The OK State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners regulates veterinary practice in Oklahoma.
An applicant furnishes evidence of 36 months of veterinary education β graduation from an AVMA-approved college, an ECFVG certificate, or a PAVE certificate β and passes the NAVLE plus the Oklahoma State Jurisprudence Examination, or substitutes 5,000 hours of recent clinical practice for national-exam requirements.
Licenses renew annually before June 30 with 20 hours of continuing education, and a 60-day provisional license covers out-of-state veterinarians.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Required β the licensure statute requires passed examinations satisfactory to the Board and lets the Board set minimum passing scores and limit retakes (Β§ 698.8(B)(4)(a)); the NAVLE fee is listed At Cost + $185, and no numeric passing score is stated in Oklahoma's own sources. The parallel exam gate for the supervised certificate issued while licensure is pending is 775:10-3-9(1)(D), the rule the research row cites.
Yes β the Oklahoma State Jurisprudence Examination, a $150 line on the Board's fee schedule, and a prerequisite before a provisional or faculty license is issued.
A statutory alternate to the national exam: 5,000 hours of clinical practice across the 5 consecutive years before applying, a license in good standing elsewhere, and a passed Oklahoma State Jurisprudence Examination.
Named side by side: graduation from an AVMA-approved college of veterinary medicine (36 months of education), an ECFVG certificate, or a PAVE certificate.
A Licensure by Endorsement fee of $625 appears on the Board's fee schedule; the precise conditions attached to it are not stated in the sources read.
20 hours of continuing education per year, certified before each annual renewal due before June 30 (faculty licenses renew by July 15); the annual renewal fee is $225.
Two instruments: a Provisional License for a veterinarian licensed in another jurisdiction β capped at 60 days in any 12-month period, jurisprudence exam passed first, $300 β and temporary licensure during a declared disaster for an out-of-state responder.
OK State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners
No interstate veterinary licensure compact is currently operational in any state, including Oklahoma β none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes or administrative codes references joining, enacting or currently considering one, as of September 2026.
Oklahoma's licensure statute requires evidence that the applicant passed examinations satisfactory to the Board, with the score acceptable to the Board, and it lets the Board set minimum passing scores and limit the number of retakes (Β§ 698.8(B)(4)(a)).
The research row's cited rule, 775:10-3-9(1)(D), is the certificate-holder rule β the supervised credential for a graduate whose full licensure is pending β and it spells the same exam gate concretely.
The Board's fee schedule prices the NAVLE at 'At Cost + $185', and Oklahoma's own sources state no numeric passing score.
An applicant who twice fails any veterinary licensing exam, whether or not it was taken in Oklahoma, can be required to show additional training and clinical competency before retaking in Oklahoma: another year of Board-approved education, or licensure in another jurisdiction and/or a passed ECFVG (775:10-3-3).
For a new graduate that retake rule is the practical takeaway β schedule the NAVLE when you are genuinely ready, because a second failure invites conditions before you can sit again in Oklahoma.
βSuccessfully passing either a national exam or Oklahoma veterinary exam, or be an active candidate for one or more examinations to be administered by the Board.β
Every route into an Oklahoma license runs through the state-law test.
The Oklahoma State Jurisprudence Examination carries a $150 fee line (printed as the Oklahoma State Examination on the Board's schedule), the experienced-practitioner pathway requires a passed jurisprudence exam, and both the Provisional License and the Veterinary Faculty License require passing it before issuance under rules 775:10-3-8.3(b)(4) and 775:10-3-8.1(b)(5).
The Practice Act separately demands evidence that an applicant has 'demonstrated familiarity with the statutes and rules set by the Board' (Β§ 698.8(B)(5)).
For a relocating veterinarian the point is blunt: nothing in the sources read waives the state-law test for out-of-state experience, and its format β proctored or online, timing, passing standard β is not stated in the sources read, so confirm the logistics with the Board before you plan a start date.
