Wyoming licenses veterinarians through the Wyoming Board of Veterinary Medicine.
The statute never names the NAVLE — it directs the Board to adopt and use the examination prepared by the national board of veterinary examiners, the NAVLE in practice — and the Board may add oral interviews or practical demonstrations.
The Board's Forms page lists a State Veterinary Jurisprudence Examination.
Out-of-state veterinarians can be licensed without examination under stated conditions, licenses renew every December 31, and the temporary permit runs only until exam results are announced.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Wyoming's statute never names the NAVLE — it authorizes the Board to adopt and use the examination prepared by the national board of veterinary examiners, pre-branding language that functions as the NAVLE requirement, and no numeric passing score is stated in the sources read.
The Board's Forms page lists a "State Veterinary Jurisprudence Examination" form, so a state-specific exam exists; its exact format is not stated in the sources read.
The written examination may be supplemented by oral interviews and practical demonstrations the Board deems necessary, so assessment beyond the paper exam sits at the Board's discretion.
Neither ECFVG nor PAVE is named in the statute sections read, and how a foreign-trained graduate qualifies is not stated in the sources read — certification holders should confirm their route with the Board.
Yes — under §33-30-208 ("When examination not required") the Board may license without exam a practicing veterinarian licensed three or more years in a substantially equivalent state with that state board's recommendation, or an applicant who passed the national exam within the preceding three years.
Licenses expire annually on December 31 (§33-30-211); the statute specifically mandates 3 hours of continuing education on responsible controlled-substance prescribing every 2 years, while the total annual CE-hour requirement is set by board rule and is not stated in the sources read.
Yes — but only for an applicant pending exam results: it is valid until the day after results are announced, and the Board may revoke it by majority vote without a hearing (§33-30-209).
Wyoming Board of Veterinary Medicine
No interstate veterinary licensure compact is currently operational in any state, including Wyoming — none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes or administrative codes references joining, enacting or currently considering one, as of September 2026.
Wyoming's examination statute predates the NAVLE's current branding: §33-30-207 authorizes the Board to "adopt and use the examination prepared by the national board of veterinary examiners," which is how the state's law expresses the national licensing exam every candidate now sits as the NAVLE.
Because Wyoming's own law states no numeric passing score, the operative standard is the one the testing entity sets rather than a number written into state rule.
The same section also lets the Board supplement the written exam with "oral interviews and practical demonstrations as the board may deem necessary," so an applicant should be prepared for the possibility of more than computer-based testing.
A new graduate awaiting results has one narrow bridge — the temporary permit described below, which expires the day after scores are announced.
“adopt and use the examination prepared by the national board of veterinary examiners”
The clearest evidence in the sources read that Wyoming layers a state-specific exam on top of the national one is the Board's own Forms page, which lists a form titled "State Veterinary Jurisprudence Examination." What the sources do not show is anything about format — no passing score, delivery method, question count, or study outline is stated, and that unknown is marked as unverified in the research rather than filled in.
For a relocating veterinarian, treat this as the layer that has to be completed in Wyoming regardless of where you trained or tested.
Ask the Board for the current form and its format before scheduling anything around it.
The statute sections read name neither ECFVG nor PAVE, and they don't state how a foreign-trained graduate qualifies — the determination runs through the application process under §33-30-206, the section titled "Application for License; Fee; Determination of Qualifications." Nationally, NAVLE eligibility runs through graduation from an AVMA Council on Education-accredited college or, for foreign graduates, an ECFVG or PAVE certificate, but whether Wyoming's Board accepts either certificate is not stated in the sources read.
That silence is an absence in the sources, not a rejection: a foreign-trained veterinarian should confirm the equivalence route with the Board before building a Wyoming application around a certificate.
Wyoming's no-examination pathway sits in §33-30-208, and it opens two routes.
The first is for a practicing veterinarian licensed three or more years in a substantially equivalent state, with a recommendation from that state's board.
