Virginia licenses veterinary technicians through the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine.
The standard route is a degree from an AVMA- or CVMA-accredited program plus the VTNE, with scores sent through AAVSB; technicians licensed in another US jurisdiction can qualify by endorsement on recent clinical practice, and applicants who cannot document it pursue licensure by examination.
The research row pairs the license with the Licensed Veterinary Technician designation, a wording the Board's own page does not use; whether the license is required to work is not settled on the sources read.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
A license to practice veterinary technology issued by the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine, part of the Department of Health Professions — which the research row pairs with the Licensed Veterinary Technician (LVT) designation.
The research row records licensure as required to use the Licensed Veterinary Technician designation, while the exact statute language on whether employment as a technician requires the license was not quoted from the page read — this page leaves the mandatory-to-work question unsettled.
Two routes: licensure by examination (a degree from an AVMA- or CVMA-accredited veterinary technology program), or endorsement for technicians holding a current unrestricted credential from a regulatory entity in another US jurisdiction, with clinical practice in at least two of the past four years and 16 hours of CE in the preceding four.
The VTNE, with scores released to Virginia through AAVSB; endorsement can substitute national exam scores for the program transcript, and one application route takes a graduate licensed elsewhere who has not passed the VTNE. No Virginia-specific jurisprudence exam was found on the page read.
Endorsement requires at least 16 CE hours in the preceding four years; reinstatement after a lapse costs hours equal to the years expired — 8 per year, capped at two — under Code of Virginia § 54.1-3805.2 and 18VAC-150-20-70. The routine renewal CE figure was not stated in the sources read.
Not stated in the sources read.
The research row pairs the credential with the Licensed Veterinary Technician (LVT) designation and reads licensure as required to use it, but the Board's own page never uses the term and the sources read quote no penalty provision; NAVTA's 2022 tables are internally inconsistent for Virginia (an artifact briefly listed its general and limited categories at once; the cleaner listing: no protection, but regulated).
Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine (Dept. of Health Professions)
NAVTA's national title-protection categories are a secondary snapshot and were already stale for at least nine states when this series was researched — what appears above for Virginia is that jurisdiction's own statute and board rule as read in September 2026, not a category label.
Virginia's credential is a license to practice veterinary technology issued by the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine, part of the state's Department of Health Professions.
The Board's own application page never uses the term Licensed Veterinary Technician — its wording throughout is a license to practice veterinary technology, which its reinstatement and reactivation paths both exist to restore.
The LVT letters come from this series' research, which pairs the credential with the Licensed Veterinary Technician (LVT) designation; when a Virginia listing asks for an LVT, that pairing is what maps the letters to this board-issued license.
One naming detail worth knowing before you enroll anywhere: the application wizard describes qualifying programs as "veterinary technology or veterinary nurse program," so under the Board's own wording an accredited veterinary nurse program sits on the same side of the education test.
The honest answer is that the sources read narrow the question without settling it.
The research row records licensure as required to use the Licensed Veterinary Technician designation, but states that the exact statute language on whether employment as a technician requires the license was not quoted from the page read — so this page cannot tell an uncredentialed assistant they are safe, or a relocating technician they are required, to hold the license.
What the board's own materials do show is a credential built around practice: the application wizard exists to issue a license to practice veterinary technology, and the board maintains reinstatement and reactivation paths specifically so lapsed and inactive licensees can return to practice.
Which tasks an assistant may lawfully perform without the credential is a scope-of-practice question governed by separate rules, and is not covered here.
The standard route is licensure by examination: an official transcript from a school of veterinary technology accredited by the AVMA or CVMA conferring a degree, plus VTNE scores released to Virginia by AAVSB.
The second route, endorsement, is for technicians already credentialed in another US jurisdiction, and its requirements are specific — a current unrestricted regulatory credential, written documentation of regular clinical practice as a licensed, certified or registered technician for at least two of the past four years, and at least 16 hours of continuing education in the preceding four years, with the practice documentable on the Board's optional Employment Verification Form, on company letterhead, or through tax returns reflecting the occupation.
The board's wizard shows endorsement bending in both directions: one option covers a nongraduate who passed the VTNE, another a graduate who has not — but the out-of-state regulatory credential and the practice documentation are fixed, and a certification from a veterinary technology association alone is explicitly not accepted.
An applicant who cannot document the two-of-four-years practice is directed back to licensure by examination instead.
“To qualify you are required to hold a current unrestricted license, certification or registration issued by a regulatory entity in another jurisdiction of the U.S. A certification by a veterinary technology association is not accepted.”
Examination scores reach Virginia only through AAVSB: the board asks applicants to contact AAVSB to release VTNE scores, with one convenience carve-out — if you took the VTNE in Virginia and it is less than a year old, no score-transfer request is required.
AAVSB owns and administers the VTNE, but it credentials no one; the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine issues the license.
