Michigan licenses veterinary technicians as health professionals under the Public Health Code.
The Veterinary Technician license β the credential Michigan job postings usually call an LVT β is issued by the Board of Veterinary Medicine through LARA's Bureau of Professional Licensing, and requires an AVMA CVTEA-accredited program, the VTNE, a background check, and English proficiency.
Licenses run on 3-year cycles with 15 hours of continuing education each cycle.
Whether the license is required to do the work is not settled in the sources read.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
A state Veterinary Technician license issued by the Michigan Board of Veterinary Medicine through LARA's Bureau of Professional Licensing, applied for on the MiPLUS portal and commonly abbreviated LVT in Michigan β though the state's own guide always writes the title out and never uses the abbreviation.
Not stated in the sources read.
Completion of a veterinary technology training program accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association's Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA); the sources read show no on-the-job or experience route, and applicants trained outside the United States must meet the same requirements.
The Veterinary Technician National Examination, applied for through AAVSB, which reviews eligibility on behalf of the State of Michigan and certifies passing scores directly to LARA; no state jurisprudence exam appears anywhere in the sources read.
15 hours of board-approved continuing education per 3-year cycle β at least 10 scientific in nature and at least 5 in-person or through live, synchronous contact β with the license itself valid for 3 years.
Application plus 3-year license fee $140.40 by examination or endorsement; renewal $124.80; relicensure $160.40; a $20 late fee inside the 60-day grace period; $15 per certified license verification.
Not stated in the sources read.
Michigan Board of Veterinary Medicine (LARA, Bureau of Professional Licensing)
NAVTA's national title-protection categories are a secondary snapshot and were already stale for at least nine states when this series was researched β what appears above for Michigan is that jurisdiction's own statute and board rule as read in September 2026, not a category label.
Michigan licenses veterinary technicians as health professionals under the Public Health Code, and the state's own licensing guide opens by saying the veterinary technician license type allows a licensee to engage in the practice of veterinary medicine.
The license is issued by the Michigan Board of Veterinary Medicine through LARA's Bureau of Professional Licensing, with the application running through the MiPLUS portal.
On job postings the credential usually appears as LVT, but the guide itself always writes the words out and never abbreviates, so the letters are professional custom rather than wording the state's own document uses.
Whether LVT is the statutory designation, along with the code's title-protection wording, sits in the Public Health Code and the Veterinary Technician Administrative Rules (the R 338.49xx family), which are not among the sources read for this page.
βThe veterinary technician license type allows a licensee to engage in the practice of veterinary medicine.β
Applicants for licensure by examination must have successfully completed a veterinary technology training program accredited by the AVMA's Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities, and official transcripts must reach LARA directly from the school showing the degree earned and the date conferred.
The guide describes no on-the-job or experience route into a Michigan technician license, and applicants educated or trained outside the United States must meet the same requirements β no separate pathway is stated β so years working as an assistant do not substitute for the program.
Every applicant must also demonstrate a working knowledge of English, established by a professional program taught in English, at least 60 college-level credits from an English-speaking school, or a passing score on an approved exam under R 338.7002b(2).
For a graduate of an accredited program, that last item is usually satisfied by the program itself.
βApplicants must have successfully completed an accrediting program for training veterinary technicians by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA).β
You apply for the Veterinary Technician National Examination with the American Association of Veterinary State Boards, which reviews your eligibility on behalf of the State of Michigan and passes your scores to LARA directly from AAVSB; scores from a VTNE already taken move on an AAVSB VAULT transfer.
AAVSB administers the exam, but it does not credential anyone β the license itself comes only from the Board.
No separate Michigan jurisprudence or state-law exam appears anywhere in the sources read; any additional technician rule would sit in the Veterinary Technician Administrative Rules, the R 338.49xx family, which were not read for this page.
βThe AAVSB will review your eligibility on behalf of the State of Michigan, and you will receive a scheduling email from the exam vendor for scheduling your exam after your exam application is reviewed by AAVSB.β
Licenses are valid for 3 years, and renewal requires 15 hours of continuing education in board-approved courses or programs completed in the 3 years before the renewal application.
