🩺 State licensure

Veterinarian Licensure Requirements in Idaho

Founder, VeterinaryHires
Last verified September 2026

Idaho licenses veterinarians through the Board of Veterinary Medicine at DOPL.

Applicants who don't qualify for endorsement submit passing scores on the national examinations approved by the Board — the NAVLE — with an accredited veterinary degree or ECFVG or PAVE certification.

Endorsement is open to military members, veterans, and their spouses, and to veterinarians licensed in any U.S. jurisdiction for the three years before applying.

Renewal requires 15 hours of continuing education per cycle, and Idaho's 2024 move to biennial, birthday-based renewal was still phasing in as of September 2026.

Verify before you rely on this

This page explains license mechanics only — what a state veterinary board asks for, not whether you personally qualify or how a specific rule applies to your situation. It is general information, not legal advice. Requirements change by statute and by board rule; verify current requirements directly with the state veterinary board before you rely on anything here. Veterinarians in Idaho are regulated by the Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine, DOPL.

At a glance

NAVLE

Required — Idaho's statute asks for 'passing scores on the national examinations approved by the board' (§ 54-2107B), and the state's own text does not restate a numeric passing score.

State jurisprudence exam

Not stated in the sources read.

Other exam

The Clinical Competency Test (CCT) survives as a legacy, exemptible requirement — a pre-2000 national-exam applicant can substitute verified practice history in its place, and an AVMA-approved specialty-board diplomate can be licensed without it (§ 54-2110).

Foreign-graduate pathways (ECFVG / PAVE)

Both ECFVG and PAVE are accepted (§ 54-2107A/B) — ECFVG is named in the examination route, and both programs appear in the endorsement attestation.

Licensure by endorsement

Section 54-2107A covers military members, veterans, and their spouses, plus any applicant with an active license in any U.S. state, district, or territory for the three years immediately preceding application — that three-year path may submit written license verification in lieu of national exam scores.

CE & renewal

15 hours of continuing education each renewal cycle; the 2024 statute sets biennial renewal on the licensee's birthday, but the Board's May 2025 notice said 'biennial renewal is not yet a reality.' Fees effective April 3, 2026: $400 license, $175 annual renewal, $350 biennial renewal, $200 reinstatement.

Temporary / relief permit

Not stated in the sources read.

Regulated by

Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine, DOPL

Interstate compact

No interstate veterinary licensure compact is currently operational in any state, including Idaho — none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes or administrative codes references joining, enacting or currently considering one, as of September 2026.

The NAVLE and Idaho's written-examination route

📜 § 54-2107B

Idaho's licensure-by-written-examination statute requires 'passing scores on the national examinations approved by the board' — the NAVLE — and the state's own text never restates a numeric passing score, so there is no Idaho-specific figure to aim for.

Only an applicant who does not qualify for endorsement under Section 54-2107A takes this route, and because endorsement requires military or veteran status or three years of already-held active licensure, a new graduate will nearly always sit the national examination.

The statute pairs those scores with the degree and foreign-graduate documentation covered below, and nothing in the sources read adds a state-administered test to the stack.

Passing scores on the national examinations approved by the board.

Degree, ECFVG and PAVE

📜 § 54-2107B; § 54-2107A

The examination route asks for a certified diploma or transcript from an accredited or approved school of veterinary medicine; a graduate of a non-accredited school instead supplies an ECFVG letter or certificate, or completes 'any educational equivalency program' approved through the Board's rules — the clause PAVE fits through, since the endorsement attestation names 'the program for the assessment of veterinary education equivalence of the American association of veterinary state boards' directly.

A foreign-trained applicant therefore has a defined statutory path on either route rather than a case-by-case Board determination.

Ask the Board which documentation it expects for the equivalency-program option before relying on it.

Licensure by endorsement

📜 § 54-2107A

Idaho opens endorsement two ways: to active-duty military members, former members discharged under honorable conditions, veterans, and their spouses; and to any applicant who has held an active license in any state, district, or territory of the United States for the three years immediately preceding the application.

That three-year path may submit written verification of licensure — from the licensing organizations or through the AAVSB's veterinary information verifying agency — in place of national exam scores, which matters for a relocating veterinarian whose original score reports are years behind them.

Endorsement applicants still meet the base requirements of Section 54-2107 and file the degree/ECFVG/PAVE attestation.

If you are approaching the three-year mark, time the application so the window is intact on the date you apply.