How heavily the exam weighs depends on the route: it is unavoidable on the examination pathway, it can substitute for a missing accredited-program transcript on endorsement, and an endorsed graduate already licensed elsewhere who has not passed it can qualify without it.
No Virginia-specific jurisprudence or state law exam was found on the page read, so plan around the VTNE alone and confirm the current exam stack with the Board.
“Examination scores – Contact American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) to release VTNE scores to Virginia.”
Neither CE figure on the page read is the routine renewal requirement, and mixing them up is the trap here.
Endorsement applicants document at least 16 hours of continuing education during the preceding four years — an entry qualification, not an ongoing cycle.
Reinstatement applies once a license has gone unrenewed past one year after its expiration date, and its CE bill is set by § 54.1-3805.2 of the Code of Virginia and 18VAC-150-20-70 of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine: hours equal to the number of years the license has been expired, at 8 hours per year, with a maximum of two years.
The page read states no renewal-cycle CE figure and no renewal period length, so verify both with the Board before budgeting.
For a license already on Current Inactive status, the Board maintains a separate reactivation application as the way back to practice.
“When a license has not been renewed within one year of the expiration date, a person may apply to reinstate their license by submission of a reinstatement application.”
The claim that the Licensed Veterinary Technician designation is tied to licensure comes from the research row's reading, not from the Board's page: the row records licensure as required to use the designation, while the Board's own application page never uses the term and speaks only of a license to practice veterinary technology.
No statute or penalty provision for uncredentialed title use appears in the sources read, so this page can describe no fine, misdemeanor or other enforcement consequence for Virginia.
The national picture is unresolved too: NAVTA's 2022 survey tables are internally inconsistent about Virginia — one table's extraction artifact briefly listed Virginia under both its general and limited protection categories at once, while the cleaner Table 3 listing places Virginia in the no-protection-but-regulated group — and the row asks that the discrepancy be flagged rather than resolved.
Whether anything in Virginia law actually enforces the LVT letters is a question for the Board or the statute, not for this page's sources.
Virginia separates two return paths.
Reinstatement is for a license that has passed its expiration date by more than a year, and it is a paper process — the board's reinstatement and reactivation applications are mailed to the board's Henrico address rather than submitted through the online wizard, alongside an application and reinstatement fee whose amount the page read does not post.
The examination, endorsement and reinstatement paths all demand license history: verification of any veterinary technology license, certification or registration ever held in another US jurisdiction, including expired ones, and for reinstatement the board's staff will obtain verifications from states offering online primary-source verification that includes disciplinary history.
For a technician who has moved around, licenses you let lapse years ago still follow the application.
“Copies/faxes of licensure verifications or licenses are not accepted.”
This page summarizes Virginia’s own statute and board rule on CREDENTIALING, as read for this series and current as of September 2026. It does not cover scope of practice — which tasks a credentialed technician may legally perform, and under what level of supervision — which is governed by separate rules and is a different question from how you obtain the credential.
It also does not list application forms, background-check steps or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine (Dept. of Health Professions)’s own application instructions. Education routes, accepted exams and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine (Dept. of Health Professions) before you enroll in a program or submit an application.
The sources read for this page narrow the question without settling it.
The research row records licensure as required to use the Licensed Veterinary Technician designation, while the statute language on whether employment itself requires the license was not quoted from the page read.
The board's own wizard issues a license to practice veterinary technology, and reinstatement exists to restore exactly that.
Ask the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine before working unlicensed.
Yes, through endorsement — if you hold a current unrestricted license, certification or registration issued by a regulatory entity in another US jurisdiction.
The board's wizard shows two variants: a nongraduate who passed the VTNE with active practice in two of the past four years, or a graduate who has not passed the VTNE with the same practice record.
At least 16 hours of CE in the preceding four years also apply, and a veterinary technology association's certification alone is not accepted.
Confirm your situation with the Board.
The page read carries no routine renewal CE figure, so ask the Board for the current cycle requirement.
What it does state: endorsement applicants document at least 16 hours in the preceding four years, and reinstatement after a lapse of more than a year owes hours equal to the years expired — 8 per year, capped at two — under Code of Virginia § 54.1-3805.2 and 18VAC-150-20-70.
Treat those as entry and comeback rules, not the renewal standard.
None was found on the page read — the only exam it names is the VTNE, with scores released to Virginia through AAVSB.
Endorsement can even substitute national exam scores for the program transcript, and one route accepts an out-of-state-licensed graduate who has not passed the VTNE.
AAVSB administers the exam but issues no credential; the Virginia board does.
Confirm the current exam stack with the Board before you book anything.
No fee amount appears in the sources read.
The application page read here names an application and reinstatement fee only as part of the reinstatement packet and posts no figures for it or for the initial license, so this page repeats no number.
That gap reflects the sources, not a free credential.
The board's application wizard and its published fee schedule are the authority — contact the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine for current costs before you apply.
Sourced from Virginia’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine (Dept. of Health Professions).