The second is for an applicant who passed the national examination within the preceding three years — which makes score recency the deciding fact for a recent graduate relocating to Wyoming, and closes that second route for a veterinarian whose national exam is older.
Before relying on either route, read the note below on §33-30-225: the chapter's own "Reciprocity" section is not about veterinarians at all.
Licenses expire annually on December 31 under §33-30-211, so renewal comes due the same date every year for every Wyoming licensee — including a part-time or relief veterinarian who practiced only a few months of the license year.
The statute is specific about one continuing-education mandate: 3 hours on responsible controlled-substance prescribing every 2 years.
The total annual CE-hour requirement is set by board rule and is not stated in the sources read, so confirm the full yearly number — and any subject rules beyond the controlled-substance mandate — with the Board before counting a renewal year's hours.
Wyoming's temporary permit is an examination-results bridge, not a relief license: it covers an applicant pending exam results and is valid only until the day after results are announced, at which point it ends on its own terms.
The Board may revoke it by majority vote without a hearing, so the privilege is narrow and easily withdrawn.
Nothing in the sources read shows a short-term permit for an already-licensed out-of-state veterinarian doing relief stints — plan on full Wyoming licensure, through §33-30-208's conditions or the examination route, before taking any assignment.
Anyone researching Wyoming veterinary reciprocity eventually hits §33-30-225, titled "Reciprocity," inside the veterinarian chapter — but despite the title it is not a veterinarian provision: it covers animal euthanasia technicians.
It is an easy miscite because of where it sits and what it is called.
For a relocating or relief veterinarian it changes nothing: the operative no-examination pathway is §33-30-208, described above, and the Board can confirm which provisions govern veterinarian licensing.
This page summarizes Wyoming’s own statute and board rule as read for this series, current as of September 2026. It does not list application forms, current fees beyond what’s cited above, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Wyoming Board of Veterinary Medicine’s own application instructions.
Accepted exams, endorsement conditions and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Wyoming Board of Veterinary Medicine before you register for an exam or submit an application.
Wyoming's statute never uses the name: §33-30-207 directs the Board to adopt and use the examination prepared by the national board of veterinary examiners, which is the NAVLE in practice.
Wyoming's own law states no numeric passing score, and the Board may supplement the written exam with oral interviews and practical demonstrations.
Confirm the current exam arrangements with the Wyoming Board of Veterinary Medicine before you schedule.
The Board's Forms page lists a "State Veterinary Jurisprudence Examination" form, so a state-specific examination exists; what the sources read don't state is its format — no passing score, delivery method, or study outline.
Treat it as the layer that must be completed in Wyoming even if you tested elsewhere.
Ask the Wyoming Board of Veterinary Medicine for the current form and format.
Under §33-30-208, yes, on stated conditions: either you are a practicing veterinarian licensed three or more years in a substantially equivalent state with a recommendation from that state's board, or you passed the national examination within the preceding three years.
Note that the statute section titled "Reciprocity" (§33-30-225) applies to animal euthanasia technicians, not veterinarians.
Confirm your route with the Wyoming Board of Veterinary Medicine.
Only a narrow one: a temporary permit for an applicant pending examination results, valid until the day after results are announced, which the Board may revoke by majority vote without a hearing.
Nothing in the sources read shows a short-term permit for an already-licensed out-of-state veterinarian doing relief work, so plan on full Wyoming licensure first.
Check with the Wyoming Board of Veterinary Medicine.
No. As of September 2026, no state — Wyoming included — has joined an operational interstate veterinary licensure compact; none currently exists in any U.S. jurisdiction.
A veterinarian moving to Wyoming should use the state's own licensure-without-examination pathway under §33-30-208, which rests on a board recommendation or recent national-exam passage rather than any multistate agreement.
Confirm current status with the Wyoming Board of Veterinary Medicine.
Sourced from Wyoming’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Wyoming Board of Veterinary Medicine.