πŸͺͺ State credentialing

Veterinary Technician Requirements in Ohio

Founder, VeterinaryHires
Last verified September 2026

Ohio registers veterinary technicians as Registered Veterinary Technicians through the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board.

The Revised Code makes it unlawful to act as a registered veterinary technician without biennial registration, though the sources read do not settle how far that prohibition reaches.

An applicant documents graduation from a board-approved veterinary technology program or an AAVSB education-equivalence certificate, passes the VTNE at a 425 passing score, and clears a criminal records check.

Renewal is biennial each odd-numbered March with ten continuing-education hours.

Verify before you rely on this

This page explains credentialing mechanics only β€” what a state asks for to hold the credential, not whether you personally qualify, and not what tasks you may legally perform once you hold it. Scope of practice and supervision are governed separately. It is general information, not legal advice. Requirements change by statute and by board rule; verify current requirements directly with the state board before you rely on anything here. Veterinary Technicians in Ohio are regulated by the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board (OVMLB).

At a glance

Credential

Registered Veterinary Technician (RVT) β€” the board's rule defines it as a person who holds a registration certificate issued by the Ohio veterinary medical licensing board; Ohio registers technicians rather than licensing them.

Required to work, or only to use the title?

Not settled on the pages read: the statute makes it unlawful to act as a registered veterinary technician without biennial registration and the biennial fee (ORC Β§ 4741.19(C)), but whether Ohio bars an unregistered person from technician-type work without the credential is not answered by the sources this page was built from.

Education routes

Graduation from a board-approved veterinary technology program (shown by transcript), or a certificate of successful completion of the American Association of Veterinary State Boards program for the assessment of veterinary education equivalence for veterinary technicians; no on-the-job route appears in the rule.

Exams

The VTNE, with a passing score of four hundred twenty-five or a converted score of seventy-five; no separate state jurisprudence exam appears in the sources read.

CE & renewal

Ten continuing-education hours during the two years immediately preceding renewal; the registration itself expires biennially on March 1 of odd-numbered years, and new registrants are exempt from listing CE hours for their first biennium.

Fees

Thirty dollars for the initial registration and thirty dollars for the biennial renewal (ORC Β§ 4741.17(A)(8)-(9)); reactivating a lapsed registration carries a late fee not to exceed twenty-five dollars.

Title protection

ORC Β§ 4741.19(C) makes it unlawful to act as a registered veterinary technician without registration; whether the unadorned words veterinary technician are restricted to credential holders is not stated in the sources read.

Regulated by

Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board (OVMLB)

On national category labels

NAVTA's national title-protection categories are a secondary snapshot and were already stale for at least nine states when this series was researched β€” what appears above for Ohio is that jurisdiction's own statute and board rule as read in September 2026, not a category label.

What the credential is actually called

πŸ“œ Ohio Administrative Code Rule 4741-1-01

Ohio's technician credential is the Registered Veterinary Technician, and the state's own wording is registration rather than licensure: the board's rule defines an RVT as a person who holds a registration certificate issued by the Ohio veterinary medical licensing board.

The rule, titled Veterinary technician duties, registration and continuing education requirements, took effect January 8, 2024, and sits under the same Chapter 4741 of the Revised Code that governs Ohio veterinary practice.

For anyone reading Ohio job postings, RVT is the credential's abbreviation, and no other or lesser technician credential appears in the sources read.

β€œ"Registered veterinary technician" is a person who holds a registration certificate issued by the Ohio veterinary medical licensing board.”

Do you need the registration to do the work?

πŸ“œ ORC Β§ 4741.19(C)

The Revised Code's answer is written around the credential itself: no person shall act as a registered veterinary technician unless the person is registered with the board on a biennial basis and pays the biennial registration fee.

Acting as an RVT without that registration is therefore prohibited conduct on the face of the statute.

What the sources read do not settle is whether Ohio law also bars an unregistered person from performing technician-type work without ever holding the credential β€” that question sits in provisions of Chapter 4741 beyond what this page's sources cover.

Which tasks a registered technician may take on is a separate scope-of-practice question, governed by other rules and not covered here.

β€œNo person shall act as a registered veterinary technician unless the person is registered with the board on a biennial basis and pays the biennial registration fee.”

The education route β€” board-approved program or AAVSB equivalence

πŸ“œ Ohio Administrative Code Rule 4741-1-01

An applicant delivers a transcript showing satisfactory proof of graduation from a board-approved veterinary technology program, or a certificate of successful completion of the American Association of Veterinary State Boards program for the assessment of veterinary education equivalence for veterinary technicians β€” the pathway the rule provides for graduates of foreign or non-accredited programs.

No on-the-job or experience-based route appears in the rule's application requirements, so years working in an Ohio practice do not substitute for one of these two documents.

If your program is not board-approved, the AAVSB equivalence assessment is the only alternative route the registration rule's application requirements name; the Revised Code separately directs the board to register applicants already credentialed or experienced in another state, described below.

The VTNE and its passing score

πŸ“œ Ohio Administrative Code Rule 4741-1-01

Registration applicants must show a passing score of four hundred twenty-five, or a converted score of seventy-five, on the Veterinary Technician National Examination.

The rule states both scales, so a score report on either conversion can be read against the standard.

