Louisiana licenses veterinarians through the Board of Veterinary Medicine (LBVM).
Applicants must pass the NAVLE and the Board's own State Board Exam — a 30-minute, 26-question jurisprudence test with a 70% passing score that can be taken before or after the NAVLE.
Both ECFVG and PAVE certify foreign-trained graduates.
A NAVLE pass older than five years must be retaken, and Board rule caps national-exam attempts at five.
Licenses renew every September 30 against 20 hours of annual continuing education.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Required for DVMs — applicants apply directly to ICVA, a pass must be no more than five years old at the application submission date, and the Board's own rule caps national-exam attempts at five.
Yes — the Board's own State Board Exam (jurisprudence): 30 minutes, 26 multiple-choice questions, a passing score of 70% or more, taken in person at the LBVM office or online, and it can be taken either before or after the NAVLE.
None — no exam beyond the NAVLE and the state board exam appears in the sources read.
Both ECFVG and PAVE are accepted for veterinary applicants, per the Board's licensure materials.
Not stated in the sources read. The Board's application portal does list an "Actively Licensed in Another State" category, and the 2024 Welcome Home Act (La. R.S. 37:53) grants Louisiana residents and returnees a conditional license while normal licensure processes — but the category's detailed conditions are not stated in the sources read.
A minimum of 20 hours of continuing education each fiscal year (July 1 through June 30), with no more than half of it online; licenses renew annually and expire September 30.
Not stated in the sources read.
Board of Veterinary Medicine (LBVM)
No interstate veterinary licensure compact is currently operational in any state, including Louisiana — none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes or administrative codes references joining, enacting or currently considering one, as of September 2026.
Louisiana requires the NAVLE for DVM applicants and adds two timing rules that are easy to miss.
A pass must be no more than five years old at the application submission date — an older score means retaking the exam unless the applicant qualifies under the Board's separate retake-waiver criteria.
Board Rule 303.B.7 also limits an applicant to five national-exam attempts; at its February 5, 2026 meeting the Board voted to amend that rule to align with ICVA's revised retake policy, but until the amendment is promulgated, graduates who have attempted the NAVLE more than five times remain ineligible in Louisiana even if they retake and pass.
All scores, passing or failing, must be submitted to the LBVM, and a candidate who originally applied through a different board transfers scores via AAVSB VAULT.
“An applicant for licensure may only sit for the national examination a maximum of five times. Thereafter, the applicant will no longer be eligible for licensure in Louisiana and any applications submitted will be rejected.”
Every DVM applicant must also pass the Board's own State Board Exam, a jurisprudence test on the laws and regulations governing veterinary practice in Louisiana.
It runs 30 minutes and 26 multiple-choice questions, with 70% or more required to pass.
The exam is independent of the NAVLE and can be scheduled before or after it, which lets a new graduate clear the state test while NAVLE results are still pending — currently enrolled students may sit it once they are within 60 days of graduation.
Retakes are unlimited: the $200 DVM exam fee applies to every attempt, a $50 vendor fee is added for the online option, and a passing score stays valid for five years from the date the exam was completed.
“The 30-minute examination consists of twenty-six (26) multiple choice questions designed to test an applicant's familiarity with the laws and regulations governing the practice of veterinary medicine in Louisiana.”
Louisiana accepts both ECFVG and PAVE certification, so an internationally trained graduate can use either route and then faces the same NAVLE-plus-state-board-exam stack as every other applicant.
Approval to sit the NAVLE runs directly through ICVA, with the LBVM designated as the licensing board, or through an AAVSB VAULT transfer for a candidate who originally applied to a different board.
Applications for licensure are valid for one year from the submission date, so exam scheduling and document gathering need to move on that clock.
The Board's application portal also lists a separate Military Transfer Application alongside the standard DVM and DVM-Faculty categories.
The Board's application portal lists an "Actively Licensed in Another State" application category, but its detailed conditions could not be verified from the sources read — the category's detail page sits behind a dropdown that did not render — so an out-of-state veterinarian should not assume any particular waiver and should ask the Board directly.
What the sources do show is the 2024 Welcome Home Act (Act No. 253, La.
R.S. 37:53): a veterinarian who establishes Louisiana residency and meets the Act's criteria can be issued a conditional license while normal licensure is still processing.
The Board notes its application forms now include a declaration requiring applicants to verify whether proof of residency can be provided under the Act.
