The District of Columbia licenses veterinarians through the Board of Veterinary Medicine, part of DC Health.
Licensure by examination pairs the education rule with a NAVLE pass (score set by the testing board) plus a signed jurisprudence affidavit rather than a scored state-law exam.
Endorsement is available after twelve months licensed elsewhere.
Renewal takes 36 hours of CE per two-year term, but DC Health's birth-month transition means a credential's expiration date depends on when it was issued.
Practice without a license is limited to a narrow, supervised 90-day authorization.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Required for licensure by examination, with the passing score set by the National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (NBVME) rather than restated in DC's own rule; a passing score seven or more years old can trigger 400 hours of externship or mentorship plus 60 hours of continuing education for an applicant who holds no active license in any U.S. jurisdiction.
Not a scored exam — the Board's application package requires a signed DC Board of Veterinary Jurisprudence Affidavit, and no separate jurisprudence examination appears in the licensure-by-examination rule.
Not stated in the sources read.
Not stated in the sources read.
Available to a veterinarian licensed in another U.S. state or jurisdiction for at least the twelve months preceding the application, who meets DC's education requirement and has already passed the NAVLE or an NBVME-equivalent exam — with no veterinary license held anywhere revoked, suspended or out of good standing, and qualification decided at the Board's discretion.
36 hours of approved continuing education per two-year licensure term — including 2 hours of LGBTQ continuing education and 10% of the total on the Director's designated public-health-priority subjects — with the first renewal exempt. The codified term runs January 1 of each even-numbered year through December 31 of the following odd-numbered year, but DC Health's board page has been transitioning credentials to a birth-month renewal cycle since June 16, 2024 — confirm your own expiration date through the Board's online renewal portal.
A 90-day temporary authorization to practice without a license, limited to veterinary students, initial applicants awaiting Board action, and candidates completing a 400-hour mentorship track — supervised, and not a general relief or locum permit.
Board of Veterinary Medicine (DC Health)
No interstate veterinary licensure compact is currently operational in any state, including the District of Columbia — none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes or administrative codes references joining, enacting or currently considering one, as of September 2026.
DC's licensure-by-examination rule pairs the education requirement with a passing score on the NAVLE — or on an equivalent examination administered by the National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (NBVME) or its successor.
DC's own rule does not restate a numeric passing score: it defers to whatever score the NBVME sets as the testing agency.
The rule's age provision matters for returning clinicians: an applicant who achieved a passing score seven or more years before filing, and who holds no valid and active license in any U.S. jurisdiction, may be required to complete 400 hours of Board-approved externship or mentorship plus 60 hours of continuing education.
A veterinarian who let every license lapse years ago should budget for that bridge before filing.
An applicant with a recent NAVLE, or who still holds an active license somewhere, falls outside that provision.
“The passing scores on NAVLE shall be a passing score as determined by NBVME, the testing agency.”
DC does not administer a scored state-law test: the licensure-by-examination rule names only the education requirement and the NAVLE or NBVME-equivalent exam, and no separate jurisprudence examination appears in the regulatory sections read for this page.
What the Board's application package does require is a signed DC Board of Veterinary Jurisprudence Affidavit — an attestation rather than a proctored test — filed alongside a Veterinarian Certification of Moral Character, a Social Security Number Affidavit and a criminal background check.
The codified regulations read for this page do not identify which section imposes the affidavit, so treat the application package as the controlling checklist and confirm its current contents with the Board before filing.
“The application package for the Board of Veterinary Medicine must include all documents listed in the below. The Board reviews each application package and determines an applicant's eligibility for a license.”
Both licensure routes — examination and endorsement alike — run every applicant through the same education requirement under § 2802.1 of the veterinary chapter.
The sections of the regulations read for this page do not set out that requirement's degree standards, and neither do they name the ECFVG or PAVE certificates.
The silence is a gap in the sources rather than a finding of refusal: nothing read says DC rejects those certificates, and nothing read confirms them.
A foreign-trained veterinarian should ask the Board directly how it evaluates ECFVG or PAVE certification against § 2802.1 before building an application around either.
An applicant needs twelve months — not years — of licensure in another U.S. state or jurisdiction immediately preceding the application date, so a veterinarian licensed elsewhere for under a year uses the examination route instead.
The NAVLE does not have to be retaken: a previously passed NAVLE, or an equivalent NBVME-administered exam, satisfies the exam condition.
The discipline screen is long-reaching: a veterinary license the applicant holds or has ever held that is revoked, suspended or otherwise not in good standing blocks endorsement until it is restored, so an old sanction in a long-past jurisdiction still has to be cleaned up first.
Even a complete file is not a guarantee — the rule puts the determination of qualification at the discretion of the Board.
“A person licensed to practice veterinary medicine in another state or jurisdiction of the United States, for at least the twelve (12) months preceding the application date, may qualify for licensure by endorsement in the District if the person meets the educational requirement under § 2802.1 and has taken and passed the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE) or an equivalent examination administered by the National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (NBVME) or its successor organization.”
Renewal requires 36 hours of approved continuing education completed within the two years preceding expiration, 2 of them LGBTQ continuing education and 10% on the Director's designated District public-health-priority subjects, with a licensee's first renewal exempt.
