🪪 State credentialing

Veterinary Technician Requirements in Minnesota

Founder, VeterinaryHires
Last verified September 2026

Minnesota licenses veterinary technicians as Licensed Veterinary Technicians (LVT) through the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine, and from July 1, 2026 the title is reserved: under Minnesota Statutes §156.077 a person may not use 'veterinary technician' or 'LVT' without a Board license.

The traditional route is an AVMA- or CVMA-accredited program, the VTNE and a state jurisprudence exam; a temporary experience route for non-credentialed staff runs only through July 1, 2031.

Licenses renew every two years with 16 hours of continuing education.

Verify before you rely on this

This page explains credentialing mechanics only — what a state asks for to hold the credential, not whether you personally qualify, and not what tasks you may legally perform once you hold it. Scope of practice and supervision are governed separately. It is general information, not legal advice. Requirements change by statute and by board rule; verify current requirements directly with the state board before you rely on anything here. Veterinary Technicians in Minnesota are regulated by the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine.

At a glance

Credential

A Licensed Veterinary Technician (LVT), issued by the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine under Minnesota Statutes §156.077 — a new state license as of July 1, 2026; the former private certification of the Minnesota Veterinary Medical Association (MVMA) does not convert directly to it.

Required to work, or only to use the title?

From July 1, 2026 the title is mandatory: under §156.077 a person may not use the title 'veterinary technician' or the abbreviation 'LVT' unless licensed by the Board. Whether the underlying tasks are reserved to licensees is not settled by the sources read, which address the title.

Education routes

Two routes. The traditional pathway: at least 18 years old and a graduate of an AVMA- or CVMA-accredited veterinary technology program. A Temporary Alternative for non-credentialed staff — at least 4,160 hours in a technician role in the last five years, no degree or VTNE — is available only through July 1, 2031.

Exams

The VTNE, with scores sent directly to the Board through the AAVSB/VIVA portal (the Board cannot accept applicant-submitted scores), plus the Minnesota Veterinary Technician Jurisprudence Exam — fully open resource, untimed, up to five attempts with a fee per attempt.

CE & renewal

A 2-year license; renewals require 16 hours of CE with no more than 4 in practice management, in live or recorded formats. No CE proof is due at application or renewal, but a percentage of licensees are randomly audited.

Fees

2026 initial cost $282 total, non-refundable: $75 application fee + $75 jurisprudence exam + $100 initial 2-year license + $32 criminal background check. The renewal fee is not stated in the sources read.

Title protection

Minnesota Statutes §156.077 reserves the title 'veterinary technician' and the abbreviation 'LVT' to Board licensees from July 1, 2026, and the Board directs employers to update titles on websites, name badges, uniforms and other client-facing materials.

Regulated by

Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine

On national category labels

NAVTA's national title-protection categories are a secondary snapshot and were already stale for at least nine states when this series was researched — what appears above for Minnesota is that jurisdiction's own statute and board rule as read in September 2026, not a category label.

What the credential is actually called

📜 Minnesota Statutes §156.077; Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine, LVT Program – 2026 Transition Guide, retrieved 2026-09-16

Minnesota's credential is the Licensed Veterinary Technician, abbreviated LVT, issued by the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine.

It is genuinely new: the Board's own transition guide is built around the program's 2026 launch, and the statute it cites, Minnesota Statutes §156.077, takes effect July 1, 2026.

Anyone who held the old private certification from the Minnesota Veterinary Medical Association (MVMA) is starting a state application from the beginning — the Board says MVMA certification does not convert directly to a state license.

For anyone reading Minnesota job ads, LVT is the letters that carry legal weight from July 1, 2026.

Beginning July 1, 2026, anyone using the title "veterinary technician" in Minnesota must be licensed by the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine. Under Minnesota Statutes §156.077, a person may not use the title "veterinary technician" or the abbreviation "LVT" unless licensed by the Board.