This section shall apply to any applicant who: (a) Is an active duty military member, a former member of the military after discharge under honorable conditions as defined in section 67-9403 , Idaho Code, a veteran, or a spouse of any such person; or (b) Has had an active license in any state, district, or territory of the United States for three (3) years immediately preceding the date of application for an Idaho license.

Continuing education and renewal — a cycle in transition

📜 § 54-2112

Section 54-2112 as amended in 2024 makes every license expire biennially on the licensee's birthday, but the Board's own notice of May 19, 2025 stated 'biennial renewal is not yet a reality' and used enforcement discretion to defer CE reporting to the June 2026 cycle, letting licensees accumulate hours from the 2024-25 and 2025-26 cycles toward the 15-hour total.

The Board's rules require 15 hours of continuing education each renewal cycle, and its FAQ says every active-status veterinarian earns and reports them at renewal.

The fee schedule effective April 3, 2026 lists $400 for a license, $175 annual renewal, $350 biennial renewal, and $200 reinstatement, plus $32 when a background check is required.

Because this transition was actively in progress when the sources were read in September 2026, confirm which cycle and fee apply to your renewal date with the Board.

All 'active status' Veterinarians and Certified Veterinary Technicians (CVTs) in Idaho are required to earn and report 15 Continuing Education (CE) credits at time of renewal.

The Clinical Competency Test: legacy requirement and substitutes

📜 § 54-2110; § 54-2107B

Idaho's statute still carries the Clinical Competency Test (CCT), the clinical examination paired with the pre-2000 national exam, but it is exemptible rather than universal.

An applicant from the pre-November 2000 exam generation who never took the CCT can substitute verification of five years of continuous, active, discipline-free practice in jurisdictions whose licensure requirements are similar to Idaho's — with the trade-off that their Idaho practice is limited to the same fields of veterinary medicine they practiced during those five years.

A diplomate with current certification from an AVMA-approved specialty board can be licensed without the CCT entirely, but is then limited to referrals within the certified specialty.

The Board may require a personal interview of any applicant relying on this pathway.

The veterinary practice of any person who is licensed pursuant to this subsection is limited to referrals in the specialty in which the person is board-certified.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes Idaho’s own statute and board rule as read for this series, current as of September 2026. It does not list application forms, current fees beyond what’s cited above, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine, DOPL’s own application instructions.

Accepted exams, endorsement conditions and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine, DOPL before you register for an exam or submit an application.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Idaho require a separate exam beyond the NAVLE?

Idaho's written-examination statute, Section 54-2107B, requires 'passing scores on the national examinations approved by the board.' No separate Idaho-specific jurisprudence exam appears in the sources read for this page — but that is an absence of evidence, not a confirmed no. Ask the Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine at DOPL whether any state-law test applies before you schedule your exams.

Can an out-of-state veterinarian get an Idaho license without retaking the national exam?

Yes, if you qualify for endorsement.

Section 54-2107A lets you apply if you held an active license in any U.S. state, district, or territory for the three years immediately before applying — and that path may submit written license verification instead of national exam scores.

Military members, veterans, and their spouses qualify on a separate track.

Every endorsement applicant still meets the base requirements of Section 54-2107.

Confirm your situation with the Board before you apply.

How much continuing education does Idaho require, and when does my license renew?

Fifteen hours of CE per renewal cycle, under rules adopted in 2021.

The 2024 statute moved renewal to a biennial cycle keyed to your birthday, but the Board's May 19, 2025 notice said 'biennial renewal is not yet a reality' and deferred CE reporting to the June 2026 cycle, with hours from the 2024-25 and 2025-26 cycles counting toward the same 15-hour total.

Because the transition was still in progress as of September 2026, verify your deadline and fee with the Board.

Does Idaho offer a temporary or relief permit for veterinarians?

The sources read for this page — Idaho Code Title 54, Chapter 21 and the Board's own pages — do not identify any temporary or relief veterinarian permit, and the question is marked unresolved rather than answered either way.

Don't plan short-stint relief work in Idaho on the assumption a permit exists; a full Idaho license may be the only compliant route.

Ask the Board at DOPL directly before arranging any interim practice.

Has Idaho joined a multistate veterinary licensure compact?

No. As of September 2026, no state — Idaho included — has joined an operational interstate veterinary licensure compact; none currently exists in any U.S. jurisdiction.

A veterinarian moving to Idaho uses the state's own endorsement pathway under Section 54-2107A — three years of active licensure elsewhere, or military/veteran status.

Confirm current requirements with the Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine.

Find Veterinarian Jobs in Idaho
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Idaho & Veterinarian Resources

Sourced from Idaho’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine, DOPL.