Texas licenses veterinarians through the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.
Every applicant must pass the NAVLE — capped at five attempts, with no state-published passing score — and the Board's own State Board Exam (SBE), an online test layered on top of the national exam.
Graduates of AVMA-accredited colleges and ECFVG or PAVE certificate holders all qualify.
There is no ordinary endorsement route: out-of-state veterinarians use the Provisional or Temporary License pathways.
Continuing education runs 17 hours a year, and licenses renew annually on the licensee's birth month.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Required — or the legacy NBE/CCT — with a five-attempt cap; Texas publishes no numeric passing score of its own, deferring to "the standard of proficiency the board determines is essential for a qualified veterinarian" (§801.254(c)).
Yes — Texas's own full State Board Exam (SBE), required for all license categories and layered on top of the NAVLE: administered online, purchased through a Board-issued candidate ID, completed in one sitting within 10 days of purchase. Its format and passing score are not stated in the sources read.
A separate Board-Ordered Disciplinary Jurisprudence Exam exists only for licensees already under an active disciplinary Board order — it is not part of the application stack for new applicants.
Both accepted — the Board's DVM page accepts a graduate of an AVMA-accredited college of veterinary medicine or an ECFVG or PAVE certificate holder, on equal terms.
No standard endorsement track: the board may enter into a reciprocity agreement with another state only with the governor's approval (§801.166), and none was found in effect in the sources read. The working pathways are the Provisional License (§801.257) and the Temporary License (§801.258), and a former Texas licensee with two years of active practice elsewhere can relicense without reexamination (§801.305).
17 hours of CE every year — including 2 hours of opioid/controlled-substance training every two years — with caps of 5 hours non-interactive, 5 hours practice management, and 3 hours self-study; new licensees are exempt for their first year, and the license renews annually on the last day of the licensee's birth month.
A statutory Temporary License (§801.258) for a veterinarian licensed in good standing in another state or a foreign country with no disqualifying disciplinary ground — $220 fee on the Board's 2026 fee schedule. Separately, a Temporary Limited-Service Clinic notice (Rule §573.71) covers pop-up and mobile clinics; it is a notification, not an individual license.
Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (TBVME)
No interstate veterinary licensure compact is currently operational in any state, including Texas — none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes or administrative codes references joining, enacting or currently considering one, as of September 2026.
Texas requires the NAVLE — or its legacy predecessors, the NBE and CCT — and caps attempts at five, which matters for a candidate who has already sat the exam more than once.
The state publishes no numeric passing score of its own: the statute sets the bar as the standard of proficiency the board determines is essential for a qualified veterinarian, so the operative threshold is whatever the Board currently applies rather than a number printed in Texas law.
Results move on a statutory clock — §801.255 requires the Board to notify examinees within 30 days of administration, or within 14 days of receiving results graded by a national testing service.
“To pass the licensing examination, an applicant must demonstrate the standard of proficiency the board determines is essential for a qualified veterinarian.”
Texas layers its own exam over the national one, and the Board's own page states the requirement at the level of license categories, not application routes: the SBE is required for all license categories, and a provisional license holder must still pass it.
The mechanics are specific: an approved applicant receives a candidate ID from the Board, uses it to purchase and register, and must complete the exam in one sitting within 10 days of purchase.
The exam's format and passing score are not stated in the sources read.
A separate Board-Ordered Disciplinary Jurisprudence Exam exists, but it is triggered only at the Board's direction for licensees already under a disciplinary order — a new applicant never sits it.
“The Texas State Veterinary Licensing Examination (SBE) are required for all license categories.”
The Board's DVM page accepts three routes equally: graduation from an AVMA-accredited college of veterinary medicine, or an ECFVG or PAVE certificate — both foreign-graduate certification programs are named outright, so an internationally trained veterinarian applies on the same terms as a domestic graduate.
The statute underneath speaks more generally of a graduate of a board-approved school or college of veterinary medicine, with the Board's page naming what satisfies it.
Whatever the education route, the exam stack is the same: the NAVLE or NBE/CCT plus the State Board Exam.
“Graduate from an AVMA-accredited college of veterinary medicine or hold an ECFVG or PAVE certificate.”
Texas has no ordinary licensure-by-endorsement track.
The statute lets the Board enter a reciprocity agreement with another state only with the governor's approval, and none was found in effect in the sources read.
What actually works for a relocating veterinarian is the Provisional License (§801.257) — available to a veterinarian licensed in good standing in a state with substantially equivalent requirements who has passed a board-recognized national exam — but a provisional holder must still pass the Texas licensing examination, and the Board owes a decision on the underlying application within 180 days of issuing the provisional license.
A former Texas licensee who moved away, stayed licensed in good standing, and practiced in the other state for the two years before applying can obtain a new Texas license without reexamination, paying the regular renewal fee (§801.305).