Do you need the license to do the work?

📜 Minnesota Statutes §156.077; Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine, LVT Program – 2026 Transition Guide, retrieved 2026-09-16

The clear part is the title: from July 1, 2026, §156.077 as the Board presents it bars using 'veterinary technician' or 'LVT' without a Board license, and the Board tells employers to update websites, staff directories, name badges and uniforms accordingly.

Whether the underlying tasks are reserved to licensees is a different question, and the sources read do not settle it: the transition guide addresses who may be called a veterinary technician, and its one task-related line — that employers should ensure unlicensed staff are not assigned tasks that require an LVT — presupposes a task list the page does not provide.

Which tasks fall on which side of that line is a scope-of-practice question governed by separate rules and is not covered here.

Employers should ensure staff without licensure are not assigned tasks that require an LVT

Two education routes — and one of them sunsets in 2031

📜 Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine, LVT Program – 2026 Transition Guide, retrieved 2026-09-16

The traditional pathway asks for two things before the paperwork: applicants must be at least 18 years old and graduates of a veterinary technology program accredited by the AVMA or the CVMA.

For non-credentialed staff already working in Minnesota practices there is a second door, the Temporary Alternative pathway, which requires no accredited degree and no VTNE: at least 4,160 hours in a technician role in the last five years, documented with a resume, plus notarized affidavits from at least two licensed veterinarians attesting to the applicant's technician skillset and three adults who are not related to the applicant.

That door closes July 1, 2031.

An assistant deciding whether to credential should treat the experience route as a dated transition window rather than a standing alternative.

Applicants may qualify if they have worked at least 4,160 hours in a technician role in the last five years. You must upload your resume as a supporting document to verify that you have this experience.

The VTNE and the Minnesota jurisprudence exam

📜 Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine, LVT Program – 2026 Transition Guide, retrieved 2026-09-16

Traditional-pathway applicants must have a passing VTNE score, and the Board is strict about how it arrives: results must be sent directly to the Board through the AAVSB/VIVA portal, because the Board cannot accept scores submitted by the applicant.

On top of the VTNE sits the Minnesota Veterinary Technician Jurisprudence Exam, covering Minnesota statutes and rules governing veterinary medicine.

The Board describes the exam as fully open resource and untimed, allows up to five attempts, and charges a fee for each attempt.

AAVSB administers the VTNE but credentials nobody — the Board is the credentialing body.

VTNE score reports - if required - must be sent directly to the Board through the AAVSB/VIVA portal ; the Board cannot accept scores submitted by the applicant.

Sixteen CE hours, a two-year license, and random audits

📜 Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine, LVT Program – 2026 Transition Guide, retrieved 2026-09-16

The license term is two years, and renewal carries 16 hours of continuing education, of which no more than 4 may be in practice management; hours may be completed live or recorded.

The enforcement model matters before renewal season: the Board does not require CE documentation with the application or at renewal, and instead audits a random percentage of licensees, so records must be kept whether or not anyone asks for them.

Two things the sources leave open: the renewal fee is not stated, and neither is whether the 16-hour rule already applies to the first renewal cohort of the new program.

For license renewals, 16 hours of CE are required, with no more than 4 hours in practice management. CE hours may be completed through either live or recorded learning formats.

The title reaches websites, badges and uniforms

📜 Minnesota Statutes §156.077; Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine, LVT Program – 2026 Transition Guide, retrieved 2026-09-16

From July 1, 2026, only individuals licensed by the Board may use the title 'veterinary technician' or the letters 'LVT'.

The Board's employer guidance makes the reach concrete: titles must be updated on websites and marketing materials, staff directories and bios, social media, name badges, uniforms, and any client-facing materials.

For a practice, that turns every job title, badge and bio into a compliance item from the effective date; for a technician, the letters next to your name are the credential.

The sources read do not state the penalty for a violation, and which tasks are reserved to licensees is a separate scope question not covered here.

