Texas licenses veterinary technicians as Licensed Veterinary Technicians (LVTs) through the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, under a law effective September 1, 2014.
Licensure is optional in the Board's own words β but only license-holders may use the title.
The route is fixed: graduation from an AVMA-accredited program, the VTNE, then the Texas State Board Exam, and ten hours of continuing education every year thereafter.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
A Licensed Veterinary Technician (LVT) license issued by the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, which has licensed and regulated veterinary technicians under a law effective September 1, 2014.
Voluntary to obtain in the Board's own words β "licensure is optional" β but the LVT title itself is legally reserved: only individuals with an LVT license may use the title Licensed Veterinary Technician in Texas.
Graduation from an AVMA-accredited veterinary technician program β the Board's page states plainly that alternate routes are not accepted.
The Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) first, then the Texas State Board Exam (SBE); the research row reads the SBE as required before an applicant may practice under the LVT title.
Ten hours of acceptable continuing education every year under Rule 573.66, with caps by course format and certificates kept four years for audit; the renewal cycle itself is not stated on the page read.
Not stated in the sources read.
Only individuals with an LVT license may use the title Licensed Veterinary Technician in Texas; the research row records the general phrase veterinary technician as not restricted.
Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (TBVME)
NAVTA's national title-protection categories are a secondary snapshot and were already stale for at least nine states when this series was researched β what appears above for Texas is that jurisdiction's own statute and board rule as read in September 2026, not a category label.
Texas uses one name for this credential and sticks to it: Licensed Veterinary Technician, abbreviated LVT, issued by the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.
The Board frames its authority plainly β it licenses and regulates veterinary technicians under a law that took effect September 1, 2014 β so the LVT you see on a Texas job posting refers to this specific state license, not an association designation.
That matters when you compare listings: in Texas the letters are backed by a state credential with an education requirement, two exams and an annual CE obligation behind them.
βThe Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (TBVME) licenses and regulates veterinary technicians under a law passed by the 83rd Legislature, effective September 1, 2014.β
The Board's own page answers it, and the answer has two halves.
It says licensure is optional β the sources read for this page do not make holding the license a precondition of working as a technician β and what the law reserves is the title, which only license-holders may use.
The license does gate one thing outright: practicing under it.
An applicant must pass the State Board Exam and meet every eligibility requirement to practice, and practicing on an expired license violates state law, so once you hold an LVT the renewal clock is not optional at all.
What tasks an unlicensed assistant may perform in a Texas practice is a separate scope-of-practice question governed by other provisions, and is not covered here.
βPracticing with an expired license violates state law.β
Texas's education requirement is a single route stated in a single line: graduate from an AVMA-accredited veterinary technician program.
The page does not leave room around that line β it adds, in the same breath, that alternate routes are not accepted, which forecloses the experience-based pathways some applicants hope exist.
If you trained on the job in a practice, that background does not substitute for the program on this page.
Nor does the page read show an endorsement or reciprocity route for technicians already credentialed elsewhere, so a relocating LVT should plan to apply through this same route and confirm directly with the Board how their out-of-state credential is handled.
βGraduate from an AVMA-accredited Veterinary Technician program (alternate routes are not accepted).β
Texas stacks a state exam on top of the national one, and the order is a requirement, not a suggestion: applicants pass the Veterinary Technician National Exam before taking the Texas State Board Exam.
The research row reads the SBE as required before an applicant may practice under the LVT title, and the research file's second pass independently confirms the SBE as required rather than merely offered β so plan the sequence when you schedule.
For a candidate coming out of an accredited program, the practical implication is that passing the VTNE is not the finish line in Texas; budget study time and scheduling room for the state exam that follows before you can practice under the license.
βPass the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) before taking the Texas State Board Exam (SBE).β
The annual obligation is ten hours of acceptable CE, and the format caps are what trip people up: up to all ten hours may come from live, real-time or interactive courses, whether in person or online, but no more than four may come from non-interactive, pre-recorded or on-demand correspondence courses, no more than two from practice management, and no more than two from self-study.
