Maryland licenses veterinarians through the Maryland State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, under the Department of Agriculture.
Applicants pass the Maryland State Examination β the NAVLE plus an attestation-based Board Examination on Maryland's veterinary laws, not a scored jurisprudence test β with the NAVLE passing score set by the national testing board.
Foreign graduates qualify through ECFVG or PAVE, and out-of-state licensees through a five-year practice-or-teaching standard.
Licenses renew annually against 18 continuing-education hours, on a fiscal year that begins July 1.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Required, with the passing score set by the NBVME rather than restated in Maryland rule. A previously passed NAVLE is accepted if it is not more than 7 years old under the codified rule (COMAR 15.14.09.03(E)(1)), while the Board's application instructions describe a five-year threshold β a discrepancy flagged as unresolved between research passes.
Not a scored test β the applicant attests, before a notary public or electronically through the Board's online application, to having read and comprehended the laws and regulations governing the practice of veterinary medicine in Maryland (COMAR 15.14.09.03(D)).
None for graduates of AVMA-accredited schools. Foreign graduates add the BCSE and CPE exams on the ECFVG route, or evaluated clinical experience on the PAVE route (COMAR 15.14.09.03(A)(1)).
Both ECFVG and PAVE are accepted; the Board's application instructions require a certificate from one or the other for any graduate of a school not accredited by the AVMA.
Five years of continuous clinical practice, or five years teaching clinical veterinary medicine at an AVMA-accredited institution β or, alternatively, no absence from practice longer than five consecutive years plus at least three full years practiced in the preceding five β with letters of good standing from every board ever licensed, Maryland-equivalent CE, the attestation, fees, and good moral character (COMAR 15.14.08.01).
18 credit hours of continuing education every year, with licenses renewing annually before the State fiscal year begins July 1 β $300 annual renewal fee, $200 late fee for renewing after July 1.
Not stated in the sources read.
Maryland State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, under the Dept. of Agriculture
No interstate veterinary licensure compact is currently operational in any state, including Maryland β none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes or administrative codes references joining, enacting or currently considering one, as of September 2026.
Maryland defines its exam stack by rule as the "Maryland State Examination": the Board Examination (an attestation, covered below) plus the NAVLE, with the NBVME β the national testing board β establishing the passing score rather than Maryland restating a number.
For a veterinarian relocating with an existing score, the age rules are the part to check: COMAR 15.14.09.03(E)(1) accepts a previously passed NAVLE if it is not more than 7 years old, after which a retake is required unless the applicant qualifies under the endorsement chapter instead.
The Board's application instructions describe a different, five-year threshold β scores older than five years are routed into its experienced-practitioner track unless the applicant has practiced or taught continuously for the preceding five years.
The research behind this page records both figures and flags them as unresolved between its passes, so an applicant with an older score should confirm the current standard with the Board before applying.
βIf an applicant has previously taken and passed the NAVLE, the State Board shall accept the applicantβs passing score on it, if the passing score is not more than 7 years old.β
Maryland's "Board Examination" is the state-specific layer of the Maryland State Examination, and it has no questions, no passing score, and no test sitting: the applicant reads and comprehends the laws and regulations governing the practice of veterinary medicine in Maryland, then signs a statement to that effect before a notary public β or signs an electronic statement through the Board's online application process.
For a new graduate, that removes an entire study track from exam preparation.
An applicant already licensed elsewhere completes the same attestation on the endorsement route (COMAR 15.14.08.01(A)(4)), so no pathway into Maryland skips it.
The Board's application page states that all applicants are required to attest, and that failure to adhere to state regulations can result in disciplinary action.
βTo pass the Board Examination, an applicant shall read and comprehend the laws and regulations governing the practice of veterinary medicine in this State, and shall sign a statement before a notary public attesting to this fact or shall sign an online statement in conjunction with the Boardβs online application process attesting to this fact with a signature that may be electronic.β
A graduate of an AVMA-accredited school sits the NAVLE plus the attestation β nothing more.
A foreign veterinary graduate on the ECFVG route adds the BCSE and CPE exams, and a PAVE graduate substitutes evaluated clinical experience; both pathways are accepted, and the Board's application instructions require an ECFVG (available through the AVMA) or PAVE (through the AAVSB) certificate from any graduate of a school not accredited by the AVMA.
In lieu of a NAVLE score, the rule also lets the Board accept passing scores on the NBE and CCT β the pre-2000 national exams β under the same 7-year age limit.
Transcripts must be sent directly from the school, with an English translation if they are not in English.
βThe Maryland State Examination shall consist of the: (a) Board Examination; (b) NAVLE; (c) BCSE and CPE, if the applicant is an FVG; and (d) Evaluated clinical experience, if the applicant is a PAVE graduate.β
A veterinarian licensed in another state qualifies if they have engaged in the clinical practice of veterinary medicine continuously for the preceding five years, or taught clinical veterinary medicine for the preceding five years at an AVMA-accredited institution, alongside the fees and the attestation.
An applicant who cannot show that continuity has an alternative route: no absence from practice longer than five consecutive years, at least three full years practiced within the preceding five, licensure verification or letters of good standing from every board they are or ever were licensed by, and proof of Maryland-equivalent continuing education β with any shortfall made up in clinically oriented or practical hours.
Relocation abroad because the applicant or their spouse served the government has its own substitute standard: ten full years of practice across the career, or at least one full year within the preceding five.