Only individuals licensed by the Board may use the title 'veterinary technician' or 'LVT'. Titles must be updated on websites and marketing materials, staff directories and bios, social media, name badges, uniforms, and any client-facing materials.

The transition window for MVMA-certified and out-of-state technicians

📜 Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine, LVT Program – 2026 Transition Guide, retrieved 2026-09-16

Every route shares the same application core: the online application through the Board's portal, the fees, a criminal background check with fingerprints (previously collected fingerprints cannot be reused), and the jurisprudence exam.

Current MVMA-certified technicians in good standing through July 1, 2026 can use the Temporary Alternative: the MVMA transfers their education and VTNE results to the Board, but they still complete that application core — certification alone does not carry over.

Technicians credentialed outside Minnesota apply under the traditional pathway and must request letters of good standing from every jurisdiction that has licensed or registered them in the past 10 years, sent from each licensing agency directly to the Board.

The Temporary Alternative pathway itself ends July 1, 2031.

MVMA certification does not convert directly to a state license.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes Minnesota’s own statute and board rule on CREDENTIALING, as read for this series and current as of September 2026. It does not cover scope of practice — which tasks a credentialed technician may legally perform, and under what level of supervision — which is governed by separate rules and is a different question from how you obtain the credential.

It also does not list application forms, background-check steps or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine’s own application instructions. Education routes, accepted exams and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine before you enroll in a program or submit an application.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you have to be licensed to work as a veterinary technician in Minnesota?

From July 1, 2026 you must be licensed to use the title: under Minnesota Statutes §156.077, as the Board presents it, a person may not use 'veterinary technician' or 'LVT' without a license from the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine.

Whether the underlying tasks are reserved to licensees is not settled by the sources read, which address the title.

The Board does tell employers not to assign unlicensed staff tasks that require an LVT.

Confirm current requirements with the Board before you rely on this.

Can you become a Minnesota vet tech through on-the-job experience instead of a program?

Yes, but only through July 1, 2031.

The Temporary Alternative pathway lets non-credentialed staff qualify with at least 4,160 hours in a technician role in the last five years — no accredited degree and no VTNE — documented by a resume plus notarized affidavits from at least two licensed veterinarians and three adults unrelated to the applicant.

Applicants still complete the application, fees, criminal background check and jurisprudence exam.

After the sunset date, the accredited-program route is the only one the sources describe.

Confirm with the Board.

How many continuing education hours does Minnesota require for LVT renewal?

16 hours per renewal on a two-year license cycle, with no more than 4 hours in practice management; hours may be completed in live or recorded formats.

The Board does not require CE proof at application or renewal — instead a percentage of licensees are randomly selected for audit, so keep your records.

The sources read do not state the renewal fee, or whether the 16-hour rule applies to the program's first renewal cohort.

Verify with the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine.

What happens to an MVMA certification now that Minnesota licenses LVTs?

It does not roll over.

The Board states that MVMA certification does not convert directly to a state license, so MVMA-certified technicians apply like anyone else.

Those certified and in good standing through July 1, 2026 can use the Temporary Alternative pathway: the MVMA transfers their education and VTNE results to the Board, but they still complete the application, fees, criminal background check and jurisprudence exam.

That pathway ends July 1, 2031.

Check the Board's transition materials for your own situation.

Is it illegal to call yourself a vet tech in Minnesota without a license?

From July 1, 2026, using the title is: under §156.077 a person may not use the title 'veterinary technician' or the abbreviation 'LVT' unless licensed by the Board.

The Board's employer guidance extends this to websites and marketing materials, staff directories and bios, social media, name badges, uniforms, and client-facing materials.

The sources read do not state the specific penalty for a violation.

If you are unsure how a job title or badge reads, confirm with the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine.

Find Veterinary Technician Jobs in Minnesota
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Minnesota & Veterinary Technician Resources

Sourced from Minnesota’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine.