🪪 State credentialing

Veterinary Technician Requirements in Maine

Founder, VeterinaryHires
Last verified September 2026

Maine licenses veterinary technicians as licensed veterinary technicians through the Maine State Board of Veterinary Medicine, and the license is required to practice, not merely to use the title.

An applicant completes a minimum of two years in an AVMA CVTEA-certified college program, or a board-determined equivalent, and passes the VTNE, registered directly with AAVSB.

The license renews annually on September 30, and the sources read state no continuing-education figure for LVTs.

Verify before you rely on this

This page explains credentialing mechanics only — what a state asks for to hold the credential, not whether you personally qualify, and not what tasks you may legally perform once you hold it. Scope of practice and supervision are governed separately. It is general information, not legal advice. Requirements change by statute and by board rule; verify current requirements directly with the state board before you rely on anything here. Veterinary Technicians in Maine are regulated by the Maine State Board of Veterinary Medicine (Dept. of Professional & Financial Regulation, OPOR).

At a glance

Credential

Licensed veterinary technician — the statute's own term, defined as a person with a minimum of 2 years in an AVMA CVTEA-certified college program, or a board-determined equivalent, who has passed an examination for licensure prescribed by the board; LVT is the abbreviation on Maine job postings.

Required to work, or only to use the title?

Mandatory to practice — the statute says a person must apply for a veterinary technician license, written application, fee and examination included, in order to practice as a licensed veterinary technician in this State, and practicing veterinary technology without a valid license triggers the enforcement provision.

Education routes

A minimum of 2 years in a college program certified under the American Veterinary Medical Association's Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities standards, or an equivalent program as determined by the board; a student within the final 6 months of an approved program may take the licensing exam.

Exams

The VTNE, which applicants register for directly with the AAVSB; no Maine-specific jurisprudence exam appears anywhere in the Veterinary Technician section of the sources read.

CE & renewal

The license renews annually on September 30 — $50 renewal fee, $50 late fee inside a 90-day grace window; a CE requirement specific to LVTs is not stated for LVTs on the page read, where the board's 24-hours sentence sits under its Veterinarian section.

Fees

License fee $35.00 plus a $21.00 criminal background check fee at application; $50.00 annual renewal fee; $50.00 late fee for renewals within 90 days after expiration.

Title protection

No standalone title statute — the definition of the practice of veterinary technology treats using titles or letter abbreviations that imply you are authorized to perform those acts as prima facie evidence you are representing yourself as engaged in that practice, which without a license falls to the enforcement provision.

Regulated by

Maine State Board of Veterinary Medicine (Dept. of Professional & Financial Regulation, OPOR)

On national category labels

NAVTA's national title-protection categories are a secondary snapshot and were already stale for at least nine states when this series was researched — what appears above for Maine is that jurisdiction's own statute and board rule as read in September 2026, not a category label.

What the credential is actually called

📜 32 M.R.S. §4853(8)

Maine's credential is the licensed veterinary technician — the LVT on Maine job postings.

The statutory definition couples two things: a minimum of 2 years in a college program certified under the standards of the American Veterinary Medical Association's Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities, or an equivalent program as determined by the board, plus an examination for licensure prescribed by the board.

The same definitions section also names the uncredentialed role: a veterinary assistant is a person employed in a veterinary facility to assist a licensed veterinarian or a licensed veterinary technician who has neither had the formal training required for licensure nor passed the required examination.

So a Maine posting asking for an LVT is asking for this board-issued license — the definitions section defines only the licensed variant of the title and names no certified one.

'Licensed veterinary technician' means a person who has completed a minimum of 2 years in a college program that is certified according to the standards adopted by the American Veterinary Medical Association's Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities or an equivalent program, as determined by the board, and who has passed an examination for licensure prescribed by the board.

Do you need the license to do the work?

📜 32 M.R.S. §4861-A; §4870

Yes — on the sources read, the credential gates the work, not just the letters.

