🪪 State credentialing

Veterinary Technician Requirements in Florida

Founder, VeterinaryHires
Last verified September 2026

Florida has no state credential for veterinary technicians — the state Board of Veterinary Medicine licenses veterinarians only.

The CVT on Florida job ads is a Certified Veterinary Technician designation issued by the Florida Veterinary Medical Association (FVMA) as a membership category, not a license.

Earning it takes graduation from an AVMA-accredited program, a VTNE score sent to the FVMA, a signed affirmation about criminal convictions, and a $65 fee for the 2026-2027 membership cycle.

There is no state application, no state fee, and no state jurisprudence exam.

Verify before you rely on this

This page explains credentialing mechanics only — what a state asks for to hold the credential, not whether you personally qualify, and not what tasks you may legally perform once you hold it. Scope of practice and supervision are governed separately. It is general information, not legal advice. Requirements change by statute and by board rule; verify current requirements directly with the state board before you rely on anything here. Florida regulates neither the veterinary technician title nor the tasks beyond the veterinarian's supervision duty — the state Board of Veterinary Medicine licenses veterinarians only, and the CVT is a private membership designation of the Florida Veterinary Medical Association (FVMA).

At a glance

Credential

No state credential exists — Florida's Board of Veterinary Medicine licenses veterinarians only. The CVT on Florida job ads is a Certified Veterinary Technician designation issued by the Florida Veterinary Medical Association (FVMA) as a category of FVMA membership.

Required to work, or only to use the title?

Voluntary — there is nothing state-issued to hold. The CVT in Florida confers no legal scope: an uncredentialed person may lawfully perform the same tasks under a veterinarian.

Education routes

One route, on the FVMA's own form: graduation from an AVMA-accredited veterinary technician program. The form offers no on-the-job or experience alternative.

Exams

The VTNE, documented for the FVMA by an AAVSB score transfer from another state, a score from a Florida administration, or an application to take it with scores sent to the FVMA; scores from before 2020 must arrive via AAVSB's VAULT transfer service. No state jurisprudence exam.

CE & renewal

The $65 fee buys the 2026-2027 membership cycle, through Dec. 31, 2027. Any continuing-education requirement for keeping CVT status is not stated in the sources read.

Fees

$65 to the FVMA for the 2026-2027 membership cycle; there is no state application or credential fee because the state issues no credential.

Title protection

None recorded — the sources read state that Florida regulates neither the technician title nor the technician's tasks beyond the veterinarian's supervision duty.

Credentialing body

Florida Veterinary Medical Association (FVMA)

On national category labels

NAVTA's national title-protection categories are a secondary snapshot and were already stale for at least nine states when this series was researched — what appears above for Florida is that jurisdiction's own statute and board rule as read in September 2026, not a category label.

What the CVT in Florida actually is

📜 FVMA "Application for Membership — Certified Veterinary Technician," 2026-2027 cycle

Florida issues no credential of its own: the Florida Board of Veterinary Medicine, part of the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, licenses veterinarians only.

The CVT title belongs to the Florida Veterinary Medical Association — it is a category of FVMA membership, applied for on the association's own membership form, and FVMA publishes no separate requirements page because the form is the requirements document.

For anyone reading a Florida job ad, that changes what the letters are worth: a CVT here is evidence of training that an association has checked, not a license a state stands behind.

Does anyone have to hold it?

📜 Manual addendum (Florida), 2026-09-16

No. The sources read record that Florida regulates neither the technician title nor the technician's tasks beyond the veterinarian's supervision duty, so an uncredentialed person may lawfully perform the same tasks under a veterinarian.

That cuts both ways: an assistant can build a Florida career without ever applying to the FVMA, and an employer cannot point to a legal CVT threshold, because no law sets one.

Which specific tasks a veterinarian may delegate, and under what supervision, is a scope-of-practice question governed separately and not covered here.

"CVT" in Florida confers no legal scope (title protection: NONE per NAVTA; the state regulates neither the title nor the tasks beyond the veterinarian's supervision duty).

The one education route the form allows

📜 FVMA "Application for Membership — Certified Veterinary Technician," 2026-2027 cycle

The form's eligibility note is absolute: a graduate of an AVMA-accredited veterinary technician program is required for CVT status, and the form documents that with the school's name, address, graduation year and degree type.

There is no on-the-job or experience-based alternative anywhere on the form, so an assistant with years of practice-floor experience has no route to the letters on experience alone.

For anyone choosing a program, AVMA accreditation is the gate to check first — a non-accredited program graduate has no CVT path on this form.

*NOTE: Must be a graduate of an AVMA-accredited veterinary technician program in order to be eligible for CVT status.

The VTNE, and three ways to get your score to the FVMA

📜 FVMA "Application for Membership — Certified Veterinary Technician," 2026-2027 cycle

The form requires a VTNE score and gives three ways to document it: transfer an existing score from another state through AAVSB, report a VTNE already taken in Florida, or apply to take the exam and have the scores sent to the FVMA.

Two details are easy to miss: scores from before 2020 must arrive via AAVSB's VAULT transfer service, and the form puts the transfer duty on the applicant — its own note instructs you to transfer your VTNE score to the Florida Veterinary Medical Association (FVMA), so the score does not travel on its own.

