🩺 State licensure

Veterinarian Licensure Requirements in Alaska

Founder, VeterinaryHires
Last verified September 2026

Alaska licenses veterinarians through the Board of Veterinary Examiners, staffed by the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

Applicants on the examination track must pass the NAVLE, registered and approved through the International Council of Veterinary Assessment; the sources read name no additional Alaska exam.

A second track, License by Credentials, exists beside the exam route, but its exact conditions are not stated in the sources read.

Licenses renew biennially on 30 contact hours of continuing education, and the board issues two temporary instruments plus a special-event-only Courtesy License.

Verify before you rely on this

This page explains license mechanics only — what a state veterinary board asks for, not whether you personally qualify or how a specific rule applies to your situation. It is general information, not legal advice. Requirements change by statute and by board rule; verify current requirements directly with the state veterinary board before you rely on anything here. Veterinarians in Alaska are regulated by the Board of Veterinary Examiners (Div. of Corporations, Business & Professional Licensing).

At a glance

NAVLE

Required, with applicants registered and approved to sit the exam through the International Council of Veterinary Assessment (ICVA); the board's exam page publishes the application windows but does not restate a numeric passing score.

State jurisprudence exam

Not stated in the sources read.

Other exam

None found beyond the NAVLE — the board's exam page names only the NAVLE for veterinarians (its other exam listing, the VTNE, is the veterinary technician national exam).

Foreign-graduate pathways (ECFVG / PAVE)

Not stated in the sources read.

Licensure by endorsement

Not stated in the sources read. Alaska's application page does list a second track — “Veterinary License by Credentials” — beside its exam-track application, but the pages read stop at the track's name and its form number.

CE & renewal

30 contact hours of continuing education per renewal for veterinarians (12 AAC 68.220), on a biennial renewal cycle; veterinary technicians carry a separate 10-hour requirement.

Temporary / relief permit

Two instruments exist — a “Temporary Veterinary License” and a “Temporary Veterinary Permit” — plus a special-event-only “Courtesy License” and a student permit; the exact terms of each are not stated in the sources read.

Regulated by

Board of Veterinary Examiners (Div. of Corporations, Business & Professional Licensing)

Interstate compact

No interstate veterinary licensure compact is currently operational in any state, including Alaska — none of the 51 U.S. jurisdictions' own board pages, statutes or administrative codes references joining, enacting or currently considering one, as of September 2026.

The NAVLE: Alaska routes registration through ICVA

📜 12 AAC 68

Alaska requires the NAVLE, and the board's own role is approval rather than administration: candidates must be registered and approved to sit the exam through the International Council of Veterinary Assessment, which schedules the testing — three annual windows starting in fall 2025, up from two before.

A new graduate should work backward from those application deadlines, because the board's page lists specific closing dates for each window (for example, applications for the spring 2026 window had to reach ICVA by January 7, 2026).

Senior veterinary students face an extra constraint the board reproduces on its exam page: the eligibility criteria allow only up to two NAVLE attempts before graduation.

The Alaska pages read do not restate a numeric passing score — the passing standard is the one ICVA sets nationally for the exam.

NAVLE applicants must be registered and approved to sit for the exam through the International Council of Veterinary Assessment (ICVA).

The second track: License by Credentials

📜 12 AAC 68

Alaska's applications page lists two initial veterinarian license routes side by side: License by Examination (form #08-4924, revised October 2024) and License by Credentials (form #08-4925, revised the same day).

For a veterinarian already licensed in another state, the credentials track is the natural route to ask about — but the sources read state only that the pathway exists, not its conditions: nothing found here documents what documentation, exam history, or out-of-state practice record it requires, or whether it waives any exam.

Treat the track's existence as the starting point for a conversation with the board rather than as a published, complete rule set, and get the current requirements confirmed directly before planning a move around it.

Continuing education and biennial renewal

📜 12 AAC 68.220

Veterinarians renew on a two-year cycle — the board publishes a dedicated Biennial Veterinarian License Renewal Application, revised February 2025 — and each renewal rests on 30 contact hours of continuing education under 12 AAC 68.220.