A minimum of 10 hours must be scientific in nature β the science of diagnosis, treatment and prevention of disease as it relates to an animal patient, or public veterinary practice topics β and a minimum of 5 hours must be completed in person or through live, synchronous contact.
The Department does not pre-approve courses: you keep your own certificates for at least 4 years, and the Board runs a random audit after each renewal period.
Renew inside the 60-day grace period and a $20 late fee applies; let the license lapse and you can no longer practice the profession or identify yourself as licensed.
Relicensure then carries a $160.40 fee, with a VTNE pass from within the prior 3 years required only if you have been lapsed more than 3 years and are not currently licensed in another state or registered in Canada.
βWhen your license lapses, you can no longer practice your profession, nor can you identify yourself as a licensed individual.β
A technician already credentialed in another state does not start over.
Licensure by endorsement requires an active veterinary technician license in good standing in that state, plus certification of your passing VTNE scores submitted directly to LARA from AAVSB β the same score-documentation route as the examination track, using an AAVSB VAULT transfer for existing scores.
Endorsement applicants meet the same requirements as everyone else: the criminal background check, the good-moral-character questions, a Social Security number, the English-proficiency showing, and verification sent directly from the licensing agency of every state or country in which you hold or ever held a license, showing that no disciplinary proceedings are pending and no sanctions are in force at application.
The application plus 3-year license fee is $140.40 whether you apply by examination or by endorsement.
βApplicants for licensure by endorsement must hold an active veterinary technician license in good standing in another state.β
This page summarizes Michiganβs own statute and board rule on CREDENTIALING, as read for this series and current as of September 2026. It does not cover scope of practice β which tasks a credentialed technician may legally perform, and under what level of supervision β which is governed by separate rules and is a different question from how you obtain the credential.
It also does not list application forms, background-check steps or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Michigan Board of Veterinary Medicine (LARA, Bureau of Professional Licensing)βs own application instructions. Education routes, accepted exams and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Michigan Board of Veterinary Medicine (LARA, Bureau of Professional Licensing) before you enroll in a program or submit an application.
The sources read for this page β the state's own licensing guide β do not settle whether Michigan requires the license to do technician work, so this page can't answer that.
What the guide does say is that the veterinary technician license type allows a licensee to engage in the practice of veterinary medicine, and that a licensee whose license lapses can no longer practice or identify as licensed.
Confirm the current legal requirement with the Michigan Board of Veterinary Medicine.
It refers to the state's Veterinary Technician license β the credential the Michigan Board of Veterinary Medicine issues through LARA's Bureau of Professional Licensing.
The abbreviation is professional custom: the state's own licensing guide always writes veterinary technician license in full and never uses LVT, and whether the letters are the statutory designation is not settled in the sources read.
Treat an ad asking for an LVT as asking for this license, and confirm with the Board.
15 hours of board-approved continuing education every 3-year license cycle, including at least 10 hours that are scientific in nature and at least 5 hours completed in person or through live, synchronous contact.
The Department does not pre-approve courses β you keep your own certificates for at least 4 years, and the Board runs a random audit after each renewal period.
The full requirements and a list of approved sponsors are in R 338.4993.
Verify details with the Board.
Not on the sources read for this page.
Licensure by examination requires successful completion of a program accredited by the AVMA's Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities, then the VTNE, and the guide describes no experience-based alternative.
The closest route for working technicians is licensure by endorsement, for people who already hold an active technician license in good standing in another state.
Ask the Michigan Board of Veterinary Medicine before planning around any alternative.
You get a 60-day grace period after the expiration date to renew, with a $20 late fee.
After that the license lapses and, in the guide's words, you can no longer practice your profession, nor can you identify yourself as a licensed individual.
Relicensure carries a $160.40 fee, and a VTNE pass from within the prior 3 years is required only if you have been lapsed more than 3 years and are not currently licensed in another state or registered in Canada.
Confirm details with the Board.
Sourced from Michiganβs own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice β confirm current rules with the Michigan Board of Veterinary Medicine (LARA, Bureau of Professional Licensing).