There is no Florida jurisprudence or state-law exam in the packet, and no board application, because there is no board process.

AAVSB administers the VTNE but credentials nobody; the FVMA is the only party evaluating anything here.

If you took the VTNE PRIOR TO 2020, please be sure to have your scores transferred via a VAULT transfer through the AAVSB.

A membership cycle, not a renewal cycle — and the CE gap

📜 FVMA "Application for Membership — Certified Veterinary Technician," 2026-2027 cycle

What the form documents is a paid membership cycle rather than a license term: the $65 fee covers the 2026-2027 cycle, through December 31, 2027.

The sources read do not state any continuing-education requirement for keeping CVT status — the application form is silent on CE — and they do not settle whether FVMA CVTs must renew membership to keep using the designation, so this page leaves both questions open rather than filling them.

If you already hold the CVT, the association is the place to confirm what, if anything, is required to keep it.

Current membership cycle is from 2026-2027. Apply today to get through Dec. 31, 2027.

The title is not legally reserved

📜 Manual addendum (Florida), 2026-09-16

The sources read record no Florida statute reserving the technician title: the state regulates neither the title nor the tasks beyond the veterinarian's supervision duty, and NAVTA's 2022 survey placed Florida in its unregulated group.

Using the phrase veterinary technician on a badge or a job title therefore carries no state penalty.

What the letters are worth comes from what the FVMA verified, not from legal force, which matters when a posting treats CVT as a hard requirement.

The affirmation, and how you actually apply

📜 FVMA "Application for Membership — Certified Veterinary Technician," 2026-2027 cycle

The form carries a signed personal affirmation that the applicant has never been convicted of a felony or any other crime involving moral turpitude — a self-declared statement on an association form, not a state background check.

Mechanically, a 2026 notice on the form says the FVMA no longer accepts applications by email, so applications go through the association's online member portal or by mail to its Orlando office, alongside your clinic and work contact details and the education and exam documentation.

For an uncredentialed assistant weighing the application, the whole packet is one form, one fee, and one exam-score transfer — the real cost and time sit in the accredited program and the VTNE, not in Florida paperwork.

I further confirm that I have never been convicted of a felony or any other crime involving moral turpitude.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes Florida’s own statute and board rule on CREDENTIALING, as read for this series and current as of September 2026. It does not cover scope of practice — which tasks a credentialed technician may legally perform, and under what level of supervision — which is governed by separate rules and is a different question from how you obtain the credential.

It also does not list application forms, background-check steps or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Florida Veterinary Medical Association (FVMA)’s own application instructions. Education routes, accepted exams and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Florida Veterinary Medical Association (FVMA) before you enroll in a program or submit an application.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you have to be certified to work as a veterinary technician in Florida?

No. The sources read record no Florida state credential for veterinary technicians and nothing that reserves the work: the state Board of Veterinary Medicine licenses veterinarians only, and an uncredentialed person may lawfully perform the same tasks under a veterinarian.

The FVMA's CVT is a voluntary designation that signals checked training, not a work permit.

Which tasks a veterinarian may delegate is a separate scope question — confirm specifics with the Florida Veterinary Medical Association or the state board.

What does CVT mean on a Florida job posting?

In Florida, CVT stands for Certified Veterinary Technician, and the designation is issued by the Florida Veterinary Medical Association (FVMA) as a category of FVMA membership — not by any state board.

A Florida CVT has graduated from an AVMA-accredited veterinary technician program and documented a VTNE score with the association.

Because Florida regulates neither the title nor the tasks, the letters indicate verified training rather than legal permission.

Check with the FVMA about a specific posting.

How do you become a CVT in Florida?

Graduate from an AVMA-accredited veterinary technician program, then document your VTNE score with the FVMA: an AAVSB transfer after taking the exam in another state, a score from a Florida administration, or an application to take the exam with scores sent to the association.

If you took the VTNE before 2020, the score must arrive through AAVSB's VAULT transfer service.

Submit the FVMA membership application with the $65 fee for the 2026-2027 cycle and the signed affirmation about felony and moral-turpitude convictions.

Confirm current terms with the FVMA.

Is there a continuing-education or renewal requirement for Florida vet techs?

Not stated in the sources read.

The application form documents only the paid membership cycle — the $65 fee covers 2026-2027, through December 31, 2027 — and says nothing about continuing education, so this page does not claim none exists.

Whether FVMA CVTs must renew membership to keep the designation is likewise not addressed by the form.

Check the FVMA's membership renewal terms for the current requirement.

Is it illegal to call yourself a vet tech in Florida without the credential?

Not on the sources read for this page.

Florida regulates neither the technician title nor the technician's tasks beyond the veterinarian's supervision duty, and no statute penalizing uncredentialed title use appears in them.

The CVT is an association designation, so using its letters without holding them would be a misrepresentation to an employer rather than a state-law offense.

Verify current wording with the Florida Veterinary Medical Association.

Find Veterinary Technician Jobs in Florida
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Florida & Veterinary Technician Resources

Sourced from Florida’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Florida Veterinary Medical Association (FVMA).