Utah licenses veterinarians through the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL).
State law asks four things of every applicant: pass a board-approved licensing examination — the NAVLE, per the state's own application — graduate from an AVMA-accredited veterinary college or complete the ECFVG certificate, document 1,000 hours of qualifying practice, and pay the state's fees.
Utah runs no separate jurisprudence exam.
Continuing education runs on two-year cycles of 24 hours, and the state's temporary license is a bridge for exam-pending candidates rather than a relief permit.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Required — DOPL's application asks for 'Verification of Passing the North American Veterinary Licensing Exam,' while the statute itself requires 'an examination approved by the board' (§ 58-28-302(1)(a)); no passing score is published in the sources read.
None — Utah's veterinarian statute and rule chapter contain no jurisprudence exam; a targeted search of R156-28 for 'jurisprudence' and 'NAVLE' returned zero results.
None found beyond the licensing examination itself.
An AVMA-accredited veterinary degree or an ECFVG certificate satisfies the education requirement (§ 58-28-302(1)(b)); PAVE is not named in the statute, and the sources read don't establish whether Utah accepts it.
No veterinarian-specific endorsement provision in Ch. 28 — DOPL states a veterinarian licensed elsewhere 'may qualify for licensure by endorsement,' routed through Utah's generic Title 58 endorsement statute (§ 58-1-302); the conditions — years in practice, score age, fees — are not stated in the sources read.
24 hours of qualified continuing education in each two-year period commencing September 30 of even-numbered years, including one hour on recognizing opioid use and dependency and one hour on veterinary-workplace communication (R156-28-304a); renewal fees are set by a Department of Commerce fee schedule, not stated in the sources read.
Yes, but narrow — a temporary license for a candidate who has met the education requirement but not yet passed the licensing exam, practicing under indirect supervision and expiring when the next exam's results are released (§ 58-28-304); it is not a relief permit for an already-licensed out-of-state veterinarian.
Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL)
No interstate veterinary licensure compact is currently operational in any state, including Utah — none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes or administrative codes references joining, enacting or currently considering one, as of September 2026.
Utah's statute requires every applicant to pass an examination approved by the board on the theory and practice of veterinary medicine, but it never names the NAVLE — the exam's identity lives in board procedure, and DOPL's own application asks for 'Verification of Passing the North American Veterinary Licensing Exam.' The state publishes no passing score of its own, so a candidate's target is the national exam's passing standard rather than a Utah-specific number — put any score question to DOPL.
The examination is also just the first of four statutory requirements: the degree, the 1,000-hour practice record, and the fee are part of the same licensure sentence, quoted here in full and unpacked in the sections below.
For a new graduate the practical shape is one national exam sitting plus Utah's non-exam requirements.
“(1) Every applicant for a license to practice veterinary medicine, surgery, and dentistry shall: (a) pass an examination approved by the board on the theory and practice of the science of veterinary medicine, surgery, dentistry, and other subjects determined by the board, knowledge of which is generally required of veterinarians; (b)(i) graduate from a veterinary college accredited by the AVMA; or (ii) obtain a certificate issued by the Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates issued by the AVMA; (c)(i) have practiced under the supervision of a veterinarian licensed to practice in this state for at least 1,000 hours; (ii) have participated in veterinary investigational, educational, or sanitary control work of a nature and duration as to be the equivalent of the experience of Subsection (1)(c)(i); (iii) have practiced as a licensed veterinarian outside Utah for at least 1,000 hours; or (iv) have practiced as a veterinarian while employed by the United States government, its agencies, or the state or its political subdivisions for at least 1,000 hours; and (d) pay a fee to the Department of Commerce determined in accordance with Section 63J-1-504 for the examination, for an initial license, and for a renewal license.”
Utah requires no state-specific jurisprudence examination, and the second research pass confirmed the absence rather than leaving it unverified: a targeted search of Utah's full veterinarian rule chapter (R156-28) for 'jurisprudence' and 'NAVLE' returned zero results, and DOPL's application and exam-information pages don't mention one either.
