🩺 State licensure

Veterinarian Licensure Requirements in Hawaii

Founder, VeterinaryHires
Last verified September 2026

Hawaii licenses veterinarians through its Board of Veterinary Medicine under HRS Chapter 471.

Every applicant must pass an examination given by the board of veterinary examiners (the statute never names the NAVLE) and qualify through an AVMA-standard veterinary degree or, in lieu of it, ten of the last twelve years of active practice in a comparably-licensing state.

No separate jurisprudence exam or endorsement clause appears in the chapter text read.

Licenses renew biennially, expiring June 30 of even-numbered years; a one-time permit bridges applicants awaiting their first scheduled exam.

Verify before you rely on this

This page explains license mechanics only — what a state veterinary board asks for, not whether you personally qualify or how a specific rule applies to your situation. It is general information, not legal advice. Requirements change by statute and by board rule; verify current requirements directly with the state veterinary board before you rely on anything here. Veterinarians in Hawaii are regulated by the Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine.

At a glance

NAVLE

Required — every applicant must pass an examination given by the board of veterinary examiners under HRS §471-8; the chapter text read never names the NAVLE, and while the board is understood to use it in practice, that isn't confirmed in the sources read.

State jurisprudence exam

Not stated in the sources read.

Other exam

No second exam is identified. What the chapter offers instead is an education alternative, not an exam: ten of the last twelve years of active practice immediately preceding application in a state with comparable licensing standards, in lieu of the veterinary degree (§471-8(a)(2)).

Foreign-graduate pathways (ECFVG / PAVE)

Neither ECFVG nor PAVE is named in HRS Chapter 471; the chapter's stated pathways are an AVMA-standard veterinary degree or the ten-of-twelve-years practice alternative, so a foreign-trained applicant's route isn't spelled out in the text read.

Licensure by endorsement

Not stated in the sources read.

CE & renewal

Licenses expire June 30 of even-numbered years and renew on payment of a biennial renewal fee in each even-numbered year (§471-9). A 20-hour biennial continuing-education requirement appears in the sources read, but the chapter text read does not restate the hour count, so confirm it with the board.

Temporary / relief permit

Yes — a one-time, non-renewable 'veterinarian by permit' for an applicant awaiting the first board-scheduled examination only (§471-2(7)); it is not a locum or relief license.

Regulated by

Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine

Interstate compact

No interstate veterinary licensure compact is currently operational in any state, including Hawaii — none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes or administrative codes references joining, enacting or currently considering one, as of September 2026.

The board's examination: what the Hawaii statute requires

📜 §471-8

Hawaii's licensing statute requires every applicant to pass an examination of qualifications and fitness given by the board of veterinary examiners, and the chapter text read never names the NAVLE — the board is understood to use it in practice, but that understanding isn't confirmed in the sources read, so verify the current exam arrangement with the board before scheduling.

The exam runs twice each year, except when no applications are pending, and an application must be filed at least 60 days before the exam date, with application and examination fees paid to the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.

Its written questions must include the aspects of veterinary medicine common to Hawaii — toxic substances, parasite diseases, unique soil conditions, and quarantine standards — alongside the subjects and practical demonstrations normally covered in American veterinary college curricula.

For a new graduate, the twice-yearly cadence plus the 60-day filing deadline effectively set the earliest possible licensing date.

They shall be composed of written questions, a part of which shall consist of those aspects of veterinary medicine common to the State on toxic substances, parasite diseases, unique soil conditions, and quarantine standards.

Is there a separate Hawaii jurisprudence exam?

📜 §471-8(b)

No separate jurisprudence exam standing apart from the board's single examination is identified in the sources read — the state-law layer is built into that one exam instead.

Its written portion must cover the Hawaii-common subjects noted above, and separately every applicant must certify on the application that they have read, understood, and agree to comply with the laws and rules the board determines are required for licensure.

A relocating veterinarian should therefore prepare for Hawaii-specific content inside the main exam, and for that certification, rather than expecting a standalone law test — and confirm the current format with the board.

Applicants shall certify on the application that they have read, understood, and agree to comply with the laws and rules that the board determines are required for licensure.

Degree, the ten-of-twelve-years practice alternative, and foreign graduates

📜 §471-8(a)

Chapter 471 accepts a graduate of a veterinary college meeting all the standards established by the AVMA, or — the only alternative the chapter states — an applicant who has actively practiced ten out of the twelve years immediately preceding the application date in a state with comparable licensing standards.

That alternative substitutes for the degree, not for the exam: the examination requirement applies either way, so a long-practicing relocating veterinarian should not read it as a no-exam route.

Neither ECFVG nor PAVE is named anywhere in the chapter text read — which is not the same as a finding that they're rejected — so a foreign-trained veterinarian should confirm the board's current equivalency expectations before relying on either certificate.

Is a graduate of a veterinary college meeting all the standards established by the American Veterinary Medical Association, or, in lieu thereof, has actively practiced for ten out of twelve years immediately preceding the date of application in a state having standards for licensing comparable to those in this State.

Endorsement and reciprocity for an out-of-state licensee

📜 §471-2(5)

The chapter text read contains no formal endorsement or reciprocity clause — no provision found lets a licensed out-of-state veterinarian convert an existing license into a Hawaii license without the board's examination.

The one carve-out the chapter does provide is narrow: a veterinarian licensed in any state may practice in Hawaii when in actual consultation with, or under the sponsorship of, Hawaii veterinarians, but may not open an office, appoint a place to meet patients, or receive calls within the state.

And the ten-of-twelve-years practice record discussed above is an education alternative, not an endorsement path — it still leaves the examination requirement in place.

An out-of-state veterinarian planning a permanent move should therefore expect to sit Hawaii's exam, and confirm with the board whether any endorsement practice exists beyond the statute.

Any person licensed to practice veterinary medicine in any state, or any certified scientist or professional in animal care, from practicing in this State when in actual consultation with or under the sponsorship of veterinarians of this State; provided that the person licensed from another state, or the certified scientist or professional in animal care, shall not open an office, or appoint a place to meet patients, or receive calls within the limits of the State;

Continuing education, renewal, and reinstatement

📜 §471-9

Every license expires on June 30 of the even-numbered year following issuance, and the chapter's renewal mechanism is fee payment: each veterinarian pays a biennial renewal fee in each even-numbered year, and that payment entitles the renewal.

The sources read carry a 20-hour biennial continuing-education requirement, but the chapter text read — which governs the renewal mechanics above — never restates an hour count, so confirm the current CE rule with the board before relying on the figure.

A lapsed license can be restored by paying the renewal fee plus a penalty fee.

One protection worth knowing for anyone who might step away from practice: a license does not expire while its holder is on active duty in the U.S. armed forces during an emergency declared by the President or Congress, and for six months after that service ends.

All licenses issued by the board shall expire on June 30 of each even-numbered year next following the date of issuance.

The one-time 'veterinarian by permit'

📜 §471-2(7)

Hawaii's single permit is a bridge to the licensing exam itself: an applicant who meets the licensing requirements may practice under a 'veterinarian by permit,' but only while awaiting the first examination scheduled by the board — the applicant must apply for and sit that first scheduled exam, and the permit cannot be renewed.

It is a new-applicant bridge, not a locum or relief license, and it offers nothing to an already-licensed veterinarian from elsewhere who wants short-term relief work in Hawaii.

Combined with the absence of an endorsement clause, the chapter's only out-of-state practice allowance is the narrow consultation-and-sponsorship exemption described above.

A relief veterinarian planning recurring Hawaii stints should therefore plan on full Hawaii licensure, and confirm current practice with the board.

Any applicant who meets the licensing requirements of practicing veterinary medicine under a veterinarian by permit; provided the applicant applies for and takes the first examination scheduled by the board. A permit shall not be renewed.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes Hawaii’s own statute and board rule as read for this series, current as of September 2026. It does not list application forms, current fees beyond what’s cited above, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine’s own application instructions.

Accepted exams, endorsement conditions and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine before you register for an exam or submit an application.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Hawaii require the NAVLE to become a licensed veterinarian?

Hawaii's statute requires passing an examination given by the board of veterinary examiners (§471-8) but never names the NAVLE; the board is understood to use the NAVLE in practice, though that isn't confirmed in the sources read.

The exam is offered twice a year, skipped when no applications are pending, and its written questions include Hawaii-specific topics such as toxic substances, parasite diseases, unique soil conditions, and quarantine standards.

Confirm the current exam requirement and schedule with the Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine before you apply.

Can an out-of-state veterinarian get a Hawaii license by endorsement or reciprocity?

The chapter text read contains no formal endorsement or reciprocity clause, so plan on Hawaii's own examination route.

The one stated alternative — ten of the last twelve years of active practice in a comparably-licensing state — substitutes for the veterinary degree, not for the exam (§471-8(a)).

A narrow exemption lets an out-of-state licensee practice in actual consultation with or under the sponsorship of Hawaii veterinarians, without opening an office or receiving calls in the state (§471-2(5)).

Ask the board whether any endorsement practice exists beyond the statute.

How many continuing education hours does Hawaii require, and when does a license renew?

Licenses expire June 30 of each even-numbered year, and every veterinarian pays a biennial renewal fee in each even-numbered year, with that payment entitling the renewal (§471-9); a license that has expired can be reinstated by paying the renewal fee plus a penalty fee.

The sources read also carry a 20-hour biennial continuing-education requirement, but the chapter text read does not restate the hour count, so confirm the current CE figure with the Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine.

Does Hawaii have a temporary license for relief or locum tenens work?

No general relief permit appears in the chapter text read.

The only permit is the one-time, non-renewable 'veterinarian by permit,' which covers an applicant awaiting the first examination scheduled by the board and requires the applicant to apply for and take that exam (§471-2(7)) — a new-applicant bridge, not a locum license.

The closest out-of-state allowance is the consultation-and-sponsorship exemption, which bars opening an office or receiving calls in Hawaii (§471-2(5)).

Confirm current options with the board.

Has Hawaii joined a multistate veterinary licensure compact?

No. As of September 2026, no interstate veterinary licensure compact is operational in any state, Hawaii included — none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes, or administrative codes reference joining or considering one.

Moving your practice therefore means using the destination state's own pathway, which in Hawaii is the examination route under §471-8.

Direct questions about portability to the Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine.

Find Veterinarian Jobs in Hawaii
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Hawaii & Veterinarian Resources

Sourced from Hawaii’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Hawaii Board of Veterinary Medicine.