The Kansas Board of Veterinary Examiners registers veterinary technicians as registered veterinary technicians (RVTs).
The path runs through an AVMA-accredited program, the VTNE via AAVSB, and Kansas's open-book jurisprudence exam with a 90% passing standard.
On the sources read, no section of the Kansas Veterinary Practice Act makes registration mandatory to practice or to use the title, and no continuing-education rule exists for technicians.
The $50.00 registration renews annually for $25.00, expiring each April 30.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Registered veterinary technician β K.S.A. 47-816(m) defines an RVT as a person who is a graduate veterinary technician, has passed the examinations required by the board for registration, and is registered by the board.
No practice mandate was found: a full-text search of the Kansas Veterinary Practice Act returned no section making it unlawful to practice as a veterinary technician or use the RVT title without registration, while the board continues to issue and discipline registrations.
Graduation from an American Veterinary Medical Association accredited school approved by the board β the Act's graduate veterinary technician definition; no on-the-job route was found in the sources read.
The VTNE through AAVSB plus Kansas's open-book jurisprudence exam, on which an applicant must correctly answer 90% of the questions and retake the exam otherwise.
Registration renews annually β notices go out each March and every registration expires April 30; no continuing-education requirement for technicians exists in Kansas statute or board rule.
Application $50.00 (non-refundable) and annual renewal $25.00 under K.A.R. 70-5-1; the statute authorizes a $20β$50 application fee and a $5β$25 annual renewal fee.
None found in the Act as read: no section makes it unlawful to use the registered veterinary technician title without registration, and the Act's enforcement sections reach only veterinarians and premises.
Kansas Board of Veterinary Examiners (KBVE)
NAVTA's national title-protection categories are a secondary snapshot and were already stale for at least nine states when this series was researched β what appears above for Kansas is that jurisdiction's own statute and board rule as read in September 2026, not a category label.
Kansas defines a registered veterinary technician in two steps, and the first one is purely educational: a person must be a graduate veterinary technician β someone who has graduated from an American Veterinary Medical Association accredited school approved by the board β before the examinations and the registration attach.
The definition is worth reading closely because it makes the RVT designation a board-issued registration rather than a school's own certificate.
On a Kansas job posting, RVT points to a credential held with the Kansas Board of Veterinary Examiners.
β"Registered veterinary technician" means a person who is a graduate veterinary technician, has passed the examinations required by the board for registration and is registered by the board.β
On the sources read, no. The full-text search of the whole Kansas Veterinary Practice Act that surfaced the technician definitions and discipline powers found no section making it unlawful to act as, practice as, or use the RVT title without registration β the Act's unlawful-practice sections reach only the unlicensed practice of veterinary medicine and unregistered premises.
The board nonetheless issues registrations and may reprimand, restrict, suspend or revoke them, so the credential is real and actively maintained; it simply is not, on this text, a legal gate over the work.
Which tasks uncredentialed staff may perform in a Kansas practice is a separate scope-of-practice question, not covered here.
The statutory ladder starts with graduation from an American Veterinary Medical Association accredited school approved by the board, and the board's application requires the program's name and graduation date plus enclosed proof of graduation.
No on-the-job or experience-based alternative route was found in the sources read, so an assistant already working in a Kansas practice should not plan on years of floor experience substituting for the program.
If you are choosing a program, verify its AVMA accreditation before enrolling, because both the statutory definition and the application turn on it.
β"Graduate veterinary technician" means a person who has graduated from an American veterinary medical association accredited school approved by the board.β
Two exams stand between a graduate and the registration.
The VTNE is taken through AAVSB, and where scores were not reported to Kansas, the board requires them to be forwarded by AAVSB.
Kansas then layers its own open-book jurisprudence exam on top: once the completed application and fees arrive, the board sends the exam, and an applicant must correctly answer 90% of the questions or retake it.
Note also that the application expires one year after the board receives it, so a stalled application lapses rather than holds your place.
βYou must correctly answer 90% of the questions on this open book exam. If you do not correctly answer 90% of the questions, you must retake the exam.β
Registration renews every year, not every two: renewal notices go out each March and every veterinary technician registration expires April 30, with the $25.00 renewal fee set by rule.
On continuing education the finding is a negative one β no continuing-education requirement for technicians exists in Kansas statute or in board rule, which is why this page prints no hour figure.