For a new graduate that removes an entire scheduling step — the exam stack is the national exam alone.
For a relocating veterinarian it means Utah law knowledge isn't tested at the licensure stage; nothing in the statute or rule chapter read adds a Utah-law test alongside the national exam.
The education requirement is statutory and narrow: graduate from a veterinary college accredited by the AVMA, or obtain a certificate issued by the Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG), the AVMA's program.
PAVE, the AAVSB's equivalency program, is not named in the statute, and the research read treats that as a genuine gap rather than an oversight — if PAVE works in Utah it does so through board policy the sources don't capture, so a PAVE-certified applicant should confirm acceptance with DOPL before counting on it.
Utah also runs a veterinary intern license under § 58-28-302(2): an applicant who meets the education requirement can practice through a clinical-training period, limited to one year beyond the minimum training and extendable while the intern shows reasonable progress toward passing the qualifying exam, but never more than two years past the supervised clinical training's completion.
It is a training-period license, distinct from the exam-pending temporary license described below.
“(2)(a) An applicant for licensure as a veterinary intern shall comply with the provisions of Subsection (1)(b).”
Utah's veterinarian chapter contains no veterinarian-specific endorsement provision; the temporary-license statute's own text cross-references Title 58's generic 'License by endorsement' statute (§ 58-1-302), a cross-profession provision the research read did not separately analyze for veterinarians.
DOPL's licensure page states that a veterinarian currently licensed elsewhere 'may qualify for licensure by endorsement,' with specifics published in a separate board document that isn't among the sources read — so years-in-practice thresholds, score-age limits, and endorsement fees are not stated on this page.
The practical takeaway for a relocating veterinarian: an endorsement route exists by DOPL's own description, but its conditions are unverified here, so contact DOPL before relying on it.
Note that the standard route's 1,000-hour requirement explicitly counts practice as a licensed veterinarian outside Utah, which credits the experience an out-of-state licensee brings.
Rule R156-28-304a makes continuing education a condition of renewal or reinstatement: at least 24 hours in each two-year period commencing September 30 of even-numbered years, including at least one hour on recognizing opioid use and dependency and at least one hour on topics that improve communication in the veterinary workplace — clinician-patient relationships, employee engagement, and business writing are among the rule's examples.
A licensee first licensed mid-cycle has the requirement prorated by licensure date.
Recognized formats are generous: unlimited hours in approved classroom courses, seminars, wet labs, and conferences from listed sponsors (AVMA, the Utah VMA, AAHA, and others), up to five hours for primary authorship of a peer-reviewed article, up to six hours of practice management, and an exam requirement for courses without a live instructor.
Medical conditions, humanitarian or ecclesiastical service, or extended presence where CE is unavailable can earn an excusal of up to three years.
The renewal fee is delegated to a Department of Commerce fee schedule under Section 63J-1-504 — its dollar amount is not in the sources read.
“During each two-year period commencing on September 30 of each even-numbered year, a licensee shall complete at least 24 hours of qualified continuing education directly related to the licensee's professional practice.”
Utah's temporary license is scoped to a candidate who has met every license qualification except the examination and, per the statute's own text, the 1,000-hour practice pathway.
The holder practices under the indirect supervision of a Utah-licensed veterinarian, and the license expires when results are available for the next exam after issuance; the division can extend it to the following exam date for good cause with a majority board recommendation.
It is not a general relief or locum permit — nothing in § 58-28-304 authorizes an already-licensed out-of-state veterinarian to practice temporarily in Utah.
DOPL's site lists a 'Temporary Veterinarian' license type, which the research describes as for ECFVG candidates who've passed Steps 1–3, working under a supervisor's affidavit while completing licensure; that description and the statute's education-complete text don't line up — a mid-ECFVG candidate doesn't yet hold the certificate § 58-28-302(1)(b) requires — so confirm the instrument's scope with DOPL.
