other employee of a licensed veterinarian from administering medication or rendering auxiliary or supporting assistance under the responsible supervision of such practicing veterinarian;”
The only education route that leads to letters in Wyoming runs through the association, not the state: the WyVTA's letter to the legislature states that each CVT completes an AVMA-accredited veterinary technician program and passes a national board examination.
There is no state education route, because there is no state credential, and no on-the-job alternative appears in the sources read for the private designation either.
For a student choosing a program, that makes AVMA accreditation the property the association's credential actually recognizes.
Because these are association terms rather than law, they can change with the association's policies, so confirm current requirements with the WyVTA before enrolling.
The only examination attached to any Wyoming technician credential is the VTNE, and it attaches through the WyVTA: the association's letter names the national board examination as part of what every CVT completes.
Who does what matters here — AAVSB administers the VTNE but credentials nobody, and the association is the party evaluating the score and issuing the CVT.
There is no state examination and no jurisprudence test, because there is no state credential for one to attach to.
A technician who already passed the VTNE for a credential in another state has the score the association asks for, though the sources read do not describe a transfer process — ask the WyVTA.
There is no state continuing-education requirement and no state renewal, because there is no state credential to keep current.
The requirement that does exist belongs to the association: the WyVTA's letter says each CVT must meet minimum biennial continuing-education requirements to maintain the credential.
The exact number of hours is the one figure in this page's sources the research could not confirm — the association's certification page returned only an empty stub when the research was gathered, and the figure circulating for it came from a search summary rather than a page anyone read directly — so this page states no hour count.
Treat the association's CE terms as real but unverifiable from here: keep your certificates and confirm the current cycle with the WyVTA.
“In order to maintain their credentials, each CVT must meet minimum biennial continuing education requirements.”
The sources read record no Wyoming statute reserving veterinary technician titles to credentialed people, and none penalizing uncredentialed use of the CVT letters — the practice act's technician language is the exemption itself, not a restriction.
What the state does police is narrower and aimed elsewhere: practicing veterinary medicine without a veterinarian's license or temporary permit under W.S. 33-30-203(a), and the euthanasia-permit mandate quoted below.
The euthanasia certificate is the one place the chapter uses mandatory credential language, but it governs law-enforcement-sponsored euthanasia work, a different job from a veterinary technician.
For a practice, the compliance line in Wyoming is practicing without a veterinarian license, not who may be called a tech.
Confirm any specific job-title question with the Wyoming Board of Veterinary Medicine.
“No person shall practice as an animal euthanasia technician unless a permit is obtained as provided in W.S. 33-30-224.”
In 2025, the Wyoming Veterinary Medical Association asked the legislature's Joint Agriculture, State and Public Lands and Water Resources Interim Committee to create Licensed Veterinary Technician licensure with a Veterinary Assistant tier for unlicensed staff, and the Wyoming Veterinary Technician Association wrote in support with membership-survey results — both letters dated May 23, 2025.
The petition is explicit that the proposal would not require practices to change how they hire — the sentence quoted below is the letter's own framing.
Its supporting materials describe a transition route: until June 30, 2029, licensure could be obtained with 10,000 hours of work experience plus a national examination, or 20,000 hours alone, alongside a reciprocity option for technicians already licensed elsewhere.
None of it is law yet — the statute re-read on 2026-09-16 found no veterinary-technician chapter in current W.S. 33-30.
This page did not track the measure after the May 2025 materials — no bill tracker was searched — so whether the proposal is still alive is not stated in the sources read; the answer changes if licensure is enacted.
“Importantly, hiring licensed veterinary technicians will not be mandatory for individual practices.”
This page summarizes Wyoming’s own statute and board rule on CREDENTIALING, as read for this series and current as of September 2026. It does not cover scope of practice — which tasks a credentialed technician may legally perform, and under what level of supervision — which is governed by separate rules and is a different question from how you obtain the credential.
It also does not list application forms, background-check steps or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Wyoming Veterinary Technician Association (WyVTA)’s own application instructions. Education routes, accepted exams and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Wyoming Veterinary Technician Association (WyVTA) before you enroll in a program or submit an application.
No — Wyoming has no state credential for veterinary technicians, so there is nothing to hold.
The statute expressly exempts any veterinary aide, nurse, laboratory technician, intern, or other employee of a licensed veterinarian from licensure for administering medication or rendering auxiliary or supporting assistance under the veterinarian's responsible supervision (W.S. 33-30-203(a)(ix)).
Which tasks you may be delegated is a separate scope-of-practice question.
Confirm your situation with the Wyoming Board of Veterinary Medicine before relying on this.
In Wyoming, CVT stands for the Certified Veterinary Technician designation of the Wyoming Veterinary Technician Association (WyVTA) — a private association credential, not a state license.
Per the association's 2025 letter to the legislature, each CVT completes an AVMA-accredited veterinary technician program and passes the VTNE.
Because it is private, the letters signal verified training rather than a legal qualification.
Ask the WyVTA about a specific posting.
Through the association, not the state: complete an AVMA-accredited veterinary technician program, pass the Veterinary Technician National Examination, and certify with the Wyoming Veterinary Technician Association.
Maintaining the credential takes a minimum biennial continuing-education requirement under the association's terms.
The sources read did not capture the association's fee schedule, so ask the WyVTA for current fees and requirements before applying.
Not at the state level — Wyoming has no state technician credential, so there is no state-mandated CE and no state renewal.
The continuing-education requirement that does exist belongs to the WyVTA: its letter says each CVT must meet minimum biennial continuing-education requirements to maintain the credential.
The exact hour figure was not confirmed from a page the research read directly, so verify the current number with the WyVTA.
Possibly, but not yet.
In a May 23, 2025 letter to the legislature's Joint Agriculture, State and Public Lands and Water Resources Interim Committee, the Wyoming Veterinary Medical Association petitioned for Licensed Veterinary Technician licensure with a Veterinary Assistant tier, stating that hiring licensed technicians would not be mandatory for practices.
As of the sources read — the statute re-read on 2026-09-16 — it had not been enacted.
Watch the Wyoming Board of Veterinary Medicine and the legislature for movement.
Sourced from Wyoming’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Wyoming Veterinary Technician Association (WyVTA).