🪪 State credentialing

Veterinary Technician Requirements in Alaska

Founder, VeterinaryHires
Last verified September 2026

Alaska credentials veterinary technicians through the Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners, part of the state's Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

The credential is the Veterinary Technician License — the LVT on Alaska job ads.

Applicants qualify either by graduating from an AVMA- or CVMA-accredited program or by completing at least two years of supervised on-the-job training, then pass the VTNE.

Licenses run on two-year terms expiring December 31 of even-numbered years; whether the credential is required for the work is not addressed in the sources read.

Verify before you rely on this

This page explains credentialing mechanics only — what a state asks for to hold the credential, not whether you personally qualify, and not what tasks you may legally perform once you hold it. Scope of practice and supervision are governed separately. It is general information, not legal advice. Requirements change by statute and by board rule; verify current requirements directly with the state board before you rely on anything here. Veterinary Technicians in Alaska are regulated by the Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners (Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing).

At a glance

Credential

A Veterinary Technician License issued by the Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners; the holder is the Licensed Veterinary Technician (LVT) that Alaska job postings ask for.

Required to work, or only to use the title?

Not stated in the sources read.

Education routes

Two routes: graduation from an AVMA- or CVMA-accredited veterinary technician program, or at least two years of on-the-job training under a licensed veterinarian within the three years before applying, at least one of them in Alaska.

Exams

The VTNE, required whichever route you take, with the score reported straight from AAVSB's VIVA service; no Alaska-specific exam was found in the sources read.

CE & renewal

No continuing-education hours figure was found in the sources read; the license is issued for a two-year period and expires December 31 of even-numbered years, whichever day it was issued.

Fees

$200 total — a $100 nonrefundable application fee plus a $100 license fee that may be submitted after VTNE results arrive.

Title protection

Not stated in the sources read.

Regulated by

Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners (Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing)

On national category labels

NAVTA's national title-protection categories are a secondary snapshot and were already stale for at least nine states when this series was researched — what appears above for Alaska is that jurisdiction's own statute and board rule as read in September 2026, not a category label.

What the credential is called and who issues it

📜 Form 08-4251 (rev. 2024-10-28)

Alaska's credential is the Veterinary Technician License, issued by the Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners within the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development's Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing — the paperwork runs through application form 08-4251, revised October 28, 2024.

The holder is a Licensed Veterinary Technician, which is the LVT you will see requested on Alaska job postings.

On the application you certify that you have reviewed and will abide by AS 08.98 and 12 AAC 68, the statute and regulation chapter that govern the profession, while division-wide rules at 12 AAC 02 govern items like name changes and abandoned applications.

If you are reading an Alaska posting that asks for an LVT, this Board-issued license is what it is asking for.

Two ways to qualify — a degree, or supervised on-the-job training

📜 Form 08-4251 (rev. 2024-10-28)

Alaska gives you two routes to qualifying, and the second matters most if you are already working in a practice: alongside graduation from an AVMA- or CVMA-accredited veterinary technician program, you can qualify through at least two years of on-the-job training under a licensed veterinarian.

That on-the-job clock is demanding and recent — at least 700 hours a year, for at least two of the three years immediately before you apply, with at least a year of that time worked inside Alaska.

A technician already licensed in another state who meets the same employment-verification requirements is excused from that in-state year.

The Board's employment-verification form draws the line on what counts: on-the-job training performing veterinary technician duties only, and kennel assistant and receptionist duties are named as tasks that do not meet the training requirement.

For a student weighing the routes, the accredited-program option carries no recency window or hour minimum; the experience route carries both.

Completion of at least two years of on-the-job veterinary technician training under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian within the immediate three years prior to an application.

The VTNE — and you can take it before you apply

📜 Form 08-4251 (rev. 2024-10-28)

The Veterinary Technician National Examination is required whichever route you take, and your score must arrive at the division straight from AAVSB's Veterinary Information Verifying Agency (VIVA) rather than from you.

AAVSB approves candidates to sit the exam and administers it, but it does not credential anyone — the Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners issues the license.

One sequencing detail helps planners: the division states that applications for licensure are not required prior to passing the exam, so you can clear the VTNE while you assemble transcripts, employment verifications and references.

No Alaska-specific or jurisprudence exam was found in the sources read.