Two rules reward planning ahead.
CE completed before licensure does not count toward renewal, so a new licensee's first cycle starts from licensure, not from coursework taken as a student.
And certificates must be kept four years for audit, so the record-keeping horizon outlasts any single year.
One gap to flag: the page read does not state the license renewal cycle itself, so confirm your renewal date with the Board rather than assuming it matches the CE year.
βFailure to meet CE requirements may result in disciplinary action. Refer to Rule 573.66 for details.β
The sentence to read twice is the Board's overview line: only individuals with an LVT license may use the title Licensed Veterinary Technician in Texas.
That makes the credential a naming gate even where it is not a working gate β a practice cannot put LVT after the name of an unlicensed employee, and a job seeker cannot claim the letters without the license.
The research row records the general phrase veterinary technician as not restricted, but the statute text behind either formulation was not among the sources read for this page, so the exact boundary of the reservation is worth confirming with the Board.
For practices, the safe reading of the sources read is that job titles and name badges are a compliance question, not a branding one.
βOnly individuals with an LVT license may use the title "Licensed Veterinary Technician" in Texas. While licensure is optional, it signifies a professional commitment to high standards in veterinary care.β
Every applicant has had to meet a fingerprinting requirement and submit fingerprints before licensure since October 1, 2018, so background clearance sits on the critical path of any application.
Applicants with a criminal history that might affect eligibility can request a pre-licensure evaluation before applying, which is worth doing early rather than after fees and coursework are committed.
Two things the page read does not state, and this page therefore will not guess at: any license or application fee amount, and the length of the renewal cycle.
Both are the kind of figure that changes, so take them from the Board directly.
βAs of October 1, 2018, all applicants must meet the fingerprinting requirement and submit fingerprints before licensure.β
This page summarizes Texasβs own statute and board rule on CREDENTIALING, as read for this series and current as of September 2026. It does not cover scope of practice β which tasks a credentialed technician may legally perform, and under what level of supervision β which is governed by separate rules and is a different question from how you obtain the credential.
It also does not list application forms, background-check steps or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (TBVME)βs own application instructions. Education routes, accepted exams and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (TBVME) before you enroll in a program or submit an application.
The Board's own page says licensure is optional while reserving the Licensed Veterinary Technician title to license-holders, and the sources read for this page do not make the license a precondition of technician work.
What the license clearly gates is practicing under it: an expired license violates state law.
What unlicensed staff may do is a separate scope question.
Confirm your situation with the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.
The title the Board reserves is Licensed Veterinary Technician β only license-holders may use it.
The research row records the general phrase veterinary technician as not restricted in Texas, but the statute behind that reading was not among the sources read, so treat any use of technician wording as a question rather than a given.
Job titles and badges are where practices get this wrong.
Ask the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners before relying on a title.
Ten hours of acceptable CE every year under Rule 573.66.
Up to all ten may be live, real-time or interactive courses, in person or online; no more than four may be pre-recorded or on-demand correspondence, no more than two practice management, and no more than two self-study.
Keep certificates four years for audit, and note CE completed before licensure does not count toward renewal.
The page read does not state the renewal cycle itself β confirm dates with the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.
Not on this route.
The Board's page requires graduation from an AVMA-accredited veterinary technician program and states in the same line that alternate routes are not accepted, so years of practice experience do not substitute for the program.
The page read also shows no endorsement or reciprocity pathway for technicians credentialed in another jurisdiction.
If you are relocating with an existing license, ask the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners how it is handled.
Two, in a fixed order: the Veterinary Technician National Exam first, then the Texas State Board Exam.
The research row reads the SBE as required before an applicant may practice under the LVT title, and the research file's second pass confirms the SBE as required rather than merely offered.
Fingerprinting must also be complete before licensure.
Build the state exam into your timeline, and confirm current exam arrangements with the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.
Sourced from Texasβs own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice β confirm current rules with the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (TBVME).