🩺 State licensure

Veterinarian Licensure Requirements in Delaware

Founder, VeterinaryHires
Last verified September 2026

The Delaware Board of Veterinary Medicine licenses veterinarians through the DELPROS online system.

Applicants submit an NBE/CCT or NAVLE score — plus 36 hours of recent continuing education if the exam is more than two years old — transcripts, a credential evaluation for non-AVMA-accredited foreign graduates, and licensure verification from every jurisdiction ever licensed in.

The sources read do not state whether a separate jurisprudence exam is required.

Licenses renew on a two-year, 24-hour-CE cycle, and a $40 temporary license can bridge supervised work while an application is pending.

Verify before you rely on this

This page explains license mechanics only — what a state veterinary board asks for, not whether you personally qualify or how a specific rule applies to your situation. It is general information, not legal advice. Requirements change by statute and by board rule; verify current requirements directly with the state veterinary board before you rely on anything here. Veterinarians in Delaware are regulated by the Delaware Board of Veterinary Medicine (Div. of Professional Regulation).

At a glance

NAVLE

Required. An applicant who passed the NBE/CCT or NAVLE more than two years ago must show proof of 36 hours of continuing education completed within the previous three years, and score reports reach the Board office through AAVSB.

State jurisprudence exam

Not stated in the sources read.

Other exam

None found — the Board's licensure requirements name no exam beyond the NBE/CCT or NAVLE.

Foreign-graduate pathways (ECFVG / PAVE)

Accepted by credential evaluation: a non-AVMA-accredited foreign graduate must be evaluated before sitting the NAVLE by the Canadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA), ECFVG, or PAVE — listed exactly so on the Board's page; confirm evaluator requirements with the Board before paying for an evaluation.

Licensure by endorsement

Delaware calls it reciprocity: a current, active veterinary license issued by another state routes you to the reciprocity application, which requires licensure verification from every state or jurisdiction you have ever held a license in and otherwise the same requirements as a first-time applicant; no years-of-practice threshold is stated.

CE & renewal

24 hours of approved CE per full biennial licensure period, which runs August 1 through July 31 of even-numbered years; a first renewal is prorated by issue date to 12, 6 or 0 hours.

Temporary / relief permit

Yes — two fee lines exist: a $40 'Temporary License' and a $65 'Temporary Permit.' The described mechanism (a supervision letter from a Delaware-licensed veterinarian and continuous supervised employ) matches the $40 license; the $65 permit's distinct terms are not stated in the sources read.

Regulated by

Delaware Board of Veterinary Medicine (Div. of Professional Regulation)

Interstate compact

No interstate veterinary licensure compact is currently operational in any state, including Delaware — none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes or administrative codes references joining, enacting or currently considering one, as of September 2026.

The NAVLE — and the 36-hour CE proof for an older exam

📜 dpr.delaware.gov Veterinarian Licensure (newlicense) page, 36 hrs CE completed within preceding 3 yrs, retrieved 2026-09-16

Delaware requires the national exam and attaches one recency condition: an applicant who passed the NBE/CCT or NAVLE more than two years ago must prove 36 hours of continuing education completed within the previous three years.

For a veterinarian relocating after time away from exam-taking, that means assembling CE documentation before applying, not after.

Score reports reach the Board office through AAVSB, and an applicant who has not yet passed the NAVLE registers through ICVA.

A student in the final year of an AVMA-accredited program may apply to take the NAVLE before graduation, with a school letter verifying good standing and an expected degree date.

One procedural trap: a DELPROS application must be submitted within six months of the day you start it, or it restarts from the beginning.

Proof of completing 36 hours of continuing education within the previous three years if you passed the NBE/CCT or NAVLE over two years ago.

Degrees, transcripts, and the CVMA/ECFVG/PAVE credential evaluation

📜 dpr.delaware.gov Veterinarian Licensure (newlicense) page, CVMA, ECFVG, or PAVE, retrieved 2026-09-16

A U.S. graduate documents eligibility with an official transcript showing the degree and its date, sent directly from an AVMA-accredited college to the Board.

A graduate of a non-AVMA-accredited foreign school must go further: a credential evaluation, completed before the Board permits them to sit the NAVLE, from a Board-named evaluator — the Canadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA), ECFVG, or PAVE.

The list is reproduced exactly as the Board publishes it rather than silently corrected; a foreign-trained applicant should confirm with the Board which evaluator it will accept before paying for an evaluation.

The same first-time requirements sit underneath reciprocity, so the credential-evaluation rule follows a relocating foreign-trained veterinarian too.

All Non-AVMA-accredited foreign educated graduates must submit a credential evaluation before you are permitted to take the NAVLE.

Reciprocity for a veterinarian licensed in another state

📜 dpr.delaware.gov Veterinarian Licensure (newlicense) page; Board FAQs page, retrieved 2026-09-16

Delaware's FAQ draws the line cleanly: apply for original licensure if you have not passed the NBE/CCT or NAVLE and either never held a license elsewhere or hold none current; apply by reciprocity if you hold a current, active veterinary license issued by another state.

Reciprocity is not a paperwork shortcut — licensure verification must be sent directly to the Board office from each state or jurisdiction in which you currently hold or ever have held a license, and otherwise the same requirements as a first-time applicant apply.

A veterinarian with a multi-state history should request those verifications early, because each one routes through a different board's office.

The sources read state no explicit years-of-practice threshold for reciprocity, and the temporary license covered below exists precisely for an applicant whose reciprocity case is being considered.

You apply by reciprocity if you hold a current, active veterinary license issued by another state.