Those hours attach to the licensure term § 2899 defines: a fixed two-year cycle, January 1 of each even-numbered year through December 31 of the following odd-numbered year.
DC Health's own board page, though, announces a transition of all professional credentials to a birth-month renewal cycle: credentials issued on or after June 16, 2024 expire the last day of the holder's birth month, and renewing licensees entered it beginning September 2024.
The two sources have not been reconciled, so confirm your actual expiration date through the Board's online renewal portal rather than assuming either cycle.
Licensees who received less than two years on their license term during the transition may satisfy 50% of the CE requirement — a one-time allowance; the 2 LGBTQ hours and the 10% public-health share are still owed in full.
“an applicant shall have completed, during the two (2)-year period preceding the license expiration, thirty-six (36) hours of approved continuing education, which shall include two (2) hours of LGBTQ continuing education, provided further that ten percent (10%) of the total required continuing education is in the subjects determined by the Director as public health priorities.”
DC's only mechanism for practicing without a license is a 90-day temporary authorization, and its eligible groups are narrow: a student enrolled in an accredited veterinary medical program, an applicant awaiting Board action on a filed initial application, and candidates completing a 400-hour mentorship requirement under the examination rule's age provision or the reactivation and reinstatement rules.
The authorization requires supervision by a licensed veterinarian in good standing, and the holder may not represent themselves — or allow anyone else to represent them — to the public or patients as a licensed veterinarian.
It is not a short-staffing or locum permit: an already-licensed out-of-state veterinarian covering relief shifts needs full licensure by endorsement.
The Board's application package includes a 90 Day Supervised Practice Form, which the sources read connect to this 90-day authorization rather than to any separate supervised-practice examination.
“An authorization to practice veterinary medicine pursuant to this section shall not exceed ninety (90) days.”
The fee schedule carries a dedicated veterinarians line: an $85 application fee, a $179 license fee, a $130 renewal fee, an $85 late-renewal fee, a $245 reinstatement fee, a $179 paid-inactive status, plus $34 document duplication and records-verification fees and a $50 criminal background check.
There is no separate endorsement fee and no veterinarian examination fee line in the schedule — consistent with the NAVLE being billed by the testing board rather than by DC.
A relocating veterinarian budgeting a move can frame the cash outlay as the $85 application and $179 license on the way in, then $130 every two years to keep the license active.
“VETERINARIANS: Application Fee $85.00 · License Fee $179.00 · Paid Inactive Status $179.00 · Renewal Fee $130.00 · Late Renewal Fee $85.00 · Document Duplication Fee $34.00 · Verification of Records $34.00 · Reinstatement Fee $245.00 · Criminal Background Check $50.00”
This page summarizes Washington, DC’s own statute and board rule as read for this series, current as of September 2026. It does not list application forms, current fees beyond what’s cited above, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Board of Veterinary Medicine (DC Health)’s own application instructions.
Accepted exams, endorsement conditions and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Board of Veterinary Medicine (DC Health) before you register for an exam or submit an application.
No scored one appears in the regulations read for this page.
DC's licensure-by-examination rule names the NAVLE — or an equivalent NBVME-administered exam — with the passing score set by the testing board, and the application package adds a signed DC Board of Veterinary Jurisprudence Affidavit rather than a proctored state-law test.
Ask the Board of Veterinary Medicine (DC Health) to confirm the current application checklist before you file.
Yes, if you have already passed it.
Endorsement requires a license in another U.S. state or jurisdiction for at least the twelve months preceding your application, DC's education requirement, a previously passed NAVLE or NBVME-equivalent exam, and no veterinary license you hold or ever held that is revoked, suspended or otherwise not in good standing.
The Board makes the final call at its discretion — confirm your situation with the Board of Veterinary Medicine (DC Health).
Thirty-six hours of approved continuing education per two-year licensure term, including 2 hours of LGBTQ continuing education, with 10% of the total in District public-health-priority subjects; the first renewal is exempt.
The codified term runs January 1 of even years through December 31 of odd years, but DC Health is transitioning credentials to a birth-month renewal cycle (credentials issued or renewed since June 16, 2024) — confirm your own expiration date through the Board of Veterinary Medicine (DC Health).
During the transition, licensees with less than two years on a term may owe only 50% of the CE hours; the LGBTQ and public-health shares are still due in full.
Not for an already-licensed veterinarian.
The 90-day temporary authorization is limited to veterinary students, initial applicants awaiting Board action, and candidates completing a 400-hour mentorship track, always under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian in good standing.
A licensed out-of-state veterinarian covering relief shifts needs full licensure by endorsement instead.
Ask the Board of Veterinary Medicine (DC Health) which pathway fits your situation.
No. As of September 2026, no state — the District of Columbia included — has joined an operational interstate veterinary licensure compact; none currently exists in any U.S. jurisdiction.
If you are moving your practice into DC, licensure by endorsement under the Board's rules, not a compact, is the mechanism to use.
Confirm current endorsement conditions with the Board of Veterinary Medicine (DC Health).
Sourced from Washington, DC’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Board of Veterinary Medicine (DC Health).