Rule 775:10-3-2 requires evidence of successful completion of 36 months of education in a school of veterinary medicine as a requirement for graduation, and the statute pairs it with graduation from an approved school whose requirements are acceptable to the Board (Β§ 698.8(B)(1)(a)).
The Board's rules name the accepted credentials side by side β an AVMA-approved college of veterinary medicine, an ECFVG certificate, or a PAVE certificate β in the certificate-holder rule that governs supervised practice while licensure is pending (775:10-3-9(1)(B)); nothing in the sources read names a different equivalency route onto the full license.
The statute holds graduates of schools outside the United States and Canada to the same standards, adds that further examination may be administered where necessary, requires a command of English satisfactory to the Board, and requires foreign-language documents to be translated and certified (Β§ 698.8(B)(1)(b)).
A new graduate should read the 36-month requirement literally β it is written in months of education, so confirm your transcripts document it before filing.
βAn applicant for licensure shall furnish evidence of successful completion of 36 months of education in a school of veterinary medicine as a requirement for graduation.β
The Board's fee schedule carries a Licensure by Endorsement line at $625 (775:10-3-12(a)(2)(E)), but the conditions attached to endorsement beyond the fee are not stated in the sources read β so plan around the pathway the Practice Act does spell out.
It lets an applicant skip national-exam requirements by showing 5,000 hours of active clinical practice across the five consecutive years immediately before applying, a license in another state, territory, district or province of the United States and Canada, and a passed Oklahoma State Jurisprudence Examination (Β§ 698.8(B)(4)(b)).
For an active-duty service member or military spouse already licensed elsewhere, the statute goes further: with good standing and equivalent education, training and experience, licensure within 30 days, with the application fee and first issuance period waived (Β§ 698.8(E)).
A narrower carve-out also lets a veterinarian currently licensed in another state consult with an Oklahoma-licensed veterinarian without an Oklahoma license (Β§ 698.12(7)).
A relocating veterinarian without that much recent clinical time should expect to sit the exams.
βIn lieu of national examination requirements, an applicant shall have actively engaged in the clinical practice of veterinary medicine for a period of at least five thousand (5,000) hours during the five (5) consecutive years immediately prior to making application in Oklahoma and hold a license to practice veterinary medicine in another state, territory, district or province of the United States and Canada and successfully passed the Oklahoma State Jurisprudence Examination;β
Renewal is annual.
The licensee certifies 20 hours of continuing education before each renewal, and rule 775:10-3-5 shapes the mix: two of the twenty hours must cover state or federal controlled dangerous substance laws or a review of the Practice Act and its rules, DEA registrants add an hour on pain management or opioid use, presentations, autotutorial/web study and journal study are each capped at four hours, non-scientific topics at 25 percent, proof kept five years for audit.
A graduate licensed within one calendar year of graduation is exempt until the second renewal.
The fee schedule sets the annual renewal at $225 if paid prior to June 30 (faculty licenses renew by July 15 at $175), the statute requires the renewal application on or before July 1 (Β§ 698.10a(A)), and letting the date slip is expensive: the license is placed on inactive status for failure to renew (Β§ 698.10a(C)(2)), a $275 reactivation fee applies between July 1 and August 29, the Act's 60-day reactivation window (Β§ 698.10a(D)), and after that the schedule's line becomes reinstatement at $625.
βBefore an active license is reissued, the licensee shall, on a form provided by the Board, certify that he or she has obtained twenty (20) hours of continuing education in veterinary medicine or surgery.β
Oklahoma's short-term instrument is the Provisional License (775:10-3-8.3): the Board may issue it at its discretion with restrictions it deems appropriate, the candidate must already be licensed to practice in another jurisdiction, must pass the Oklahoma Jurisprudence examination before issuance, and the license will not exceed 60 days in any 12-month period β a $300 fee line on the schedule.
For relief work that cap is the number to build a calendar around: roughly two months of Oklahoma shifts per year without a full license.