A 20-hour figure does appear on the board's renewal page, but it sits under the veterinarian license renewal paragraph; the separate technician renewal paragraph states no CE requirement at all.
A missed April 30 still lapses the credential, so the calendar matters even without CE hours.
βRenewal notices are sent to registered veterinary technicians in March of each year. The renewal fee is $25.00.β
Kansas's Practice Act, as read for this page, reserves neither the work nor the words.
The full-text search that found the technician definitions also confirmed there is no section making it unlawful to use the registered veterinary technician title without registration, and the enforcement sections that do exist β Β§ 47-817 on unlicensed veterinary medicine and Β§ 47-834 on unlawful practice β speak to veterinarians and premises, not technicians.
For a technician, that means the RVT letters carry no statutory monopoly on these sources; for a practice, job titles and name badges are not a statutory compliance question under this Act in the way a title-misuse penalty would make them.
That reading is a negative finding from a September 2026 read of the whole Act, not a category label, and it is worth re-confirming with the board before relying on it.
βNo person shall practice veterinary medicine in this state who is not currently and validly a licensed veterinarianβ
A registration that does not gate the work is not therefore empty.
The board may reprimand, restrict, suspend or revoke veterinary technician registrations, so discipline attaches to holders.
The statute brackets the fees β an application between $20 and $50 and an annual renewal between $5 and $25 β while board rule K.A.R. 70-5-1, amended December 18, 2020, sets the actual amounts at $50.00 and $25.00.
The application packet is also more involved than a form: it carries the $50.00 non-refundable fee, a notarized affidavit, a photo, certificates of good moral character, and letters of good standing from all states in which the applicant has ever been licensed, registered or certified.
βThe fee for an application for registration of a registered veterinary technician as provided in K.S.A. 47-821, and amendments thereto, shall be not less than $20 nor more than $50.β
This page summarizes Kansasβs own statute and board rule on CREDENTIALING, as read for this series and current as of September 2026. It does not cover scope of practice β which tasks a credentialed technician may legally perform, and under what level of supervision β which is governed by separate rules and is a different question from how you obtain the credential.
It also does not list application forms, background-check steps or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Kansas Board of Veterinary Examiners (KBVE)βs own application instructions. Education routes, accepted exams and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Kansas Board of Veterinary Examiners (KBVE) before you enroll in a program or submit an application.
Not on the sources read for this page.
A full-text search of the Kansas Veterinary Practice Act found no section making it unlawful to practice as a veterinary technician, or to use the RVT title, without registration.
The board still issues registrations and can discipline them, and individual employers may require the credential anyway.
What tasks uncredentialed staff may perform is a separate scope question.
Confirm your situation with the Kansas Board of Veterinary Examiners.
Registered veterinary technician.
Kansas's definition is two-step: a person must first be a graduate veterinary technician β someone who has graduated from an American Veterinary Medical Association accredited school approved by the board β and must then pass the examinations the board requires and be registered by it.
AAVSB administers the VTNE but credentials no one; the registration itself comes from the Kansas Board of Veterinary Examiners.
None that the sources read could find.
Neither the Kansas Veterinary Practice Act nor the Board of Veterinary Examiners' rules contain a technician CE requirement, and this page deliberately prints no hour figure.
A 20-hour figure on the board's renewal page belongs to the veterinarian license renewal paragraph, not the technician one.
Do not plan CE around a Kansas technician number; check the board's current renewal instructions before relying on any figure.
Not on the sources read for this page.
The Act's definitions start from graduation from an AVMA-accredited school approved by the board, and the board's application requires the program name, graduation date and enclosed proof of graduation.
No experience-based alternative route appears in the documents behind this page.
If you are working in a practice and hoping your hours count, ask the Kansas Board of Veterinary Examiners before planning around it.
A state-specific, open-book test the board sends after your application and fees arrive.
You must correctly answer 90% of the questions; if you do not, you retake the exam.
It sits on top of the VTNE, whose scores must be forwarded to the board by AAVSB where they were not reported to Kansas directly.
The board's application instructions govern the details β confirm with the Kansas Board of Veterinary Examiners.
Sourced from Kansasβs own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice β confirm current rules with the Kansas Board of Veterinary Examiners (KBVE).