Rural Iowa Veterinarian Loan Repayment Program
The Rural Iowa Veterinarian Loan Repayment Program pays up to $60,000 in loan repayment to veterinarians who practice full-time in a USDA-published veterinary shortage area or an Iowa rural service commitment area — four increments of up to $15,000, each paid after a completed 12-month employment period, run by Iowa College Aid.
The screen that rules the most people out comes first: you must be in your final year of veterinary school or have finished your DVM within the past five years.
Maximum award
$60,000
Largest yearly payment
$15,000
Program type
Loan repayment for practicing veterinarians
Status, September 23, 2026
No application window published
Source: the program’s own pages and the law they cite, read 2026-09-23. “Maximum award” and “largest yearly payment” are the program’s own ceilings, not typical awards.
Confirm the terms and the deadline before you rely on an award
Every line above is taken from the program’s own pages, read 2026-09-23. Iowa was not on AVMA's state loan-repayment summary (last updated August 2017, since withdrawn); the program was found and checked separately.
This is loan repayment earned through practice, not a scholarship and not a forgivable school loan: you sign a program agreement with Iowa College Aid, the Iowa Department of Education agency that administers it, and the award pays toward your outstanding federal student loan balances.
The program was established to address veterinarian shortages in rural Iowa communities, and award priority goes to private practice food supply veterinarians.
Money moves after the work, not before it: each increment of up to $15,000 is paid at the end of a successfully completed 12-month employment period, with nothing up front.
Read the eligibility list as screens, ordered by how fast each ends an application.
The DVM window comes first: you must be in the final year of a doctor of veterinary medicine degree program or have completed one within the past five years, so a veterinarian further out from graduation than that does not qualify.
Next, the program bars anyone who has participated in or received loan repayment awards through the National Veterinary Medicine Loan Repayment Program administered by the National Institute of Food and Agriculture, so a prior federal award rules Iowa out before anything else about the application matters.
You must also receive or possess a license to practice veterinary medicine in Iowa, and you must secure full-time employment in an eligible area and practice full-time there for four consecutive years after entering the agreement.
The last screen is place: a USDA-published veterinary shortage area, or a rural service commitment area that meets the matching-contribution condition described below.
The ceiling is $60,000, and the structure is even rather than back-loaded: up to $15,000 after each successful 12-month employment period, four times, toward outstanding Federal Subsidized Stafford, Unsubsidized Stafford and Graduate PLUS balances.
Because each increment is paid only after a completed year, you carry the loan payments yourself and watch the balance drop after the fact — nothing at signing, nothing mid-year.
The award's value also depends on the loan mix: the program page names Federal Subsidized Stafford, Unsubsidized Stafford and Graduate PLUS as where repayment goes, so a borrower whose debt sits in other loans gets less out of the same ceiling.
Iowa College Aid's page does not say whether payments under a signed agreement depend on future appropriations, which is worth asking about before you sign.
The one-year clock starts at signing or at DVM completion, whichever comes later: you must become licensed and employed in the practice of veterinary medicine in a veterinary shortage area or rural service commitment area in Iowa within one year of signing the program agreement or completing the doctor of veterinary medicine degree, whichever is most recent.
The service obligation itself is a minimum of four consecutive years in an eligible area, and payments track those employment periods — up to $15,000 for each completed 12-month period.
Leaving early costs the unearned increments, so the risk is sharpest in a year that ends just short of a payment.
For the exit the page does describe: an applicant who signs an agreement but fails to meet the program criteria before receiving an award has no further employment requirement.
Whether amounts already paid would have to be returned is not stated, so put that question to Iowa College Aid before signing.
Applications go through Iowa College Aid's online application form.
The 2026–27 cycle opened February 1, 2026, and the page warns that applying before a cycle's opening date returns an error; as of September 23, 2026 the page stated no closing date, so confirm the current window with Iowa College Aid before building a job search around an award.
If all on-time eligible applicants cannot be funded, agreements are prioritized by practice type and area, then Iowa high school graduation, then the date the application is received — award priority goes to private practice food supply veterinarians, and applying early is the last tiebreaker.
For someone job-hunting now, screen the location first: a USDA-published veterinary shortage area qualifies on its own, while a rural service commitment area has to meet the matching-contribution condition.
The priority list names private practice food supply veterinarians in either area and veterinarians generally in a service commitment area — no category for a non-food-supply veterinarian in a veterinary shortage area.
That applicant is eligible; where the list leaves them in a shortfall is not stated.
Iowa's program bars anyone who has participated in or received loan repayment awards through the federal Veterinary Medicine Loan Repayment Program administered by the National Institute of Food and Agriculture, so taking a federal award first ends any chance at Iowa's program.
The bar runs one way: Iowa's page says nothing about whether signing an Iowa agreement affects federal VMLRP eligibility, so don't assume an Iowa-first application preserves the federal option — check that against the federal program's rules before you sequence applications.
The federal program's own terms — amounts, service obligation, how it pays — are covered on our national loan repayment article; compare both against the same job offer before you take either.
The rural service commitment area route carries a condition that falls on the community, not the veterinarian.
A rural service commitment area is an Iowa city with a population less than 26,000 located more than 20 miles from a city with a population of at least 50,000, and the area must provide a matching contribution equal to 12.5% of the veterinarian's eligible student loan balance, paid to a trust fund held by the state of Iowa that funds future recipient awards.
That turns the matching contribution into a pre-application question: whoever hosts the practice has to agree to fund it, so ask before you commit to a job.
A town that meets the size and distance definitions on its own does not make the placement eligible without it.
Up to $60,000, paid in four increments of up to $15,000 toward outstanding Federal Subsidized Stafford, Unsubsidized Stafford and Graduate PLUS balances.
Each increment is paid at the end of a successfully completed 12-month employment period, so the full amount arrives only after four consecutive years of full-time practice in an eligible area.
Award priority goes to private practice food supply veterinarians when funding cannot cover every on-time applicant.
No. Eligibility runs from the degree: you must be in the final year of a doctor of veterinary medicine program or have completed one within the past five years.
A veterinarian whose DVM is older than that does not qualify, however the rest of the application looks.
The other screens — no prior federal Veterinary Medicine Loan Repayment Program award, an Iowa license, full-time employment in an eligible area for four consecutive years — apply alongside the degree window.
You qualify through a veterinary shortage area — a service area in Iowa published by USDA — or a rural service commitment area, which is an Iowa city with a population less than 26,000 located more than 20 miles from a city with a population of at least 50,000.
The rural service commitment area route adds a condition: the area must provide a matching contribution equal to 12.5% of the veterinarian's eligible student loan balance.
Whichever route you use, the practice must be full-time and the commitment runs four consecutive years.
Applications for the 2026–27 cycle opened February 1, 2026; as of September 23, 2026 the program page stated no closing date.
Apply through Iowa College Aid's online application form, and expect an error if you submit before a cycle's opening date.
With no stated end date, confirm the current window with Iowa College Aid before you plan a job move around an award.
Payments are tied to completed service: each increment of up to $15,000 is paid only after a successfully completed 12-month employment period, so stopping early costs you the increments tied to the years you did not finish.
For the period before any award is received, the program page says an applicant who signs an agreement but fails to meet the program criteria has no further employment requirement.
The page does not say whether amounts already paid must be repaid — ask Iowa College Aid directly before signing.
Sources
Program facts read 2026-09-23. Page last updated 2026-09-23.