Continuing education and the August-to-July renewal cycle

📜 dpr.delaware.gov continuing-education-and-audit-information page, 24 hrs approved CE/full BIENNIAL period, Aug 1–Jul 31 of even years; Board FAQs page; fee schedule (fees) page, retrieved 2026-09-16

Licenses renew on a two-year cycle running August 1 through July 31 of even-numbered years, and a full period owes 24 hours of approved CE; hours completed outside the period are not accepted.

A first renewal is prorated by issue date: 12 hours for a license issued on or after August 1 of an even year but before August 1 of an odd year, 6 hours for one issued on or after August 1 of an odd year but before February 1 of an even year, and 0 hours for one issued on or after February 1 of an even year but before April 1.

Approved CE comes from sources the Board lists — the AVMA, AVMA-accredited schools, federal/state/county veterinary associations and the USDA, publications including VIN, and RACE-registry courses — logged in the DELPROS CE tracker, with documentation uploaded only if the random audit selects you.

Stated fees: $210 to apply, $285 to reinstate, a renewal fee announced at renewal, and a 50%-of-renewal late fee after expiration.

Veterinarians are required to complete 24 hours of CE during the two-year licensure period, while Veterinary Technicians are required to complete 12 hours of CE during the period.

The $40 temporary license — and the $65 permit it doesn't explain

📜 dpr.delaware.gov Veterinarian Licensure (newlicense) page; fee schedule (fees) page, retrieved 2026-09-16

The fee schedule lists two instruments — a $40 'Temporary License Veterinarian' and a $65 'Temporary Permit Veterinarian' — and the Board's licensure page describes the mechanism behind the license: an applicant already in the pipeline, either being considered for licensure by reciprocity or eligible to sit the examination, who also meets every standard requirement.

The supervising veterinarian's letter is the operative condition, certifying continuous employ, supervision, monitoring of professional activities, and full responsibility for the applicant's work — and practice may not begin before the temporary license is issued.

For a relief veterinarian, this is an application-bridge instrument tied to a pending Delaware application, not a recurring credential for repeated short stints.

What the $65 'Temporary Permit' adds beyond the $40 license is not stated in the sources read, so ask the Board what distinguishes the two before paying for either.

Submit a letter from a Delaware-licensed veterinarian certifying that you will remain in the veterinarian's continuous employ and under his or her supervision and that he or she will monitor your professional activities and be fully responsible for you while you are working under temporary licensure.

Licensed before you work; inactive status

📜 dpr.delaware.gov Frequently Asked Questions (faqs) page, retrieved 2026-09-16

Two housekeeping rules from the Board's FAQ complete the picture.

You must be licensed before you begin working in Delaware — true even for a veterinarian already licensed elsewhere — and the only exceptions are the ones the statute itself lists, which the FAQ points to as 24 Del.

C. §3303.

Separately, a license can be placed on inactive status through a DELPROS service request at no fee, but practicing on an inactive license is illegal; no CE is required to renew an inactive license, yet the full CE total comes due when you reactivate.

You must be licensed by the Delaware Board of Veterinary Medicine before you begin working in Delaware. This is true even if you are already licensed in another state.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes Delaware’s own statute and board rule as read for this series, current as of September 2026. It does not list application forms, current fees beyond what’s cited above, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Delaware Board of Veterinary Medicine (Div. of Professional Regulation)’s own application instructions.

Accepted exams, endorsement conditions and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Delaware Board of Veterinary Medicine (Div. of Professional Regulation) before you register for an exam or submit an application.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Delaware require a state-specific jurisprudence exam beyond the NAVLE?

The sources read — the Board's own licensure requirements, continuing-education, fee-schedule and FAQ pages — do not state whether Delaware requires a separate jurisprudence exam.

The application requirements the Board publishes center on exam scores, transcripts or credential evaluations, and licensure verifications, with no state-law test named.

Requirements can change, so confirm the current exam stack with the Delaware Board of Veterinary Medicine before you schedule anything.

Can an out-of-state veterinarian get a Delaware license without retaking the NAVLE?

Delaware's route is reciprocity: if you hold a current, active veterinary license issued by another state, you apply by reciprocity rather than original licensure.

Expect licensure verification sent directly from every state or jurisdiction you now hold or ever have held a license in, plus the standard first-time requirements otherwise — and, if your exam is more than two years old, proof of 36 hours of CE from the previous three years.

The sources read name no years-of-practice minimum.

Confirm your situation with the Board before applying.

How much continuing education does Delaware require, and when do licenses renew?

Twenty-four hours of approved CE per full two-year licensure period, which runs August 1 through July 31 of even-numbered years.

A first renewal is prorated by issue date to 12, 6 or 0 hours under the Board's table, and hours completed outside the two-year period are not accepted.

Approved CE comes from sources the Board names, including the AVMA and RACE-registry courses.

Check the Board's continuing-education page for current details.

Is there a temporary license for working in Delaware while my application is pending?

Yes.

The Board describes a temporary license for an applicant being considered for licensure by reciprocity or eligible to sit the examination, provided every standard requirement is met and a Delaware-licensed veterinarian certifies you will remain in continuous employ under supervision.

You may not begin practicing before it is issued, and the fee line is $40.

The fee schedule's separate $65 'Temporary Permit' is not described in the sources read — ask the Board what it covers.

Has Delaware joined a multistate veterinary licensing compact?

No. As of September 2026, no state — Delaware included — has joined an operational interstate veterinary licensure compact; none currently exists in any U.S. jurisdiction.

A veterinarian moving to Delaware uses the Board's reciprocity application, which still requires licensure verifications and the standard requirements, so build in processing time.

Confirm current requirements with the Delaware Board of Veterinary Medicine.

Find Veterinarian Jobs in Delaware
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Delaware & Veterinarian Resources

Sourced from Delaware’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Delaware Board of Veterinary Medicine (Div. of Professional Regulation).