🩺 State licensure

Veterinarian Licensure Requirements in Ohio

Founder, VeterinaryHires
Last verified September 2026

Ohio licenses veterinarians through the State Veterinary Medical Licensing Board (ORC § 4741.02).

An applicant graduates from a board-approved or AVMA-accredited veterinary college — or certifies through ECFVG or PAVE — and passes the nationally recognized examination approved by the board under its rules.

Out-of-state licensees apply through § 4741.12 reciprocity under Chapter 4796 standards, and a nonresident veterinarian can work short stints on a six-month temporary permit.

Renewal is biennial — March 1 of even years — against 30 hours of continuing education.

Verify before you rely on this

This page explains license mechanics only — what a state veterinary board asks for, not whether you personally qualify or how a specific rule applies to your situation. It is general information, not legal advice. Requirements change by statute and by board rule; verify current requirements directly with the state veterinary board before you rely on anything here. Veterinarians in Ohio are regulated by the State Veterinary Medical Licensing Board (ORC §4741.02).

At a glance

NAVLE

Required — § 4741.11 requires passage of the nationally recognized examination approved by the State Veterinary Medical Licensing Board in accordance with board-adopted rules; the statute names no exam by brand and restates no numeric passing score, so the target is the passing standard the board's rules and the testing entity currently set.

State jurisprudence exam

Not stated in the sources read.

Other exam

None found — ORC Chapter 4741 names no examination beyond the nationally recognized examination of § 4741.11, and the sources read identify no additional, oral, or practical test for veterinarians.

Foreign-graduate pathways (ECFVG / PAVE)

Both accepted — § 4741.11 accepts a certificate issued on or after May 1, 1987, by the Education Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (the AVMA's ECFVG) or by the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (the AAVSB's PAVE), alongside graduation from a board-approved or AVMA-accredited veterinary college.

Licensure by endorsement

Yes — § 4741.12 directs the board to issue a license under Chapter 4796's reciprocity standards to an applicant who holds a license in another state, or who has satisfactory work experience, a government certification, or a private certification where a state does not issue veterinary licenses; a separate subsection adds an examination-free path for a qualifying applicant from another country.

CE & renewal

Thirty hours of continuing education during the two years immediately preceding each renewal, with form and content set by board rule; licenses expire biennially on March 1 of even-numbered years (§ 4741.16).

Temporary / relief permit

Yes — a temporary permit for a nonresident veterinarian licensed and in good standing in another state, applied for on the nonresident's behalf by a veterinarian who holds a current Ohio license: it lasts no more than six months, no more than two are issued per applicant, and the fee is $100 (§ 4741.14).

Regulated by

State Veterinary Medical Licensing Board (ORC §4741.02)

Interstate compact

No interstate veterinary licensure compact is currently operational in any state, including Ohio — none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes or administrative codes references joining, enacting or currently considering one, as of September 2026.

The examination: one national test, no state-set score

📜 § 4741.11

Ohio's licensure statute conditions the certificate of license on passage of the nationally recognized examination approved by the State Veterinary Medical Licensing Board in accordance with board-adopted rules — the statute names no exam by brand and restates no numeric passing score, so the operative standard is whatever the board's rules and the testing entity currently set.

For a new graduate that means one national examination stands between the degree and the application, with no state-set hurdle stacked alongside it.

The sources read state no limit on how old a passing score can be, which matters if you sat the exam years ago and are only now applying — put the question to the board before you rely on an old score.

Reviewing the results of those board-approved, nationally recognized examinations is one of the board's own statutory duties (§ 4741.03(C)(2)).

Whenever an applicant for a license to practice veterinary medicine has graduated from a veterinary college approved by the state veterinary medical licensing board or accredited by the American veterinary medical association or has been issued a certificate on or after May 1, 1987, by the education commission for foreign veterinary graduates of the American veterinary medical association or by the program for the assessment of veterinary education equivalence of the American association of veterinary state boards, has passed the nationally recognized examination approved by the state veterinary medical licensing board in accordance with rules adopted by the board, and is not in violation of this chapter, the board shall issue a certificate of license to that effect, signed by the members and bearing the seal of the board.

A state jurisprudence exam: not stated in the sources read

📜 § 4741.11; § 4741.12

The research pass for Ohio marks the jurisprudence-exam cell as not found: ORC Chapter 4741 names a single examination requirement — the nationally recognized examination of § 4741.11 — and identifies no separate Ohio law test, so whether the board administers or requires one is not stated in the sources read.