During a declared disaster, the rules open a separate door β a veterinarian not licensed in Oklahoma who is responding to a request for assistance from Oklahoma Emergency Management or a related entity, and is licensed and in good standing in another state, may apply for temporary licensure approved by the Board's President or Secretary/Treasurer (775:10-3-10.1).
An applicant whose full licensure is pending can also practice under a supervised certificate β direct supervision by an Oklahoma licensee and a name tag reading 'Name, SDVM' (775:10-3-9).
βThe provisional license to practice will not exceed a period of 60 days in any 12-month period.β
Oklahoma writes three more statuses worth knowing.
A Veterinary Faculty License (775:10-3-8.1) requires passing the Oklahoma Jurisprudence examination before issuance, is limited to the specialty the holder teaches, routes professional fees to the institution, and renews by July 15 at $175 against a $125 license fee.
Veterinarian Emeritus status (775:10-4-1) is available to a licensee in good standing with no continuing-education requirement and no fee β but it bars practice in any form, including prescribing, writing health certificates, and paid consulting (775:10-4-2); returning within six months takes fees and forms, and after six months the Board may require an appearance, examinations, or CE evidence (775:10-4-3).
Reinstating a license that has gone inactive costs 20 hours of continuing education per inactive year, up to a 100-hour maximum, though the Board may waive part of it (775:10-3-7).
βThere is no requirement for continuing education or fee.β
This page summarizes Oklahomaβs own statute and board rule as read for this series, current as of September 2026. It does not list application forms, current fees beyond whatβs cited above, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the OK State Board of Veterinary Medical Examinersβs own application instructions.
Accepted exams, endorsement conditions and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the OK State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners before you register for an exam or submit an application.
Yes.
Every sourced route into an Oklahoma license includes the Oklahoma State Jurisprudence Examination, a $150 line on the Board's fee schedule.
It is required on the experienced-practitioner pathway and must be passed before a Provisional License or a Veterinary Faculty License is issued.
The exam's format and passing standard are not stated in the sources read.
Confirm current format and scheduling with the OK State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners before you apply.
Only through the statutory in-lieu route: 5,000 hours of active clinical practice in the five consecutive years before applying, a license in another state, territory, district or province of the United States and Canada, and a passed Oklahoma State Jurisprudence Examination.
Active-duty military members and their spouses licensed elsewhere can instead be licensed within 30 days with fees waived.
A $625 Licensure by Endorsement fee exists, but its conditions are not stated in the sources read.
Ask the OK State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners which pathway fits your record.
20 hours every year, certified to the Board before the license is reissued.
Two of the twenty hours must cover controlled dangerous substance laws or a review of the Oklahoma Veterinary Practice Act and its rules, DEA registrants add an hour on pain management or opioids, and presentations, autotutorial study and journal study are each capped at four hours.
A veterinarian licensed within one calendar year of graduation is exempt until the second renewal.
The annual renewal fee is $225 if paid before June 30.
Verify current CE rules with the OK State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.
Not on the out-of-state license itself.
Oklahoma's Provisional License is the short-term instrument: you must be licensed in another jurisdiction, pass the Oklahoma Jurisprudence examination first, and the license is capped at 60 days in any 12-month period, with a $300 fee.
During a declared disaster, an out-of-state veterinarian responding to an Oklahoma Emergency Management request may apply for separate temporary licensure.
Count your planned relief days against the 60-day cap, then confirm the current terms with the OK State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.
No. As of September 2026, no state β Oklahoma included β has joined an operational interstate veterinary licensure compact; none currently exists in any U.S. jurisdiction.
If you are moving your practice to Oklahoma, the realistic mechanisms are the statutory in-lieu pathway for experienced practitioners, endorsement if the Board's process applies to you, or the 60-day Provisional License for short stints.
Confirm which route fits with the OK State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.
Sourced from Oklahomaβs own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice β confirm current rules with the OK State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.