Veterinary technicians carry a separate 10-hour requirement, so a practice managing CE for a mixed team needs two different tracking plans, not one.

Approval also runs ahead of the coursework: the board's site requires trainings, conferences and symposiums to be approved before they count, which rewards picking approved courses early rather than backfilling hours at renewal time.

Board approval for trainings, conferences, symposiums, etc. in accordance with 12 AAC 68.230(a)(6).

Two temporary instruments — plus a Courtesy License and a student permit

📜 12 AAC 68

Alaska issues two separate temporary instruments — a Temporary Veterinary License and a Temporary Veterinary Permit — as distinct application forms, alongside a Courtesy License whose scope the board does state plainly and a separate student permit.

The two temporary names imply different scopes or durations, but the sources read do not say what either one actually allows: who qualifies, how long it runs, and what practice it covers are all unstated.

For a relief veterinarian, that gap makes the board's office a required call before signing any short-term Alaska engagement — applying under the wrong instrument could leave dates on a contract uncovered.

The student permit is a bridge for someone still in school, not an option for a licensed veterinarian.

Authorizes the licensee to practice veterinary medicine for a special event only.

What This Page Does — and Doesn’t — Cover

This page summarizes Alaska’s own statute and board rule as read for this series, current as of September 2026. It does not list application forms, current fees beyond what’s cited above, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Board of Veterinary Examiners (Div. of Corporations, Business & Professional Licensing)’s own application instructions.

Accepted exams, endorsement conditions and continuing-education requirements change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Board of Veterinary Examiners (Div. of Corporations, Business & Professional Licensing) before you register for an exam or submit an application.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Alaska require a separate state exam beyond the NAVLE?

No separate Alaska exam is named in the sources read: the board's exam page covers the NAVLE for veterinarians (the VTNE on the same page is the veterinary technician exam), and no additional test appears on any page reviewed.

Absence from these pages is not a board guarantee, so confirm current exam requirements with the Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners before scheduling anything.

Can a veterinarian licensed in another state get an Alaska license without retaking the NAVLE?

Alaska publishes a second application track, License by Credentials, alongside its exam-track application — that is the route an already-licensed veterinarian would ask about.

The exact conditions (documentation, exam history, out-of-state practice record) were not stated in the sources read, so nothing here can promise the NAVLE is waived.

Ask the Board of Veterinary Examiners directly what the credentials track requires before relying on it.

How much continuing education does Alaska require, and how often does the license renew?

Veterinarians need 30 contact hours of continuing education per renewal under 12 AAC 68.220, and the license renews on a biennial cycle — the board publishes a dedicated Biennial Veterinarian License Renewal Application.

Veterinary technicians have a separate 10-hour requirement.

Trainings, conferences and symposiums need board approval to count, so check approval status before spending CE dollars.

Confirm details with the Board of Veterinary Examiners.

Does Alaska offer a temporary or relief license for short-term work?

It issues two differently named temporary instruments — a Temporary Veterinary License and a Temporary Veterinary Permit — plus a Courtesy License that covers special events only and a permit for veterinary students.

The exact terms of each (who qualifies, how long each lasts, what practice is allowed) are not stated in the sources read.

Contact the Board of Veterinary Examiners to match the right instrument to your engagement.

Has Alaska joined a multistate veterinary licensing compact?

No. As of September 2026, no state — Alaska included — has joined an operational interstate veterinary licensure compact; none currently exists in any U.S. jurisdiction.

If you're moving your practice to Alaska, the board's License by Credentials track, not a compact, is the pathway to ask about, and its terms should be confirmed directly with the Board of Veterinary Examiners.

Find Veterinarian Jobs in Alaska
Filter by salary range, benefits, and location.

More Alaska & Veterinarian Resources

Sourced from Alaska’s own statute and board rule (see the citations above). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice — confirm current rules with the Board of Veterinary Examiners (Div. of Corporations, Business & Professional Licensing).