Successful completion of the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE) sponsored by the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB). Your score must be reported directly from AAVSB's Veterinary Information Verifying Agency (VIVA).

Renewal runs on a fixed two-year clock; no CE figure was found

📜 Form 08-4251 (rev. 2024-10-28)

Licenses are issued for two-year periods and expire on December 31 of every even-numbered year, no matter when in the cycle you were licensed — with one wrinkle: a license issued within 90 days of an expiration date runs to the next biennial date instead.

The division sends one renewal notice at least 30 days before expiration, but not receiving it does not excuse a late renewal, so the December 31 date is yours to track.

For a technician relocating to Alaska mid-cycle, that fixed date means the first renewal can arrive in well under two years.

The documents read for this page carry no continuing-education hours figure, so verify the current CE requirement with the Board directly.

Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on December 31 of even-numbered years, regardless of the date of issuance, except licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date which are issued to the next biennial expiration date.

Fees, references and the rest of the application packet

📜 Form 08-4251 (rev. 2024-10-28)

Beyond the education proof and the exam, the application packet is specific.

Fees total $200: a $100 application fee that is nonrefundable, plus a $100 license fee you may submit after your VTNE results arrive.

Three professional reference letters are required on the Board's own form, at least two of them from licensed doctors of veterinary medicine and all sent directly to the division by the people writing them, alongside verification of your license from every state where you have ever held a veterinary technician license or certification.

Application forms, authorizations and verifications go stale twelve months after the division receives them and must be resubmitted before the application is considered, an application goes abandoned after twelve months without correspondence and is then denied without prejudice, and the signature page warns that falsifying an application is unsworn falsification, a Class A misdemeanor under Alaska Statute 11.56.210.

Three professional reference letters (using form #08-4251b), at least two of which must be from licensed doctors of veterinary medicine. They must be sent directly to the division from the person completing the professional reference.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes Alaska’s own statute and board rule on CREDENTIALING, as read for this series and current as of September 2026. It does not cover scope of practice — which tasks a credentialed technician may legally perform, and under what level of supervision — which is governed by separate rules and is a different question from how you obtain the credential.

It also does not list application forms, background-check steps or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners (Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing)’s own application instructions. Education routes, accepted exams and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners (Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing) before you enroll in a program or submit an application.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do you have to be licensed to work as a veterinary technician in Alaska?

The sources this page is built on — the Board's application instructions and forms — do not address whether Alaska law requires the license to do the work, so this page can't settle it.

What they do show is the path to the license: an accredited program or two years of supervised on-the-job training, then the VTNE, with the on-the-job route itself built on performing technician duties under a licensed veterinarian before any license exists.

Confirm the current legal requirement with the Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners.

Can you qualify as an Alaska vet tech without a veterinary technology degree?

Yes, on the documents read.

Alaska accepts at least two years of on-the-job veterinary technician training under a licensed veterinarian within the three years before you apply — at least 700 hours a year, at least one year of it in Alaska, documented by your supervising veterinarian on the Board's employment-verification form.

Kennel assistant and receptionist duties do not count toward it.

You still have to pass the VTNE either way.

Confirm details with the Board.

How much does an Alaska veterinary technician license cost?

$200 in total: a $100 application fee that is nonrefundable, plus a $100 license fee that may be submitted after your VTNE results arrive.

The application instructions read for this page list no renewal fee, so ask the Board what the current renewal charge is before you budget for it.

If an application is abandoned after twelve months, the application fee is not refunded, though you have 30 days to request a refund of the license fee.

How many continuing education hours does Alaska require for vet techs?

Not stated in the sources read — the Board's application instructions contain no CE-hours figure, so this page can't give you a number.

What the instructions do document is the renewal cycle: licenses are issued for two-year periods and expire on December 31 of every even-numbered year, with one renewal notice sent at least 30 days ahead.

Contact the Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners for the current continuing-education requirement.

Is it illegal to call yourself a vet tech in Alaska without a license?

The application instructions this page is built on do not address what Alaska law does about unlicensed title use, so this page can't answer it.

The credential itself clearly exists — the Board issues a Veterinary Technician License and its holder is an LVT — but whether the title or the work is legally reserved to licensees is a question for the statute, not the application packet.

Ask the Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners.

Find Veterinary Technician Jobs in Alaska
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Alaska & Veterinary Technician Resources

Sourced from Alaska’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners (Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing).