California credentials veterinary technicians as Registered Veterinary Technicians (RVTs) through the California Veterinary Medical Board, and the Board's application page requires registration to hold and use the RVT designation.
Four routes lead to eligibility β an AVMA CVTEA-accredited degree, an Alternate Route certificate under California Code of Regulations section 2068.5, the PAVE program, or an out-of-state RVT registration β and every applicant applies directly to the AAVSB for the VTNE before applying to the Board.
Application plus the initial license fee comes to $450.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
A Registered Veterinary Technician (RVT) license issued by the California Veterinary Medical Board; the Board's own page uses license and registration wording for the same credential.
The Board's application page requires registration to hold and use the RVT designation and implies the requirement is mandatory for the title; the exact statute on whether you must be credentialed to work as a technician was not quoted in the sources read.
Four routes: a degree from an AVMA CVTEA-accredited program, an Alternate Route certificate under California Code of Regulations section 2068.5, the PAVE assessment program, or an out-of-state RVT registration β with the Board's page also carrying an alert stating CVTE is no longer a requirement for RVT licensure.
The VTNE, with every applicant applying directly to the AAVSB before applying to the Board; no separate California state exam was found in the sources read.
Not stated in the sources read.
A $225 non-refundable application fee plus a $225 initial license fee β $450 combined, as posted on the Board's own form page β and out-of-state applicants who cannot use a Live Scan location pay the Board an additional $49 for fingerprint processing.
The Board's page treats the RVT designation as held through the state, with a registration issued only after fingerprinting and a background check clear; any statute provision penalizing unregistered use of the designation was not quoted in the sources read.
California Veterinary Medical Board
NAVTA's national title-protection categories are a secondary snapshot and were already stale for at least nine states when this series was researched β what appears above for California is that jurisdiction's own statute and board rule as read in September 2026, not a category label.
California's credential is the Registered Veterinary Technician, abbreviated RVT on job postings and in the Board's own materials, issued by the California Veterinary Medical Board.
The Board's page mixes license and registration wording for the same credential β the application is titled a Registered Veterinary Technician License Application, while the fingerprinting section says a registration is what issues β so treat RVT license and RVT registration as one thing on this page.
The exam in the process belongs to a different body entirely: the Board sends every applicant to the AAVSB to take the VTNE, and the AAVSB itself issues no one's credential.
The sources read require registration to hold and use the RVT designation, and the Board's page implies the requirement is mandatory for the title β but they do not quote the statute that would settle whether a person must hold the credential to actually work as a technician in a California practice.
That gap is the single most important thing to know about this page, and it cuts both ways: do not assume the credential is work-mandatory, and do not assume it is title-only.
What an uncredentialed assistant may legally do in a practice is a separate scope-of-practice question governed by other provisions, and is not covered here.
If your plan depends on the answer, put the question to the Board directly.
The Board's application page sets out four routes: a degree from an American Veterinary Medical Association Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA) program; a certificate from an Alternate Route program, which the page locates in California Code of Regulations section 2068.5 as practical experience and education as equivalent curriculum; the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE) for veterinary technicians; or the requirements for out-of-state applicants already registered as an RVT in another U.S. or Canadian jurisdiction.
The same page also carried an alert reading "CVTE No Longer a Requirement to Obtain RVT Licensure" with no effective date stated, while still listing the CVTEA degree as the first pathway.
The alert never expands the abbreviation, and nothing in the sources read states what CVTE stands for β the research row reads it as a change to the education pathway, but the page leaves that open.
Do not treat the accredited degree as optional on the strength of the alert alone β confirm with the Board where the change landed before you plan around it.
βCVTE No Longer a Requirement to Obtain RVT Licensure.β
Sequencing is the part applicants get wrong.
Every applicant must apply directly to the AAVSB to take the VTNE before applying to the Board, and the VTNE runs in three testing windows a year, each with its own application deadline.
After you have passed and applied with the Board, you must request a Veterinary Application for Uniform Licensure Transfer (VAULT) for veterinary technicians β that step exists because your exam result reaches California through the AAVSB's transfer service.
No separate California state or jurisprudence exam was found in the sources read.
βOnce an applicant has successfully passed the VTNE and applied with the Board, the applicant must request a Veterinary Application for Uniform Licensure Transfer (VAULT) for veterinary technicians.β
The Board's page treats the RVT designation as something held through the state: the application is a license application, and a registration issues only after fingerprinting and a background check clear.
What was not among the sources read is the statute text behind that requirement, including any penalty California attaches to using the RVT designation without holding the credential.
That missing piece matters for how practices word job titles and badges, so treat the question as open here and take it to the Board rather than assuming the letters are free to use.
The Board's form page posts the money: a $225 application fee, non-refundable, plus a $225 initial license fee β $450 combined.
Fingerprinting and a background check must clear before a registration is issued; applicants in California use a Live Scan location for Department of Justice and FBI clearances, while those outside the state mail two FD-258 hard cards and pay the Board $49, of which $17 goes to the FBI and $32 to the DOJ.
Two statutory clocks sit on top: under Business and Professions Code section 4847.1 an application not completed within one year of filing is abandoned with the fee forfeited, and under section 4902 a licensee whose license has been expired more than five years must reapply as a new applicant.
βAll applicants for licensure must complete the fingerprinting and pass a background check before a registration will be issued.β
This page summarizes Californiaβs own statute and board rule on CREDENTIALING, as read for this series and current as of September 2026. It does not cover scope of practice β which tasks a credentialed technician may legally perform, and under what level of supervision β which is governed by separate rules and is a different question from how you obtain the credential.
It also does not list application forms, background-check steps or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the California Veterinary Medical Boardβs own application instructions. Education routes, accepted exams and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the California Veterinary Medical Board before you enroll in a program or submit an application.
The sources read for this page show the Board requiring registration to hold and use the RVT designation, but they do not quote the statute that would settle whether every technician working in a practice must hold the credential.
Treat the work-versus-title question as unresolved here β and what uncredentialed assistants may do is a separate scope question in any case.
Confirm with the California Veterinary Medical Board before relying on either reading.
The Board's application page lists a degree from an AVMA CVTEA program, a certificate from an Alternate Route program under California Code of Regulations section 2068.5, the PAVE assessment for veterinary technicians, and a route for applicants already registered as an RVT in another U.S. or Canadian jurisdiction.
The same page carried an alert stating CVTE is no longer a requirement for RVT licensure, with no effective date given.
Confirm current pathways with the California Veterinary Medical Board.
The Board's form page posts a $225 application fee, non-refundable, plus a $225 initial license fee β $450 combined.
Applicants who cannot use a California Live Scan location pay an additional $49 to the Board for fingerprint card processing, $17 of which goes to the FBI and $32 to the DOJ.
An application not completed within one year of filing is considered abandoned and the application fee forfeited.
Confirm current fees with the California Veterinary Medical Board.
The Board application page read for this page did not state a CE-hours figure or a renewal period, so this page cannot give you one.
The Board publishes continuing education material for licensees separately, and renewal rules change by regulation, so an old figure could cost you a lapse.
Ask the California Veterinary Medical Board directly for the current CE and renewal requirement before planning your cycle.
The Board's page has a dedicated route for technicians registered in another U.S. or Canadian jurisdiction: a Letter of Good Standing from every board that has ever issued you a technician registration, or VAULT documentation covering all of them, plus either completing an education pathway or submitting the Task list β Proof of Experience Form.
The VTNE through the AAVSB is still required first.
Confirm the specifics with the California Veterinary Medical Board.
Sourced from Californiaβs own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice β confirm current rules with the California Veterinary Medical Board.