Good moral character must be documented, and the Board reviews these applications itself at its monthly meeting rather than through routine staff processing.
β(1) The applicant has not been absent from the practice of clinical veterinary medicine for longer than 5 consecutive years prior to application; (2) During the preceding 5-year period, the applicant has practiced clinical veterinary medicine for the equivalent of 3 full years, at a minimum;β
Maryland's continuing-education rule is annual: the Board may not renew a license without 18 credit hours earned in the 12 months before the new licensing year, or across the preceding 24 months counting only hours unused in the final 12 (COMAR 15.14.10.04).
Licenses renew before the State fiscal year begins July 1 β the Board cautions that even a veterinarian initially licensed in May or June must renew again by July 1 β with rule-set fees of $300 for annual renewal, a $200 late fee after July 1, $300 or $150 for initial registration depending on the half of the fiscal year, and $300 to reinstate (COMAR 15.14.12.02).
New licensees are exempt from CE their first year.
Since a March 2023 rule update, all CE may be completed online, and RACE-approved or state/regional veterinary medical association courses are accepted without individual Board approval.
A lapsed license accrues 18 CEs per lapsed year for reinstatement, and after five or more years lapsed the application restarts as a new licensee.
βExcept as provided in Β§B of this regulation , the Board may not renew a practitioner's license unless that practitioner has earned 18 credit hours of continuing professional education during the: (1) 12 months preceding the beginning of the new licensing year; or (2) 24 months preceding the beginning of the new licensing year provided, however, that any credit hours earned before the 12 months preceding the beginning of the new licensing year are unused credit hours.β
The research for this page checked every chapter of COMAR Title 15, Subtitle 14 (Chapters 01 through 14) and Agriculture Article Β§Β§2-301 through 2-316, and found no temporary, relief, or locum permit for veterinarians β the at-a-glance field above is left as "Not stated in the sources read." rather than filled by inference.
Practically, that means short-notice or relief work in Maryland requires a full Maryland license, so the timeline lives in the application process: routine first-license applications can turn around in about two weeks once documentation is complete, but applications requiring Board review are heard at the Board's monthly meeting, scheduled for the fourth Thursday.
The Board's own instructions tell applicants with a job offer waiting to take that step into account.
Confirm any short-term plan with the Board before relying on it.
Under Agriculture Article Β§2-316, the provisions creating the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners and regulating veterinarians "are of no effect and may not be enforced after July 1, 2031." Read alone that sounds drastic; the research identifies it as routine Maryland periodic-review (sunset) language β a scheduled legislative reauthorization checkpoint, not a closure signal.
Applicants and licensees should treat the Board as operating normally, and re-check the statute only if the 2031 date approaches without reenactment.
βThe provisions of this subtitle creating the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners and relating to the regulation of veterinarians and any regulations promulgated under this subtitle are of no effect and may not be enforced after July 1, 2031.β
This page summarizes Marylandβs own statute and board rule as read for this series, current as of September 2026. It does not list application forms, current fees beyond whatβs cited above, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Maryland State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, under the Dept. of Agricultureβs own application instructions.
Accepted exams, endorsement conditions and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Maryland State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, under the Dept. of Agriculture before you register for an exam or submit an application.
No scored test.
Maryland's state-law layer is the "Board Examination": you read and comprehend the laws and regulations governing the practice of veterinary medicine in Maryland and sign a statement to that effect β before a notary public, or electronically through the Board's online application (COMAR 15.14.09.03(D)).
Endorsement applicants complete the same attestation (COMAR 15.14.08.01(A)(4)).
Confirm current application mechanics with the Maryland State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners before you apply.
The codified rule accepts a previously passed NAVLE if it is not more than 7 years old (COMAR 15.14.09.03(E)(1)); after that, a retake is required unless you qualify under the endorsement chapter's five-year practice standard instead.
The Board's application instructions, however, describe a five-year threshold for routing older scores, and the research behind this page flags the two figures as unresolved between its passes.
Ask the Board directly before relying on an older score.
Yes.
COMAR 15.14.08.01 requires five years of continuous clinical practice, or five years teaching clinical veterinary medicine at an AVMA-accredited institution β or, as an alternative, no absence from practice longer than five consecutive years plus at least three full years practiced in the preceding five.
You will also need letters of good standing from every board you have ever been licensed by, Maryland-equivalent continuing education, the attestation, fees, and proof of good moral character.
The Board reviews these applications at its monthly meeting.
Confirm details with the Board.
18 credit hours every year, with new licensees exempt for their first year.
Licenses renew annually before the State fiscal year begins July 1; the rule-set renewal fee is $300, with a $200 late fee for renewing after July 1.
Since a March 2023 rule update, all CE may be completed online, and RACE-approved or state/regional veterinary medical association courses are accepted without separate Board approval.
Confirm your renewal cycle with the Board.
No. As of September 2026, no state β Maryland included β has joined an operational interstate veterinary licensure compact; none currently exists in any U.S. jurisdiction.
A veterinarian moving to Maryland uses the state's own endorsement pathway under COMAR 15.14.08.01, which still requires the Maryland-specific attestation and the five-year practice standards described on this page.
Check the Board's site for any change in status.
Sourced from Marylandβs own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice β confirm current rules with the Maryland State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, under the Dept. of Agriculture.