The chapter's only law-knowledge hook sits in the reciprocity section: a foreign-country applicant under § 4741.12(B) must have a thorough knowledge of the laws and rules governing the practice of veterinary medicine in this state, as determined by the board, and the statute says nothing about how that knowledge is measured.

Treat the state-law step as an open question rather than assuming either way — it is exactly the kind of requirement that surfaces late in an application, so ask the board what it currently requires when you apply.

The applicant has a thorough knowledge of the laws and rules governing the practice of veterinary medicine in this state, as determined by the board.

Degree, ECFVG, and PAVE pathways

📜 § 4741.11; § 4741.12

Licensure starts with graduation from a veterinary college approved by the board or accredited by the AVMA.

For a foreign-trained applicant, § 4741.11 names both certificates directly — the Education Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG, the AVMA's program) and the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE, the AAVSB's), each acceptable if issued on or after May 1, 1987 — so a foreign-trained veterinarian does not need a separate equivalency determination from the board.

The reciprocity section echoes the credential list with wider latitude: § 4741.12(B)(1) adds any nationally recognized certification program the board approves by rule on the foreign-country pathway.

Budget for the standard fee schedule too — the initial veterinary license fee is $275 under § 4741.17(A)(1), though H.B. 509 lets the board phase in lower fees through January 1, 2028.

The applicant is a graduate of a veterinary college accredited by the American veterinary medical association or holds a certificate issued, on or after May 1, 1987, by the education commission for foreign veterinary graduates of the American veterinary medical association or issued by any other nationally recognized certification program the board approves by rule.

Moving to Ohio: reciprocity under § 4741.12

📜 § 4741.12

Ohio's reciprocity section is mandatory in its terms: the board shall issue a license, in accordance with Chapter 4796's standards, to an applicant who holds a license in another state — or who has satisfactory work experience, a government certification, or a private certification of the kind Chapter 4796 describes, in a state that does not issue veterinary licenses.

The research row records the conditions as a license in another state meeting Chapter 4796's reciprocity standards, with no suspension or revocation.

A separate subsection, § 4741.12(B), adds an examination-free path for an applicant from another country: an AVMA-accredited degree or approved certification, a home-country license free of suspension, revocation or discipline with equivalent requirements and equal rights for Ohio licensees there, no pending investigation, and a thorough knowledge of Ohio's laws and rules as determined by the board.

Because the operative conditions live in the Chapter 4796 cross-reference, read the two together — and confirm the documentation the board wants before you apply.

The state veterinary medical licensing board shall issue a license to practice veterinary medicine in accordance with Chapter 4796. of the Revised Code to an applicant if either of the following applies: (1) The applicant holds a license in another state. (2) The applicant has satisfactory work experience, a government certification, or a private certification as described in that chapter in the practice of veterinary medicine in a state that does not issue that license.

Continuing education and the biennial renewal

📜 § 4741.16

Licenses issued under § 4741.11 to § 4741.13 expire biennially on the first day of March in even-numbered years (limited licenses run to a July 1 expiry), and every renewal is conditioned on thirty hours of continuing education completed during the two years immediately preceding it, with form and content set by board rule.

The board can waive the requirement for a licensee kept from approved coursework by an unusual and prolonged emergency — and the waived hours then stack onto the next biennial period, so a waived year is a deferral, not a forgiveness.

A license that is not renewed becomes inactive; reactivation is by application with board-set CE requirements, and a license inactive more than four years expires and becomes void, except for veterinarians serving federal, state, or local government agencies or the armed forces.

On money: the renewal fee is $155 if postmarked by March 1, $225 through April 1, and $450 after that (§ 4741.17(A)(6)), with H.B. 509 permitting gradual reductions through January 1, 2028 — calendar the March 1 postmark, not the April backstop.

(B) As a condition precedent to each renewal of a license or limited license, a licensed veterinarian shall demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the board, that the licensed veterinarian has completed thirty hours of continuing education during the two years immediately preceding renewal of the licensed veterinarian's license or limited license that meets the requirements established by rule of the board as to form and content.

Temporary permits: relief work and the new-graduate bridge

📜 § 4741.14

The temporary permit is built for short-stint, nonresident work: it goes to a veterinarian licensed and in good standing in another state, but a veterinarian who already holds a current Ohio license must apply for it on the nonresident's behalf.

