🩺 State licensure

Veterinarian Licensure Requirements in New Hampshire

Founder, VeterinaryHires
Last verified September 2026

New Hampshire licenses veterinarians through the Board of Veterinary Medicine, one of the boards under the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification.

Applicants file a written application showing AVMA-accredited (or board-accepted) graduation or an ECFVG or PAVE certificate, good professional character, and a passing national examination result — valid for 5 years from the exam date.

The state's jurisprudence exam attaches to the conditional-license path for ECFVG candidates.

Licenses renew with 24 continuing-education hours per two-year period, and a one-year supervised temporary permit covers exam-pending graduates.

Verify before you rely on this

This page explains license mechanics only — what a state veterinary board asks for, not whether you personally qualify or how a specific rule applies to your situation. It is general information, not legal advice. Requirements change by statute and by board rule; verify current requirements directly with the state veterinary board before you rely on anything here. Veterinarians in New Hampshire are regulated by the NH Board of Veterinary Medicine (under Office of Professional Licensure & Certification).

At a glance

NAVLE

Required — the national examination, with results valid for 5 years from the exam date; New Hampshire's own statute states no numeric passing score (RSA 332-B:10).

State jurisprudence exam

Yes — the New Hampshire veterinary jurisprudence examination, which the statute requires of conditional-license applicants (RSA 332-B:11).

Other exam

None.

Foreign-graduate pathways (ECFVG / PAVE)

Both are named explicitly in the statute — an applicant may qualify as the holder of an ECFVG certificate or a PAVE certificate in place of an AVMA-accredited degree (RSA 332-B:9).

Licensure by endorsement

Not stated in the sources read.

CE & renewal

24 hours of approved continuing education in the 2-year period preceding each renewal date, with a good-cause waiver available by petition (RSA 332-B:13).

Temporary / relief permit

Yes — up to one year for an exam-pending veterinary-college graduate practicing under the supervision of an in-state licensed veterinarian; $75 application fee in the 2024 fee snapshot (RSA 332-B:12).

Regulated by

NH Board of Veterinary Medicine (under Office of Professional Licensure & Certification)

Interstate compact

No interstate veterinary licensure compact is currently operational in any state, including New Hampshire — none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes or administrative codes references joining, enacting or currently considering one, as of September 2026.

The national examination and its 5-year result window

📜 RSA 332-B:10

New Hampshire routes applicants through the national licensing examination, and the state's own contribution to the rule is a recency window rather than a score: results are valid for 5 years from the date of the examination, so an older pass has to be current again before it can support a New Hampshire application.

The Office of Professional Licensure and Certification must hold at least one examination each year, giving public notice at least 90 days in advance, and an applicant must apply at least 30 days before the exam date.

The statute does not restate a numeric passing score — the sources read set no New Hampshire-specific number.

A candidate who fails is admitted to any subsequent examination on payment of the application fee, which matters for a new graduate planning a retake timeline.

For purposes of licensure an individual's results from a national examination shall be valid for 5 years from the date of the examination.

The New Hampshire veterinary jurisprudence examination

📜 RSA 332-B:11

New Hampshire's jurisprudence exam is written into the statute at the conditional-license gateway rather than as a universal hurdle: a graduate of a non-AVMA-accredited college who is enrolled in the ECFVG program and has completed all but the clinical practice examination may be granted a conditional license, and that applicant must have passed the New Hampshire veterinary jurisprudence examination first.

RSA 332-B:10's examination-design criteria separately direct that the examinations the office holds test the subjects commonly taught in veterinary schools and familiarity with the law and rules governing veterinary medicine in this state, but the sources read do not tie that design language to the content of the national examination the board may adopt, nor describe a separate scored state-law test for standard applicants.

An ECFVG-route applicant should budget for the jurisprudence exam before a conditional license can issue; everyone else should confirm current exam expectations with the board directly rather than assuming.

The applicant shall have successfully passed the New Hampshire veterinary jurisprudence examination.

Application, degree, ECFVG/PAVE, and the conditional license

📜 RSA 332-B:9; RSA 332-B:11

Everything starts with a written application to the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification: the applicant must be 18 or older, a graduate of an AVMA-accredited school (or another school the board accepts), or the holder of an ECFVG or PAVE certificate — both foreign-graduate programs are named explicitly in the statute, so neither depends on a separate equivalency determination — and must show good professional character.

The statute adds a bridge for ECFVG candidates: a non-AVMA-accredited graduate who has completed everything but the clinical practice examination can receive a conditional license, valid for 2 years, to practice under the direct supervision of a New Hampshire-licensed veterinarian until full ECFVG certification and a regular license come through.

That conditional license can be renewed at most once, and a candidate may never apply for a second one — sequence the remaining exam steps before relying on it.

The application shall show that the applicant is 18 years of age or more, a graduate of an AVMA accredited school of veterinary medicine or other veterinary school acceptable to the board, or the holder of an ECFVG certificate or a PAVE certificate, a person of good professional character, and such other information and proof as the board may require by rule.

Veterinarians already licensed in another state

📜 RSA 332-B

The chapter contains no dedicated veterinarian-specific reciprocity or endorsement clause — the application, examination, renewal and permit provisions read the same whether or not an applicant already holds a license elsewhere — and whether a reduced-requirement pathway exists specifically for veterinarians is not stated in the sources read.

OPLC's site-wide Reciprocity navigation item is a generic agency menu common to its boards, not a published veterinary pathway.