A relief veterinarian's realistic routes into Utah are the endorsement pathway (conditions unverified here) or full licensure.
“(1) The division may issue a temporary license to practice veterinary medicine, surgery, and dentistry to any person not qualified for licensure under Section 58-1-302 who meets all requirements of Section 58-28-302 with the exception of Subsections 58-28-302(1)(a) and (c), except that the temporary license shall by its terms expire at the date examination results are available for the examination next following the date of the issuance of the temporary license.”
Beyond the exam and the degree, Utah requires 1,000 hours of qualifying practice through any of four statutory pathways: supervised practice under a Utah-licensed veterinarian; veterinary investigational, educational, or sanitary control work of equivalent nature and duration; at least 1,000 hours practiced as a licensed veterinarian outside Utah; or at least 1,000 hours practiced as a veterinarian employed by the United States government, its agencies, or the state or its political subdivisions.
For a new graduate this is the requirement most likely to be underestimated — passing the NAVLE doesn't complete the file without documented hours.
For a relocating veterinarian, the out-of-state-practice pathway credits the experience directly.
The temporary-license statute excepts this requirement alongside the exam, which is part of why that license is a bridge rather than a general practice permit.
This page summarizes Utah’s own statute and board rule as read for this series, current as of September 2026. It does not list application forms, current fees beyond what’s cited above, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL)’s own application instructions.
Accepted exams, endorsement conditions and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) before you register for an exam or submit an application.
No separate state-law exam.
Utah's statute requires 'an examination approved by the board,' and DOPL's application asks for 'Verification of Passing the North American Veterinary Licensing Exam' — the national NAVLE.
A targeted search of Utah's veterinarian rule chapter (R156-28) for 'jurisprudence' and 'NAVLE' returned zero results, and DOPL's application and exam-information pages list no jurisprudence exam.
Utah also publishes no passing score of its own.
Requirements can change, so confirm the current exam stack with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing before you schedule.
Utah's veterinarian chapter has no endorsement provision of its own.
DOPL's page says a veterinarian currently licensed elsewhere 'may qualify for licensure by endorsement,' and the pathway runs through the state's generic cross-profession endorsement statute (Section 58-1-302), which the sources read did not analyze for veterinarians.
The conditions — years in practice, score age, fees — are therefore not stated on this page.
Ask DOPL directly before relying on it; the standard route's 1,000-hour practice requirement does credit 1,000 hours practiced as a licensed veterinarian outside Utah.
24 hours of qualified continuing education during each two-year period commencing September 30 of even-numbered years — including at least one hour on recognizing opioid use and dependency and at least one hour on topics that improve communication in the veterinary workplace.
Hours are prorated if you're licensed mid-cycle; journal authorship counts up to five hours (two as a secondary author) and practice management up to six; and hardship excusals can run up to three years.
Continuing education is a condition of renewal or reinstatement.
Confirm your first cycle's prorated requirement with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing.
Not for relief work.
Utah's temporary license is a bridge for a candidate who has met the education requirement but not yet passed the licensing exam: it permits practice under the indirect supervision of a Utah-licensed veterinarian, expires when the next exam's results are released, and can be extended once for good cause with a majority board recommendation.
Nothing in the sources read describes a short-term permit for an already-licensed out-of-state veterinarian, so route relief-work questions to the Utah Division of Professional Licensing.
No. As of September 2026, no state — Utah included — has joined an operational interstate veterinary licensure compact; none currently exists in any U.S. jurisdiction.
A veterinarian moving to Utah uses the state's own pathway: the national exam, the education and 1,000-hour practice requirements, and, for out-of-state licensees, the endorsement route through the state's generic cross-profession statute.
Direct questions about that pathway to the Utah Division of Professional Licensing.
Sourced from Utah’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL).