West Virginia licenses veterinarians through the West Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine.
Applicants take the NAVLE if they graduated after 2000, plus the board's own WV State Jurisprudence Exam, with education shown through AVMA accreditation or an ECFVG or PAVE certificate for foreign-trained graduates.
The Series 1 veterinarian rules contain no dedicated endorsement clause, so an out-of-state licensee should plan on the standard application.
Licenses renew annually by December 31 under a Series 6 fee schedule that sets the initial application, examination and license fee at $300.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Required if the applicant graduated after 2000 — the board's own stated condition; the board also processes NAVLE eligibility itself for a $75 fee under its Series 6 fee schedule.
Yes — the WV State Jurisprudence Exam is required; the sources read name the exam but not its format or passing score.
None identified in the sources read.
Both pathways are named explicitly in the Series 1 Rules — AVMA accreditation for domestic graduates, or an ECFVG or PAVE certificate for foreign-trained ones.
No dedicated endorsement or reciprocity clause was found in the Series 1 Rules; the application does require disclosure and verification of every veterinary license ever held elsewhere, but whether a true reduced-requirement pathway exists is not stated in the sources read.
Licenses renew annually, due December 31, with the board's online renewal window running October 1 through February 15; the specific CE-hour count is not stated in the sources read.
The board lists "A temporary license for WV State of Emergencies" among its license types; its terms beyond that label are not stated in the sources read.
West Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine (WVBVM)
No interstate veterinary licensure compact is currently operational in any state, including West Virginia — none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes or administrative codes references joining, enacting or currently considering one, as of September 2026.
West Virginia's own materials state the NAVLE condition by graduation date: the exam is required "if the applicant graduated after 2000." For a new graduate that is simply step one, and the board handles the eligibility paperwork itself — the Series 6 fee schedule carries a $75 NAVLE eligibility processing fee, so approval to sit the exam runs through the West Virginia application.
A veterinarian who graduated in 2000 or earlier sits outside the board's stated condition, and the sources read don't describe what the board asks of that applicant instead; the application and the board resolve that case.
Score-recency windows are likewise not addressed in the sources read.
“if the applicant graduated after 2000”
Beyond the national exam, the board requires the WV State Jurisprudence Exam, with the requirement recorded in the Series 1 veterinarian rules.
The sources read name the exam but stop there — no format, length, fee or passing score is stated — so ask the board what the test involves before scheduling it.
For a relocating veterinarian, this is the one state-specific hurdle the sources confirm flatly: it is listed as required, with no exemption described.
Domestic graduates show education through graduation from an AVMA-accredited college.
Foreign-trained graduates have both certifying pathways named explicitly in the Series 1 Rules — ECFVG and PAVE — so neither certificate requires a separate equivalency ruling from the board itself.
The sources read don't itemize which transcript or certificate documents the application expects beyond those names, which makes the board's application checklist the practical reference point before you file.
The Series 1 veterinarian rules contain no dedicated endorsement or reciprocity clause, and the research pass could not confirm a reduced-requirement mechanism for out-of-state licensees.
What the sources do establish is a license-history gate: the application requires disclosure and verification of every veterinary license ever held elsewhere.
A relocating veterinarian should therefore assemble the license history for every prior jurisdiction early — those verifications take time — and plan on the standard exam sequence unless the board confirms a shorter path in writing.
Whether any true endorsement mechanism exists behind the application is not stated in the sources read.
West Virginia licenses renew on an annual cycle, due December 31, and the board's online renewal window runs October 1 through February 15.
The Series 6 fee schedule prices renewal at $250 and lets the board assess a late penalty of up to 25% of the original fee.
The specific continuing-education hour count is not stated in the sources read; the board's site lists veterinarian continuing-education guidelines separately, so confirm your hours there rather than assuming a number.
For a relief veterinarian juggling assignments across state lines, an annual December 31 deadline is the date to calendar.
The board's license-type list includes one entry it labels "A temporary license for WV State of Emergencies." That label is the entire sourced record: no eligibility criteria, duration, scope of practice or fee is stated anywhere in the sources read.
Because the name ties it to declared state emergencies, it should not be read as a general relief permit for routine locum work — a veterinarian planning short-stint assignments needs the actual terms from the board before counting on it.
“A temporary license for WV State of Emergencies”
The Series 6 fee schedule sets the veterinarian application, examination and license fee at $300, annual renewal at $250, NAVLE eligibility processing at $75, inactive status at $75, and reactivation at $250.
The board also waives the initial licensure fee for a qualifying low-income individual, and the initial fee or renewals for military families as the rule defines them, with a decision due within 30 days of a complete application.
A new graduate watching startup costs should read the waiver definitions before paying.
This page summarizes West Virginia’s own statute and board rule as read for this series, current as of September 2026. It does not list application forms, current fees beyond what’s cited above, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the West Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine (WVBVM)’s own application instructions.
Accepted exams, endorsement conditions and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the West Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine (WVBVM) before you register for an exam or submit an application.
Yes.
Alongside the NAVLE — required if the applicant graduated after 2000 — West Virginia requires its own state jurisprudence exam.
The sources read name the exam but don't describe its format, length or passing score, so confirm the details with the West Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine before you schedule it.
The sources read show no dedicated endorsement or reciprocity clause in West Virginia's Series 1 veterinarian rules, and a reduced-requirement pathway could not be confirmed.
What is confirmed: the application requires disclosure and verification of every veterinary license ever held elsewhere.
Plan on the standard application, exams included, until the West Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine tells you otherwise.
The specific CE-hour count is not stated in the sources read.
What is stated: licenses renew annually by December 31, the online renewal window runs October 1 through February 15, and the Series 6 renewal fee is $250.
The board publishes veterinarian continuing-education guidelines separately — verify your current requirement with the West Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine before renewing.
The board lists a license type it calls "A temporary license for WV State of Emergencies," and the sources read state nothing beyond the label — no eligibility, duration, scope or fee.
Don't treat it as a general relief permit for routine locum stints.
Ask the West Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine what the license actually covers before planning short-term work.
No. No interstate veterinary licensure compact is operational in any state as of September 2026, and the West Virginia board pages reviewed for this guide mention none.
Moving a license between states runs through each state's own endorsement or examination process — in West Virginia's case, the standard application described above.
Confirm current practice with the West Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine.
Sourced from West Virginia’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the West Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine (WVBVM).