The one explicit out-of-state provision is narrow: under RSA 332-B:2, a veterinarian regularly licensed in another state who is consulting with a licensed New Hampshire veterinarian falls under the statute's license-requirement exceptions, and that covers consultation rather than independent practice.

A relocating veterinarian should plan around the standard application requirements and ask the board directly what, if anything, an existing out-of-state license can shorten.

Continuing education and renewal

📜 RSA 332-B:13

Renewal runs through the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification under the state's general licensing-renewal framework, and the veterinary-specific condition is continuing education: at least 24 hours of approved educational programs in the 2-year period preceding each renewal date, with program approval governed by board rules.

A licensee who cannot meet the requirement may petition the board for a full or partial waiver on good cause.

Board materials point to subject-specific requirements on top of that total — the board's own FAQ page references new continuing-education requirements for medical record keeping and opioids — and its posted standing orders include 2023 orders both extending CE deadlines and waiving new CE requirements, so confirm the currently enforced subject rules with the board before counting hours.

The board's fee page, captured in a 2024 snapshot, listed the veterinarian renewal fee at $183 — a figure that bundles a mandatory $28 Professional Health Program fee.

For a relief veterinarian keeping an active New Hampshire license between short stints, that 24-hour rolling window is the number to track.

As a condition of renewal of license, each licensed veterinarian shall be required to show proof that he or she has attended an approved educational program or programs totaling at least 24 hours in the 2-year period preceding each renewal date.

The one-year temporary permit

📜 RSA 332-B:12

The temporary permit is a graduate bridge, not a relief license: the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification may issue it, without examination, to a graduate of a veterinary college recognized under RSA 332-B:9 for a period not to exceed one year — provided the person writes the next available set of examinations and is employed by and practices under the supervision of a duly licensed New Hampshire veterinarian.

The board's 2024 fee snapshot listed a $75 application fee for the temporary permit.

Beyond it, the sources read show no general relief or locum-style permit for an already-licensed out-of-state veterinarian, so a practice owner planning relief coverage should confirm the available options with the board before relying on one.

The office of professional licensure and certification may issue without examination a temporary permit to practice veterinary medicine in this state to any person who is a graduate of a veterinary college recognized as provided for in RSA 332-B:9 for a period not to exceed one year, providing that the person write the next available set of examinations and also providing said person is employed by and practices the profession under the supervision of a duly licensed veterinarian practicing in the state.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes New Hampshire’s own statute and board rule as read for this series, current as of September 2026. It does not list application forms, current fees beyond what’s cited above, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the NH Board of Veterinary Medicine (under Office of Professional Licensure & Certification)’s own application instructions.

Accepted exams, endorsement conditions and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the NH Board of Veterinary Medicine (under Office of Professional Licensure & Certification) before you register for an exam or submit an application.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does New Hampshire require a separate state exam beyond the NAVLE?

Not as a general requirement.

The New Hampshire veterinary jurisprudence examination appears in the statute as a condition of the conditional license — the bridge license for a graduate of a non-AVMA-accredited school who is one step short of ECFVG certification (RSA 332-B:11).

A standard applicant's hurdle is the national examination, whose results stay valid for 5 years from the exam date.

Exam requirements can change, so confirm the current exam stack with the Board of Veterinary Medicine before you schedule anything.

Can an out-of-state veterinarian get licensed in New Hampshire without retaking the NAVLE?

The statute contains no dedicated veterinarian reciprocity or endorsement clause, and whether a reduced-requirement pathway exists for veterinarians already licensed elsewhere is not stated in the sources read.

What it does say is that national examination results are valid for 5 years from the exam date, so a recent pass can carry into a New Hampshire application.

An out-of-state veterinarian consulting with a New Hampshire-licensed veterinarian is exempt from licensure, but that covers consultation only.

Ask the board what documentation your situation needs.

How much continuing education does New Hampshire require to renew a veterinary license?

24 hours of approved educational programs in the 2-year period preceding each renewal date (RSA 332-B:13).

Program approval is governed by board rules, and a licensee who cannot meet the requirement can petition the board for a full or partial waiver on good cause.

In the board's 2024 fee snapshot, the veterinarian renewal fee was $183, which bundles a mandatory $28 Professional Health Program fee — check the board's current fee schedule before you renew.

Is there a temporary permit for relief or short-term veterinary work in New Hampshire?

The temporary permit in RSA 332-B:12 is a bridge for a veterinary-college graduate waiting to sit the next available examinations — up to one year, issued without an exam, with the holder employed by and practicing under the supervision of a New Hampshire-licensed veterinarian, for a $75 application fee in the 2024 fee snapshot.

The sources read show no general relief or locum permit for an already-licensed out-of-state veterinarian.

If you are planning short stints, confirm what is available with the board.

Has New Hampshire joined a multistate veterinary licensing compact?

No. As of September 2026, no state — New Hampshire included — has joined an operational interstate veterinary licensure compact; none currently exists in any U.S. jurisdiction.

A veterinarian moving a practice into New Hampshire should plan around the state's own application requirements rather than expecting multistate recognition, and confirm the current pathway with the Board of Veterinary Medicine and the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification.

Find Veterinarian Jobs in New Hampshire
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More New Hampshire & Veterinarian Resources

Sourced from New Hampshire’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the NH Board of Veterinary Medicine (under Office of Professional Licensure & Certification).