Georgia licenses veterinary technicians through the Georgia State Board of Veterinary Medicine under the Veterinary Practice Act, O.C.G.A. Β§ 43-50-52.
An applicant must be 18, of good moral character, a graduate of an AVMA-approved veterinary technician program, and must pass both the VTNE and the Georgia Veterinary Technician Law Exam.
The license renews biennially on a December 31 even-year clock with eleven continuing-education hours per biennium.
Whether the license is required to do the work is not settled in the sources read.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
A veterinary technician license issued by the Georgia State Board of Veterinary Medicine β the LVT designation β even though the administrative chapter carrying the rules is titled 'Registration of Veterinary Technicians.'
The sources read do not settle it: Rule Chapter 700-6 governs how the license is obtained and kept and contains nothing on whether technician work requires the license, and the Practice Act and Rule Chapter 700-14 were not among the pages read.
Age 18, good moral character, and graduation from a veterinary technician program approved by the American Veterinary Medical Association; the Board reviews all other programs individually, and no experience-based route appears in the sources read.
Two: the VTNE at a passing scaled score of at least 425 on the 200-800 range (or at least 75 on a 0-100 range), reported through the Interstate Reporting Service, plus proof of a passing score on the Georgia Veterinary Technician Law Exam.
Eleven hours of Board-approved continuing education per biennium, including one LEAP hour on Georgia laws, rules and professionalism; the license expires December 31 of even-numbered years and renews biennially.
Dollar fees are not stated in the sources read: the fee rule sets every technician fee 'as set forth on the fee schedule adopted by the Board,' and the VTNE exam fee is AAVSB's.
Not stated in the sources read.
Georgia State Board of Veterinary Medicine
NAVTA's national title-protection categories are a secondary snapshot and were already stale for at least nine states when this series was researched β what appears above for Georgia is that jurisdiction's own statute and board rule as read in September 2026, not a category label.
Georgia's credential is a veterinary technician license issued by the Georgia State Board of Veterinary Medicine under O.C.G.A. Β§ 43-50-52 of the Georgia Veterinary Practice Act, and the state's current designation for it is LVT β Georgia changed the credential's designation from RVT to LVT in 2018.
The naming wrinkle to expect in the Board's materials is that the administrative chapter is still titled 'Registration of Veterinary Technicians,' while the rule text inside it speaks of an 'Application for Veterinary Technician License' and the licensure of Veterinary Technicians.
The registration wording survives in the mechanics rather than the credential: the renewal chapter provides that every license holder is deemed registered with the Board upon issuance and receives a certificate of registration.
On a Georgia job posting, LVT is the letters to expect.
βApplication for licensure of Veterinary Technicians shall be made on forms furnished by the Georgia State Board of Veterinary Medicine.β
The sources read for this page do not settle it.
Rule Chapter 700-6 governs how the license is applied for and kept β age, character, education, exams, renewal β but contains no sentence saying whether an unlicensed person may perform technician work, and the provisions that would settle the question, the Veterinary Practice Act and Rule Chapter 700-14, were not among the pages read.
This page therefore describes how to earn the credential without claiming it gates the job.
Which tasks fall to licensed technicians, assistants, and veterinarians is a separate scope-of-practice question governed by other rules, and is not covered here.
Rule 700-6-.01 sets three gateway conditions that all applicants must meet as provided in Code Section 43-50-52: the applicant has attained age 18, is of good moral character, and is a graduate of a Veterinary Technician program approved by the American Veterinary Medical Association.
A program can submit proof of graduation electronically or by official transcript, and the Board will review all other programs on an individual basis β the research behind this page reads that clause as covering non-AVMA programs, not work experience.
No on-the-job route appears in the sources read, so years accrued in a Georgia practice do not substitute for the program.
βThe applicant is a graduate of a Veterinary Technician program approved by the American Veterinary Medical Association. The veterinary technician program may provide the electronic submission of proof of graduation or an official transcript. The Board will review all other programs on an individual basis.β
Georgia stacks a state law exam on top of the national one.
The VTNE passes at a scaled score of at least 425 where scores range 200-800, or at least 75 where the range is 0-100, and the rule also allows another examination similar in nature and scope that the Board adopts from time to time; transferred scores must be reported to the Board through the Interstate Reporting Service, and candidates pay the applicable transfer fees.
Then every applicant must show proof of a passing score on the Georgia Veterinary Technician Law Exam β a state jurisprudence exam the research file records as required for Georgia technicians, not merely offered.
The sources read set no recency limit on an older VTNE score, so confirm with the Board rather than assuming either way.