The scope is narrow — acting as a veterinary consultant or providing veterinary medical services for a specific animal or animals, with responsibility for care and treatment resting on the Ohio-licensed veterinarian in the consultant role — and the board sets the permitted purposes and duration by rule, capped at six months, with no more than two permits per applicant before further applications route through § 4741.12.

The fee is $100 (§ 4741.17(A)(4)).

Separately, § 4741.15 creates the provisional veterinary graduate license: a six-month, non-renewable bridge for a graduate waiting to sit the examination, practicing treatments, diagnosis, and surgery only under the direct supervision of the veterinarian who recommended the application, at a $100 fee (§ 4741.17(A)(12)) — and a provisional holder who then passes the exam receives the initial license free of charge (§ 4741.17(B)).

A temporary permit issued pursuant to this section only authorizes the permit holder to act as a veterinary consultant or to provide veterinary medical services in this state for a specific animal or animals.

Limited licenses for academic and laboratory roles

📜 § 4741.16

Ohio also writes a limited license into the chapter for people whose entire professional capacity sits with a veterinary academic or veterinary technology institution the board recognizes, or with a government diagnostic laboratory — instructors, researchers, diagnosticians, interns, residents in a veterinary specialty, and graduate students (§ 4741.13).

The scope follows the job: practice is authorized only to the extent the employment or educational obligations require.

It renews on its own clock, expiring biennially on July 1 rather than March 1 under § 4741.16, and the holder is not required to obtain a license under Chapter 4796.

For an intern or resident comparing offers, the fee schedule makes the route deliberately cheap — $35 for the initial limited license at the intern, resident, or graduate-student tier and $155 at the instructor, researcher, or diagnostician tier (§ 4741.17(A)(2)-(3)).

A limited license to practice veterinary medicine issued by the board pursuant to those sections expires biennially on the first day of July.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes Ohio’s own statute and board rule as read for this series, current as of September 2026. It does not list application forms, current fees beyond what’s cited above, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the State Veterinary Medical Licensing Board (ORC §4741.02)’s own application instructions.

Accepted exams, endorsement conditions and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the State Veterinary Medical Licensing Board (ORC §4741.02) before you register for an exam or submit an application.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Ohio require a state-specific jurisprudence exam beyond the national examination?

The sources read do not show one.

ORC Chapter 4741 names a single examination — the nationally recognized examination approved by the board under its rules — and the research row marks the jurisprudence-exam cell as not found in the chapter.

That is a gap in the sources, not a confirmed answer either way, so ask the State Veterinary Medical Licensing Board what it currently requires before you schedule any testing.

Can an out-of-state veterinarian get an Ohio license without retaking the exam?

Ohio's reciprocity section, § 4741.12, is mandatory in its terms: the board shall issue a license under Chapter 4796's standards to an applicant who holds a license in another state, or who has satisfactory work experience, a government certification, or a private certification where a state does not issue veterinary licenses.

The statute text read sets no years-in-practice minimum and no score-age limit.

Confirm the documentation the board expects with the board before you apply.

How many continuing education hours does Ohio require, and when does the license renew?

Thirty hours of continuing education during the two years immediately preceding each renewal, with form and content set by board rule.

Licenses expire biennially on March 1 of even-numbered years.

The renewal fee is $155 if postmarked by March 1, $225 through April 1, and $450 after, though H.B. 509 lets the board phase in lower fees through January 1, 2028.

Verify current amounts and CE rules with the board before your renewal date.

Is there a temporary permit for relief or short-term work in Ohio?

Yes.

A nonresident veterinarian licensed and in good standing in another state can receive a temporary permit — but a veterinarian who holds a current Ohio license must apply for it on the nonresident's behalf.

It covers acting as a veterinary consultant or serving specific animals, runs no more than six months, is capped at two permits per applicant, and costs $100.

Confirm the board's current permitted purposes and duration rules with the board.

Has Ohio joined a multistate veterinary licensure compact?

No. As of September 2026, no state — Ohio included — has joined an operational interstate veterinary licensure compact; none currently exists in any U.S. jurisdiction.

A veterinarian moving to Ohio uses the state's own reciprocity pathway under § 4741.12 and Chapter 4796, not a compact privilege.

Direct questions about that pathway to the State Veterinary Medical Licensing Board.

Find Veterinarian Jobs in Ohio
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Ohio & Veterinarian Resources

Sourced from Ohio’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the State Veterinary Medical Licensing Board (ORC §4741.02).