No separate Ohio jurisprudence or state-law exam appears anywhere in the application requirements the rule sets out β€” the VTNE is the only examination the sources read name.

β€œA passing score of four hundred twenty-five or a converted score of seventy-five on the veterinary technician national examination (VTNE).”

Ten CE hours every biennium, renewing March 1 of odd-numbered years

πŸ“œ ORC Β§ 4741.19(C); Ohio Administrative Code Rule 4741-1-01

Renewal runs on two conditions that come due together: the registration expires biennially on the first day of March in odd-numbered years, and renewing requires the biennial fee plus ten continuing education hours earned during the two years immediately preceding renewal.

New registrants get a break β€” the rule exempts registered veterinary technicians from listing continuing education hours for the first biennium after original registration.

The board may grant a CE waiver for unusual circumstances, but no more than one in a six-year period, and the hours must be made up the following calendar year.

Let a registration lapse past March 1 and it becomes inactive; reactivation carries a late fee not to exceed twenty-five dollars, and a registration inactive for more than four years expires and becomes void.

β€œRegistered veterinary technicians are exempt from listing continuing education hours for the first biennium after original registration.”

What the statute reserves β€” and what the sources read leave open

πŸ“œ ORC Β§ 4741.19(C)

The prohibition in Β§ 4741.19(C) is written around acting as a registered veterinary technician, so the conduct the statute distinctly reaches is the RVT role carried without registration.

Whether Ohio law also restricts the bare words veterinary technician, unadorned with registered, to credential holders is not stated in the sources read.

For practices, the practical takeaway is to treat RVT as a credential-verified label and confirm current statutory wording with the board before titling unregistered staff as technicians.

Criminal records check, out-of-state applicants, and the statutory alternate route

πŸ“œ Ohio Administrative Code Rule 4741-1-01; ORC Β§ 4741.19(C)(3)

Beyond school, exam and fee, an applicant must submit to a criminal records check through the bureau of criminal identification and investigation, including FBI information, within a year of requesting registration, showing no conviction, guilty plea or judicial finding of guilt for the violations section 4741.22 sets out.

Applicants from another state must also submit verification of a license or certificate in good standing, and the statute adds a route the rule lacks: section 4741.19(C)(3) directs the board to register an applicant who holds a similar registration or license in another state, or who has satisfactory work experience, a government certification, or a private certification as a veterinary technician in a state that does not issue the credential, as Chapter 4796 describes β€” the path for a technician experienced in a non-credentialing state.

One drafting wrinkle: the rule points its renewal fee to division (A)(10) of section 4741.17, the specialist-certificate line in the current statute, while the RVT fees sit in divisions (A)(8) and (A)(9) (House Bill 509, effective April 6, 2023) β€” trust the statute's own numbering.

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes Ohio’s own statute and board rule on CREDENTIALING, as read for this series and current as of September 2026. It does not cover scope of practice β€” which tasks a credentialed technician may legally perform, and under what level of supervision β€” which is governed by separate rules and is a different question from how you obtain the credential.

It also does not list application forms, background-check steps or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board (OVMLB)’s own application instructions. Education routes, accepted exams and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board (OVMLB) before you enroll in a program or submit an application.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you have to be registered to work as a veterinary technician in Ohio?

The Revised Code makes it unlawful for any person to act as a registered veterinary technician without being registered with the board on a biennial basis and paying the biennial registration fee.

The sources read for this page do not settle whether that prohibition also reaches an unregistered person performing technician-type work without the credential, so do not assume either reading.

Confirm the current answer with the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board before you rely on it.

What does RVT mean in Ohio?

Registered veterinary technician.

Ohio's rule defines an RVT as a person who holds a registration certificate issued by the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board, so the state registers technicians under the same chapter that licenses veterinarians rather than issuing them a separate license.

When an Ohio job ad asks for an RVT, it means this credential.

You can verify a registration or current requirements with the board.

How many continuing education hours does an Ohio RVT need?

Ten hours, earned during the two years immediately preceding each renewal.

The registration itself expires biennially on the first day of March in odd-numbered years, and newly registered technicians are exempt from listing continuing education hours for their first biennium.

The board can grant a waiver for unusual circumstances once in any six-year period, with the hours made up the following calendar year.

Verify details with the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board.

Can you become an Ohio vet tech through on-the-job experience instead of a program?

Not through an Ohio practice alone.

The board's registration rule calls for a transcript showing graduation from a board-approved veterinary technology program or a certificate of successful completion of the AAVSB education-equivalence assessment, and no on-the-job route appears in that rule.

The Revised Code does add a route for an applicant who has satisfactory work experience, a government certification, or a private certification as a veterinary technician in a state that does not issue the credential (ORC Β§ 4741.19(C)(3), via Chapter 4796).

Confirm current criteria with the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board before planning around it.

What VTNE score do you need to become an Ohio RVT?

A passing score of four hundred twenty-five, or a converted score of seventy-five, on the Veterinary Technician National Examination.

No separate Ohio jurisprudence or state-law exam appears in the application requirements the board's rule sets out.

Scores and application mechanics can change, so confirm the current standard with the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board before you register for the exam.

Find Veterinary Technician Jobs in Ohio
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Ohio & Veterinary Technician Resources

Sourced from Ohio’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice β€” confirm current rules with the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board (OVMLB).