“The board, with approval of the governor, may enter into an agreement with another state to allow for licensing by reciprocity.”
Texas requires 17 hours of continuing education every year, and only CE completed after licensure counts — pre-licensure coursework does not carry into the requirement.
Within the 17, up to 5 hours may be non-interactive on-demand courses, up to 5 practice management, and up to 3 self-study; every two years the hours must include 2 hours of opioid/controlled-substance training from the Board's approved course list.
New licensees are exempt during their first year, and every licensee keeps CE certificates for four years against audit.
Renewal itself is annual and tied to the licensee's birth month, and the regular-license renewal fee is $340 — rising to $510 if renewed less than 90 days late and $680 between 90 days and a year late.
“17 Hours Annually: Includes 2 hours on opioids every two years.”
The statutory Temporary License (§801.258) is Texas's short-stint instrument for an already-licensed veterinarian: it covers an applicant licensed in good standing in another state or a foreign country who meets the basic eligibility requirements and has no ground for denial or discipline under the state's disciplinary standards.
The statute's eligibility conditions for this license incorporate only the age and education requirements — not the examination-completion requirement — so issuing a temporary license does not wait on a passing exam score.
The Board's 2026 fee schedule sets the application fee at $220.
It is distinct from the Temporary Limited-Service Clinic regime under Rule §573.71 — a notification, filed at least 48 hours before operation, for a licensed veterinarian running a pop-up or mobile clinic; the clinic notice is not itself a license.
A relief veterinarian coming into Texas for short engagements plans around the Temporary License, while a Texas-licensed veterinarian taking practice on the road files the clinic notice.
“Board Rule §573.71 requires notification to the Board prior to the operation of a Temporary Limited-Service Clinic. The veterinarian holding the clinic is required to provide notification at least 48 hours before the clinic begins operation.”
Two practical gates sit outside the exam stack.
Every applicant must satisfy a fingerprinting requirement before licensure — in force since October 1, 2018 — and anyone concerned that a criminal history could affect eligibility can request a pre-licensure evaluation.
The Board also addresses hiring employers directly: binding agreements should not be signed with an unlicensed candidate, and an employment offer should be made contingent on obtaining the Texas license.
A separate Special License (§801.256 in the chapter) exists for veterinary faculty and staff, Texas Animal Health Commission and diagnostic laboratory employees, and an out-of-state specialist whose specialty the Board finds unrepresented or underrepresented in Texas — a special-license applicant must pass the jurisprudence section of the licensing examination.
“As of October 1, 2018, all applicants must meet the fingerprinting requirement and submit fingerprints before licensure.”
This page summarizes Texas’s own statute and board rule as read for this series, current as of September 2026. It does not list application forms, current fees beyond what’s cited above, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (TBVME)’s own application instructions.
Accepted exams, endorsement conditions and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (TBVME) before you register for an exam or submit an application.
Yes.
Every license category requires the Board's own State Board Exam (SBE) on top of the NAVLE or legacy NBE/CCT.
The SBE is administered online: an approved applicant receives a candidate ID, uses it to purchase and register, and completes the exam in one sitting within 10 days of purchase.
Its format and passing score are not stated in the sources read.
Confirm current SBE details with the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners before you apply.
Texas has no standard endorsement pathway.
The Board may enter a reciprocity agreement with another state only with the governor's approval, and none was found in effect.
The working routes are the Provisional License (§801.257), which still requires passing the Texas licensing examination, and the Temporary License (§801.258) for short stints.
A former Texas licensee with two years of practice elsewhere can relicense without reexamination under §801.305.
Ask the Board which route fits your history before applying.
17 hours every year.
The annual total must include 2 hours of opioid and controlled-substance training every two years, drawn from the Board's approved course list, and is capped at 5 hours of non-interactive courses, 5 hours of practice management, and 3 hours of self-study.
New licensees are exempt during their first year, and CE completed before licensure does not count.
Licenses renew annually on the last day of the licensee's birth month.
Check the Board's continuing education page for approved providers.
Yes.
The statutory Temporary License (§801.258) covers a veterinarian already licensed in good standing in another state or a foreign country, with no disqualifying disciplinary history; the application fee is $220 on the Board's 2026 fee schedule.
Separately, a Texas-licensed veterinarian running a pop-up or mobile clinic files a Temporary Limited-Service Clinic notice under Rule §573.71 at least 48 hours before operation — a notification, not a license.
Confirm scope with the Board before booking relief work.
No. As of September 2026, no state — Texas included — has joined an operational interstate veterinary licensure compact; none currently exists in any U.S. jurisdiction.
One warning: the Board's website carries a page titled "Compact with Texans," but that is a generic Texas state-agency customer-service pledge used across many unrelated agencies, not an interstate licensure compact.
For moving a license into Texas, the Provisional or Temporary License pathways are the mechanisms, and you can confirm current status with the Board.
Sourced from Texas’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (TBVME).