The statute states outright that practicing as a licensed veterinary technician in this State requires applying for the license: written application, the fee set under section 4863‑A, and the licensing examination.

The enforcement section then attaches a consequence: practicing veterinary technology without a valid license puts you under Title 10, section 8003‑C, Maine's unlicensed-practice provision.

For an uncredentialed assistant, the practical picture is that Maine's statute gives your role its own name and positions it as categorically distinct from licensure — which tasks fall on which side of that line is a scope-of-practice question governed by separate rules, and is not covered here.

In order to practice as a licensed veterinary technician in this State, a person must apply for a veterinary technician license by submitting a written application, paying the license fee as set under section 4863‑A and taking an examination for a license.

Two ways onto the exam, both through a program

📜 32 M.R.S. §4861-A(1)-(2)

To take the licensing examination, an applicant must either have completed a minimum of 2 years in a college program certified under the AVMA committee's standards — or an equivalent program as determined by the board — or be within the final 6 months of professional study in a program approved by the board or accredited by an organization the board approves.

The final-6-months route is the only timing flexibility written into the section, and it lets a student sit the exam before graduating rather than substituting work for school.

The equivalent-program clause is a board judgment, not an experience route: no on-the-job pathway appears in the sources read, so years already worked in a Maine practice are not, on these sources, a substitute for the program.

Be within the final 6 months of professional study in a program of education for veterinary technology approved by the board or accredited by an accrediting organization approved by the board.

The VTNE, registered through AAVSB

📜 32 M.R.S. §4853(8); Maine Board of Veterinary Medicine licensing page

The statute requires an examination for licensure prescribed by the board, and the board's own licensing page names it: the VTNE, which you register for directly with the American Association of Veterinary State Boards — passing it is what lets you submit the licensure application.

AAVSB administers the exam; the license itself comes from Maine's board.

No Maine-specific jurisprudence exam appears anywhere in the Veterinary Technician section of the page.

The board's page does carry a jurisprudence note — that it is not enforcing its written jurisprudence exam, which an attestation now replaces — but that sits under the Veterinarian heading, and the research row is explicit that no equivalent tech exam requirement exists to begin with, so there is nothing for that note to waive for technicians.

Once you have taken and passed the VTNE exam, you may submit an application for licensure as a Veterinary Technician.

Annual renewal on September 30 — and a CE gap to know about

📜 32 M.R.S. §4863‑A (fees); Maine Board of Veterinary Medicine licensing page

The license renews every year, expiring September 30, at a $50 annual renewal fee.

Renewals up to 90 days late carry a $50 late fee on top of the renewal fee; past 90 days you are back to new-applicant requirements entirely.

What the sources read do not establish is any continuing-education requirement for LVTs: the board's licensing page does contain a 24-hours-of-board-approved-CE sentence, but on the board's page that sentence sits under the Veterinarian heading, before the page transitions to its separate Veterinary Technician section, which carries no CE sentence of its own.

That silence means you should plan around neither zero hours nor 24 — confirm the current CE expectation with the board before your first renewal.

This license renews annually on September 30.

How Maine treats the letters

📜 32 M.R.S. §4853

Maine's sources read contain no standalone offense for using the letters LVT.

Instead, the definition of the practice of veterinary technology itself sweeps in the use of any titles, words or letter abbreviations that would induce the belief that you are legally authorized and qualified to perform acts requiring technical veterinary understanding — and makes that use prima facie evidence that you are representing yourself as engaged in the practice.

Combined with the enforcement section, the practical effect is that presenting yourself as a veterinary technician while unlicensed walks you into the unlicensed-practice provision through the front door rather than a separate title statute.

For practices, that makes job titles and name badges a compliance question, not a branding one.

The use of any titles, word or abbreviations of letters in a manner or under circumstances that induce the belief that the person using them is legally authorized and qualified to perform any act authorized under paragraph A . That use is prima facie evidence of the intention to represent oneself as engaged in the practice of veterinary technology.

A 2015 rewrite and a 30-day emergency carve-out

📜 32 M.R.S. §4861-A

Every provision this page rests on — the definitions, the licensure requirement, the enforcement clause — carries PL 2015, c. 209 as its most recent substantive amendment, so guidance written before the 2015 rewrite of the Maine Veterinary Practice Act may describe a differently shaped regime.

The same licensure section also hides an emergency valve: at the state veterinarian's request to the board, in an emergency the state veterinarian determines, a licensed veterinary technician may practice in Maine for up to 30 days without a state license.

It is a narrow, officials-invoked provision — not a route an individual applicant can plan around.

Upon the request of the state veterinarian to the board for emergency situations as determined by the state veterinarian, a licensed veterinary technician may practice in the State for a period not to exceed 30 days without a state license.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes Maine’s own statute and board rule on CREDENTIALING, as read for this series and current as of September 2026. It does not cover scope of practice — which tasks a credentialed technician may legally perform, and under what level of supervision — which is governed by separate rules and is a different question from how you obtain the credential.

It also does not list application forms, background-check steps or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Maine State Board of Veterinary Medicine (Dept. of Professional & Financial Regulation, OPOR)’s own application instructions. Education routes, accepted exams and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Maine State Board of Veterinary Medicine (Dept. of Professional & Financial Regulation, OPOR) before you enroll in a program or submit an application.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you have to be licensed to work as a veterinary technician in Maine?

Yes, to practice as a licensed veterinary technician.

The statute says a person must apply for the license — written application, fee, and the examination — in order to practice as an LVT in this State, and the enforcement section subjects unlicensed practice of veterinary technology to Maine's unlicensed-practice provision.

Uncredentialed staff can work in a practice as veterinary assistants, which the statute defines as its own role; which tasks each role may perform is a separate scope question.

Confirm with the Maine State Board of Veterinary Medicine.

Is an LVT the same as a CVT in Maine?

Maine's credential is the licensed veterinary technician — LVT.

The statute's definitions section defines that term and requires its license for practice; it names no certified variant.

If a Maine job posting asks for a CVT, treat it as a national shorthand for the same credentialed role rather than a different state credential, and confirm exactly what the posting and the Board require before applying.

The Maine State Board of Veterinary Medicine is the authority on what its license is called.

How many continuing education hours do Maine vet techs need?

Not stated for LVTs on the sources read for this page.

The board's licensing page does carry a sentence requiring 24 hours of board approved continuing education with renewal in even numbered years — but it sits under the Veterinarian section, and the Veterinary Technician section has no CE sentence of its own.

That gap means you should not plan around either zero hours or 24.

Ask the Maine State Board of Veterinary Medicine directly what CE, if any, applies to your technician license before your renewal.

Can you become a Maine vet tech through on-the-job experience instead of a program?

Not on the sources read for this page.

Exam eligibility requires a minimum of 2 years in a college program certified under the AVMA committee's standards, an equivalent program as determined by the board, or final-6-months student status in an approved program.

No experience-based or on-the-job route appears in the statute section or the board page read.

If you are already working in a Maine practice and hoping your hours count, ask the Maine State Board of Veterinary Medicine what your background qualifies you for before enrolling — or before assuming you must.

Is there a Maine jurisprudence or state law exam for vet techs?

No Maine-specific jurisprudence exam appears in the Veterinary Technician section of the board's licensing page — the exam pathway it describes is the VTNE, registered directly with AAVSB.

The board's page does mention that it is not enforcing its written jurisprudence exam and has replaced it with an attestation, but that note sits under the Veterinarian heading, and the research row records that no equivalent technician exam requirement exists to begin with.

Confirm current exam expectations with the Maine State Board of Veterinary Medicine.

Find Veterinary Technician Jobs in Maine
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Maine & Veterinary Technician Resources

Sourced from Maine’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Maine State Board of Veterinary Medicine (Dept. of Professional & Financial Regulation, OPOR).