βAll applicants for licensure must present proof of having obtained a passing scaled score of at least 425 where the scores range from 200-800 or a passing score of at least 75 when the range is from 0-100 on the National Veterinary Technician Examination or other examination similar in nature and scope as the Board from time to time will adopt.β
Two clocks run at once.
Continuing education accrues at eleven hours of Board-approved CE per biennium, one of which must be the LEAP hour on Georgia laws, rules and professionalism β a technician licensed in the first year of a biennium owes five hours, and one licensed in the second year is exempt for that renewal β while the license itself expires December 31 of even-numbered years and renews biennially, voided if renewal lapses past the division director's period.
Reinstatement after a lapse carries its own figure: ten hours of CE under Rule 700-7-.02, each rule applying to its own situation.
Fees are delegated rather than printed: the fee rule lists application, renewal, delinquency and duplicate fees for technicians but leaves every amount to the Board's adopted fee schedule, and a renewal paid after December 31 of the renewal year owes the delinquent fee plus the renewal fee.
CE may not carry over between biennia, records are kept three years, and the Board audits up to 25 percent of licensees.
βEach veterinary technician licensed to practice in the State of Georgia must obtain eleven (11) hours of Board approved continuing education per biennium for license renewal.β
Georgia writes one narrow bridge for technicians moving from another state: a one-time, six-month temporary license available only for practice in government or nonprofit shelter medicine, nonprofit sterilization clinics, and nonprofit mobile sterilization programs registered with the state.
To qualify, the applicant submits verification of licensure from another state showing training, experience, and testing that substantially meet or exceed Georgia's requirements, plus proof of specialty certification, training, or other experience that does the same.
It is not renewable β once it expires the holder must cease practice until licensed by the Board.
For a relocating technician whose job search is anchored in shelter or high-volume spay-neuter work, that window can cover a start date; for everyone else, the regular licensure route is the only one the sources read describe.
βA one-time, six-month temporary veterinary technician license may be granted for practice in government or nonprofit shelter medicine, nonprofit sterilization clinics, and nonprofit mobile sterilization programs registered with this state.β
This page summarizes Georgiaβs own statute and board rule on CREDENTIALING, as read for this series and current as of September 2026. It does not cover scope of practice β which tasks a credentialed technician may legally perform, and under what level of supervision β which is governed by separate rules and is a different question from how you obtain the credential.
It also does not list application forms, background-check steps or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Georgia State Board of Veterinary Medicineβs own application instructions. Education routes, accepted exams and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Georgia State Board of Veterinary Medicine before you enroll in a program or submit an application.
The sources this page is built from do not settle it.
Board Rule Chapter 700-6 covers how the license is applied for and kept, but no rule in it says whether technician work itself requires the license, and the Georgia Veterinary Practice Act and Rule Chapter 700-14 were not among the pages read.
This page therefore describes how to earn the credential without claiming it gates the job.
Ask the Georgia State Board of Veterinary Medicine about current practice requirements.
Two.
The VTNE must be passed at a scaled score of at least 425 on the 200-800 range, or at least 75 on a 0-100 range; transferred scores must be reported to the Board through the Interstate Reporting Service, with the candidate paying the transfer fees.
Every applicant must also show proof of a passing score on the Georgia Veterinary Technician Law Exam, the state's own jurisprudence test.
Confirm current exam administration with the Georgia State Board of Veterinary Medicine.
Eleven hours of Board-approved continuing education per biennium, one of which must be the LEAP hour on Georgia laws, rules and professionalism.
A technician licensed in the first year of a biennium owes five hours, and one licensed in the second year is exempt for that renewal; hours may not carry over, records are kept three years, and the Board audits up to 25 percent of licensees.
Reinstatement after a lapse is a separate, ten-hour requirement.
Verify your cycle with the Georgia State Board of Veterinary Medicine.
Not on the sources read for this page.
Rule 700-6-.01 requires graduation from a Veterinary Technician program approved by the American Veterinary Medical Association, and the Board's offer to review 'all other programs on an individual basis' refers to non-AVMA programs, not to years worked in a practice.
No experience-based route appears in the credentialing chapter.
If you are working in a Georgia practice and hoping your hours count, confirm directly with the Georgia State Board of Veterinary Medicine before planning around it.
Only for a narrow slice of work.
Georgia offers a one-time, six-month temporary veterinary technician license restricted to practice in government or nonprofit shelter medicine, nonprofit sterilization clinics, and nonprofit mobile sterilization programs registered with the state.
Applicants need verification of out-of-state licensure with training, experience and testing that substantially meet or exceed Georgia's, and the temporary license is not renewable, so you must hold the full license to continue afterward.
Check eligibility with the Georgia State Board of Veterinary Medicine.
Sourced from Georgiaβs own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice β confirm current rules with the Georgia State Board of Veterinary Medicine.