This is a residency-based pathway aimed at Louisiana residents and returnees, not a general reciprocity route.
“If residency is established and confirmed by the Board along with all other criteria, a conditional license or certification will be issued – pending normal licensure – to an applicant.”
Louisiana licenses renew annually, with every license expiring September 30 and the renewal window running July 1 through that date.
Each DVM must complete at least 20 hours of continuing education within the fiscal year (July 1 through June 30), and no more than half may be earned online, including interactive Zoom-style formats.
Programs accepted by another state's regulatory board, a governmental entity, or the AAVSB count automatically; programs outside that list need Board pre-approval at least 14 days before the session.
The active DVM renewal fee is $250, a late renewal adds $150, and hours completed after June 30 draw a $25 late fee — certificates missing required details, including the delivery method, count as incomplete at the September 30 deadline.
“A minimum of 20 actual hours is required each fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) as a prerequisite for annual renewal of a DVM license.”
The sources read identified four Louisiana license types — DVM, DVM-Faculty, Registered Veterinary Technician, and Certified Animal Euthanasia Technician — and none of them is a distinct temporary, relief, or locum tenens permit.
That is a null result from the Board's own application materials rather than a confirmed statement that no such permit exists, so a relief veterinarian should not assume short-stint coverage is available.
An out-of-state veterinarian planning relief days in Louisiana should budget for full licensure on the timeline above unless the Board says otherwise.
The Board's fee page prints the DVM application total as $560–570: a $100 non-refundable application fee, a $250 original certification fee, the $200 State Board Exam fee, and a score-transfer fee of $10 for a transferred NAVLE score or $20 for NBE/CCT — those two transfer-fee values are what move the printed total between $560 and $570, though the page also notes the transfer fee is paid only when the score is being transferred from another state.
Choosing the online version of the state board exam adds a $50 third-party vendor fee.
The cost of the required criminal background check is not included and is the applicant's own responsibility, and paying by credit or debit card carries a 2.5% service fee.
This page summarizes Louisiana’s own statute and board rule as read for this series, current as of September 2026. It does not list application forms, current fees beyond what’s cited above, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Board of Veterinary Medicine (LBVM)’s own application instructions.
Accepted exams, endorsement conditions and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Board of Veterinary Medicine (LBVM) before you register for an exam or submit an application.
Yes.
Every DVM applicant must pass the Board's own State Board Exam, a jurisprudence test on Louisiana's veterinary laws and regulations: 30 minutes, 26 multiple-choice questions, with 70% or more required to pass.
It can be taken before or after the NAVLE, retakes are unlimited, and a passing score is valid for five years.
The $200 exam fee applies to every attempt.
Confirm current exam logistics with the Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine before you schedule.
A NAVLE pass is accepted if it is no more than five years old at the application submission date; an older score must be retaken unless the applicant meets the Board's separate retake-waiver criteria.
Louisiana's application portal lists an "Actively Licensed in Another State" category, but its conditions were not stated in the sources read, so ask the Board directly.
Louisiana residents returning to the state may also qualify for a conditional license under the 2024 Welcome Home Act (La.
R.S. 37:53) while their application is processed.
At least 20 hours every fiscal year, July 1 through June 30, with no more than half earned online, including interactive Zoom-style formats.
Licenses renew annually and expire September 30; the active DVM renewal fee is $250, a late renewal costs an additional $150, and hours completed after June 30 draw a $25 late fee.
Programs accepted by another state's regulatory board, a governmental entity, or the AAVSB count automatically.
Verify the current rules with the Board before your renewal cycle.
Not in the sources read.
The license types identified on the Board's site are DVM, DVM-Faculty, Registered Veterinary Technician, and Certified Animal Euthanasia Technician, and none is a distinct temporary, relief, or locum tenens permit.
That absence is a research null result rather than a confirmed statement that no permit exists, so a relief veterinarian should confirm directly with the Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine before planning short-term work in the state.
No. As of September 2026, no state — Louisiana included — has joined an operational interstate veterinary licensure compact; none currently exists in any U.S. jurisdiction.
Moving your license to Louisiana therefore runs through the Board's own application routes, and since endorsement conditions were not stated in the sources read, confirm your specific pathway with the Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine.
Sourced from Louisiana’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Board of Veterinary Medicine (LBVM).